We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This once was a nice hotel...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Save Saved
You added Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Albrighton
Portsmouth, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This once was a nice hotel...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Having stayed in the Albrighton Hall a few years ago and really enjoyed it, we booked a short break away at the beginning of 2010 to celebrate the new year. We booked for two nights at a total cost of £220, but we found a 10% voucher from Hotels.com, and also used Quidco so managed to bring the cost down to £180, which was ten minutes well spent!

When we arrived the receptionist was very pleasant and booked us in swiftly. We were in the stable block, which is located at the back of the hotel. Once we got to the room our first impressions were that it was fairly average. There were a few stains on the carpet and the walls were in dire need of a coat of paint - marks and scuffs all over them. One large patch on the wall had been repainted some time ago, but with different colour paint than the rest of the room! There was also make-up all over the bathroom door and the full imprint of a previous occupant's eyelashes were above the spyhole in the door - clearly someone had just applied mascara and then peeped through the hole, but why it had not been noticed by the cleaner I don't know.

As we unpacked into the room we also noticed that most of the furniture had been scratched or damaged in some way. As our two days progressed we also encountered a faulty mains socket (no power), and a blocked plughole in the shower, meaning showers had to be taken in two minute bursts in order to avoid flooding the bathroom.

Quite possibly the worst thing we encountered was a large number of toenail clippings on the carpet next to the bed. They weren't embedded into the carpet or hidden under the bed, they were just scattered over a 1m wide area, in plain view. Sadly this meant that the room cannot have been hoovered before our arrival as any vacuum cleaner (regardless of quality) would have picked up these clippings. The lack of hoovering was also apparent when I cut my foot on a shard of glass later that day! I guess the previous occupant had broken a glass/bottle in the room, but had the room been hoovered properly I wouldn't have had to pick glass out of my foot.

Although the stable block is fairly quiet (we didn't even hear any other guests), it is right next to the kitchen exhausts that run 24/7, so there is a constant low-pitch humming that we found mildly annoying.

On a more positive note the staff were very friendly, and the pool/spa area was as nice as it was the last time we visited. The grouting in the steam rooms could have done with a clean though, and the spin-dryer in the male changing rooms had obviously broken at some point in the past but it had not been replaced.

Our overall impression of the hotel is that it has really gone downhill since our last visit. I don't think any money has been spent on decorating or improvements in the last five years, and the poor room cleaning standards left a lot to be desired.

We shall not be returning...

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    331
    122
    57
    39
See reviews for
158
528
29
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
shrewsbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2009

The hotel is fairly nice, but we were seriously disappointed with the 'spa'. It is in a disgusting state of disrepair, with chipped tiles, and nails sticking out of the wall in the sauna. The pool had all manner of detritus floating in it and the jacuzzi was so chlorinated that it took weeks to get rid of the smell.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2009

I spent 2 nights along with 21 other family members (including children) in order to celebrate my daughter's 30th birthday.
I cannot speak too highly of the quality and high standards of service that we were given. The rooms were large, clean and well furnished in both the new and older parts of the hotel. The Spa facilities were excellent and the family enjoyed the pool each day. All free!
Breakfasts were very good with a wide selection of both hot and cold choices. On the last night we were provided with a private room to have our party. The food was excellent and plenty of it. Any requests we made were quickly attended to. Nothing was too much trouble.
This hotel has the best group of staff members that I have ever found during many years spent in hotels around the world. From check in to check out we were all made to feel welcome in all areas of the hotel by professional and attentive people. This is the place to choose for a special occasion.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

Disorganised and badly managed. Lost our bookings despite contacting hotel three times in advance of our stay. Hotel recommended booking table for dinner at 8.30, yet waited 90 minutes for starter to arrive! Food mass produced and uninteresting. Too many functions taking place on both Friday and Saturday night.
Unhelpful staff compaining of being too busy (which they were!). Spa staff unprofessional, complaining about other customers.
Room cold, poorly insulated for sound, was in the stable annexe.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2009

Stayed on a Friday to Sunday offer. Booked on a Super Break deal and this included a three course meal on the first evening and full breakfast. Room was in the School Masters House this is a block of accommodation detached from the main hotel, this is just a minutes walk. The room was lovely, bathroom was large and clean. Beds comfortable and the views looked over the gardens and woodlands. Okay, the TV is the old type but this did not bother us. Evening meal was served in the Oak Room, choice of three starters, main meal etc. Soup was delicious and beef was very tasty.
Breakfast I really enjoyed, fruit options included not just the run of the mill fruit but a great variety including gooseberries and they also had different types of yoghurts.

My husband was up at 8in the morning swimming his lenghths and using the sauna and ice room, he loved it.

On Saturday followed the signs to the main road, decided to take the ' Park and Ride' option into Shrewsbury, only £1.20 return and runs until 6.20pm. Never been to Shrewsbury before and what a hidden gem, over 700 shops so a shoppers paradise. Many of the shops are independent ones and the town reminded me of Chester. Took a guided walk in the afternoon run by the Tourist Information £3.50 for a couple of hours. Learnt about the local history and walked to Shrewsbury Castle.

All in all a great Winter weekend, loved Shrewsbury and no complaints at all at the Albrighton and I hope to go back some day.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uxbridge
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

We have stayed at this hotel on and off for about 14 years since our son was a toddler! We returned last weekend on a brilliant deal with tesco clubcard points and were given our favourite room which is light and airy and has plenty of space for 2 adults plus a 10 and 15 year old!! We have watched the hotel grow and seen many staff changes but one of the breakfast waiters is still there after 22 years!!! Room are lovely but as the last review says if you are exremely fussy a coat of paint may perfect them. We didnt eat in the restaurant as the food was a bit fussy for the kids but ther bar menu was perfect for us and there was more choice. Breakfast was a bit slow but there were only 2 people on and who wants to rush anyway. Its a shame that they have converted one of the lovely after dinner lounges ito an extra function room.....The spa area was lovely with 2 saunas, a steam room, a aroma room and ice room. Pool was ok. Gym I didnt use.
All in all for the price we paid this hotel is perfect and we are already looking forward to visiting again in the future.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2009

It was our first night away from the children for months. We'd booked at the Albrighton because it is part of the Mercure chain and we have had nothing but good experiences with the other Mercures we have stayed at. The pretty photographs on the website were also persuasive.

The location is very convenient for Shrewsbury and other local attractions and despite a large company AGM taking place on the same day there was plenty of parking.

We had a lovely, cosy room at the front of the hotel with a direct view of the picturesque lake. To celebrate our temporary freedom we decided to "do dinner" at the hotel. The menu was interesting and varied and the food beautiful. My husband has never had to tackle such a substantial cheese plate and my assiette of chocolate made our little boy jealous for days when I told him about it.

Despite the fantastic dinner, romantic surroundings and having my husband's undivided attention, my favourite part of the whole stay was the spa. We did not have time to indulge in any of the beauty therapies or kick-boxing classes but the pool was nice for a swim, if a tad on the short side. The whirlpool was the warmest and bubbliest we've encountered but the best part was the thermal suite with two saunas, two steam rooms and a fabulous ice room with an ice fountain (into which my husband completely wimped out of going). I have not felt so relaxed for a long time.

The staff, from the ladies in reception to the chambermaids, were all friendly and welcoming. We had such a brilliant time, we will be back. Unfortunately, however, probably with the children.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Indoor pool, gym, squash courts, sauna, steam room, solarium and beauty treatments. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.