We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Balm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Balm Beach Resort
15 Tiny Beaches Rd, North, Balm Beach, Tiny, Ontario L0L 2J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% OFF ROOM RATE.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balm Beach
Richmond Hill, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

My family and I still cannot get over what a great time we had. We had such a unexpected great time we booked again.

Firstly, Balm Beach Resort is truly a place where you can relax and just enjoy! Balm Beach Resort has the ideal location, directly across the beach and close to the arcade and Go-Karts. Great place to go with your kids. The units are not the largest but they are so clean and the price is just right!

I never thought in a million years I would have liked it as much as I did. The owner truly makes you feel like you’re at home. Lit a bonfire at night, we roasted marshmallows and met some very interesting people. You can’t ask for anything more! It truly was a great vacation.

Room Tip: The size of the units are small so make sure your kids aren't too big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, New York, Usa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was looking for a restful spot, far from crowds and very far from corporate merchandising, with water in close proximity--and I found it! Balm Beach has the quiet, low-key, cozy intimacy that I may last have enjoyed as a child in 1960s family vacations. If it weren't such a long drive (I live in the US; had to be in Ontario for various reasons) I'd be there every year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherstburg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from Balm Beach Resort and it was the most relaxing vacation I’ve had in a long time. Went with a friend who had been there before but to be honest I had never heard of Balm Beach until just over a week ago but now I am raving about it to everyone! The beautiful view from our room and the beach just steps away...you couldn’t ask for a better place to stay.
The rooms were very clean and well kept. Everything you need was provided and all you had to do was bring coffee or whatever groceries you wanted or just go out to one of the restaurants a short walk down the street. There is also an arcade where kids (young and old) can enjoy all sorts of games from Skee Ball to Pinball.
Mark is an excellent host/owner. He makes you feel right at home and was very accommodating if you required anything.
We met guests that have been going there for a number of years and we had such a wonderful time with them. It’s always a pleasure meeting new people and at BBR they were all so friendly and treated the resort like a home away from home.
On the day we had to check out we put our stuff in the car and Mark was kind enough to accommodate parking so that we could soak up some extra sun and hang out a little longer with friends we had made. We were very sad to leave but will definitely be going back!
I almost don’t want to tell anyone about this place…sometimes you just want to keep the secret all to yourself…
Antonella (Windsor, Ontario) and Tiz (Toronto, Ontario)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph Ontario
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed for a few nights with 2 adults 2 kids. The room was small but we are only in the room to sleep. The room was clean and comfortable, had everything we needed in the kitchen. The pull out bed is small great for kids 10 and under might struggle with anyone bigger than that if you are trying to put 2 in the bed. Mark was very helpful and freindly. Great bonfire each night and shuffleboard. Lots to do in walking distance; gocart, arcade, beach store, resturant. The beach is just across the street (which is quite slow as everyone is really just looking around). Beach was great soft sand, the water was warm for Labour Day weekend. Beach fills up early if you want a good spot better pick one by 11am.

Room Tip: Cabin 1 has a little deck close to road and looking at the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Just got back from our second year at BBR. Its a beautiful spot to spend a week or two with the kids or as a couple. Great bang for your buck. Everything you need is there and if its not its just down the road. Your host, Mark is a great guy and does his best to make sure your stay is relaxing and stress free. We've already booked for next year. Not sure what the whiny reviews were about. (The beach was rocky? lol) (Some woman couldnt deal with a portable stove? lol) I guess some people cant put things in perspective. Ive stayed in many places around the world and the BBR is certainly in the top 5 that combine affordability with beauty and charm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nighs with our two kids. The room was extremely small for four people, the room had musty smell that would not go away, the air conditioner wad way too close to the inadequate kids' pull out bed, there were not sufficient number of cups and plates, and the beach was rocky. Definitely not the $100+ a night. Maybe we expected too much.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great place to go for a week away. Beautiful views and gorgeous sunsets. The rooms are small, but they have everything: very comfortable queen size bed & double pull out sofa, shower, toilet, A/C, microwave, hot plates, fridge, cutlery, dishes, broom, etc. The rooms are a minute walk or less to the beach across the street. Mark, your great host, offers shuffleboard and badminton, nightly fires, picnic tables and three BBQs for guests to use. His staff are friendly and very helpful. If you have a problem, Mark will solve it as fast as he can.
Within walking distance of the resort are tennis courts, paddle boat/jet ski rentals, a family restaurant, an arcade/ice-cream/fast food place, variety store and a tavern that was being renovated. It is a 10 minute drive to Midland, where you can get whatever you need.
I highly recommend Balm Beach Resort if you are looking for a great time away for a very reasonable price. Call Mark early, they book up fast!!!!
Looking forward to next year!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balm Beach Resort

Address: 15 Tiny Beaches Rd, North, Balm Beach, Tiny, Ontario L0L 2J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Tiny > Balm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balm Beach Resort Located on the world's longest freshwater beach only 90 mins north of Toronto. One of Georgian Bay's best kept secrets. We are a destination resort that provides you the pleasures of the beach and the calming effects of the sparkling waters of Georgian Bay. The Balm Beach area is full of attractions for those looking for a family adventure including nightly bonfires and spectacular sunsets.You will have memories that last a life time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Balm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balm Beach Hotel Perkinsfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.