We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Balm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Balm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Balm Beach Resort
15 Tiny Beaches Rd, North, Balm Beach, Tiny, Ontario L0L 2J0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% OFF ROOM RATE.
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balm Beach
Alliston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

Relaxing, clean, quiet. Right across from an endless beach. Mark was an amazing host - very personable, helpful and went out of his way to ensure that are stay was what we had hoped for. He truly loves ensuring that everyone's stay is perfect. We booked the efficiency unit but also enjoyed the great food options within a 2 minute walk. A great break from the fast pace of life. Jack and Diane

Room Tip: All rooms have a view of the beach. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
8
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My husband and have been taking yearly trips to Balm Beach Resort for about 5 years now. We absolutely love it!! The people are friendly, the rooms and clean and tidy and it is right across from the beach. Mark (the owner) makes you feel like you are right at home. He is so accomodating and friendly. There are BBQ's, shuffleboard, and nightime bonfires. A truly relazing holiday with the bonus of a nice community. Glad to know there are still great places like this find around. This is one place you do not want to miss. You'll be going back for years. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

This is a hidden jem, one of the most beautiful beaches in Ontario, if not Canada. To my family it is a resort-which means visited frequently. We stay there every summer and wouldn't miss it! The Best Sunsets and bring your bucket the sand is super! The accomodations are clean, and comfortable, you are provided with a frig, stove Tv and most kitchen requirements as well as access to a couple BBQ's If you like you can play badmington or shuffleboard, The owner and his staff are always friendly and helpful. Beach by day and Bonfires at night, truly relaxing and only footsteps away from the Beach.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Worst place I have ever stayed in my life, very very low end.

The room size was 6x8 and that includes a twin bed, an opening sofa for the kids a fridge a sink a microwave ( hot plate under the sink for all you cooks out there)--tiny and fulithy.

We also paid an extra 30 dollars for linen service which included him giving us the linen to make our own beds and 3 small low quality white gym towels - which were never changed for the whole 5 days!!

But , yes there is more...the water in the rooms are salty because they come from an abused water source -his cabin has normal water which has a faucet outside for u to use if u want to wash your dishes not in salty water.

So why is it called a resort and not what it really is which is a flee motel?

They have shuffle board - I am not kidding ....

In addition it is not on the beach but on the road which leads to the most busy parking lot of the whole balm beach area!! So we needed to hear all the cars, music, honking plus make sure our kids don't get run over by cars.

STAY AWAY

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2010

My Fiance and I decided to take a road trip, with really no destination besides wanting to be at the beach. I typed into my GPS and found this hidden treasure.

The rooms were very clean, beds were comfy, some rooms have kitchenettes, and the locations was to die for. Sooooo close to the beach, like right across the raod. It was awesome. The owners are amazing also, they host fires at night for anyone in the motel to join, it was so much fun and we met some new friends.

It was a great place to just get away for relatively cheap, considering the location. Nice chairs out front of your room to chill out on, have some drinks, take in the beautiful scenery.

We will definitely return, hopefully this summer if there are rooms available.

Take a visit, enjoy yourself, I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortCredit
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2009

Location... Location... Location...

Directly across the street from Balm Beach.

Beautiful Views, especially from rooms 9 and 10 as they are the ones directly facing the beach. This Hidden gem is a wonderful choice for some rest and relaxation.... but also has plenty of choices near by for more active travelers. We especially enjoyed paddle-boating, Go-carts and mini-putt all within walking distance. At the Balm Beach Resort Mark (owner) took time to teach us how to play shuffle board and we enjoyed playing bocce and badminton all on the premises. A Bonfire was set up everynight for the guests.

The rooms were Cozy and clean.
Rooms come with Kitchen and all utensils,glasses,dishes, pots etc.... The owner and manager (Mark) went out of his way to make sure everyone was satisfied with their stay.

Management was very knowledgeable of the area and helped us with directions to nearby attractions and recommended some interesting dining options.

We had a fantastic time and will be returning in the future!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2006

This Little gem is in a great location and is clean and tidy. The staff is helpful and rates are reasonable. If your looking for some rest and relaxation, then this is the place.
If your looking for a fancy all service posh resort - then this is NOT the place for you.
Balm Beach resort is a nice family run cottage type resort. Be nice to the staff and ask questions or make comments known - communication is the key.
A great place to release the stress of everyday life.
I will return there in the future.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Balm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balm Beach Resort

Address: 15 Tiny Beaches Rd, North, Balm Beach, Tiny, Ontario L0L 2J0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Tiny > Balm Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Balm Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Balm Beach Resort Located on the world's longest freshwater beach only 90 mins north of Toronto. One of Georgian Bay's best kept secrets. We are a destination resort that provides you the pleasures of the beach and the calming effects of the sparkling waters of Georgian Bay. The Balm Beach area is full of attractions for those looking for a family adventure including nightly bonfires and spectacular sunsets.You will have memories that last a life time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Balm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balm Beach Hotel Perkinsfield

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Balm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.