We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome - Relaxing Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Warm welcome - Relaxing Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was lucky enough to win an overnight stay with dinner, breakfast and spa treatments at the wedding fayre held here in January. We decided to use the prize for my birthday - 1st May.

We were warmly welcomed by Sophie the receptionist and given the card to our room - no 22. What a gorgeous privilege room it was too. My only bugbear was the size of the four poster bed - my other half is 6ft 2 and I'm no midget either so the double bed was a bit on the small size.

Nevertheless we enjoyed our spa treatments and the use of the thermal suite, jacuzzi, etc. the staff couldn't have been more helpful or efficient.

At dinner we were welcomed by the lovely staff who not only acknowledged us as prize winners but also made note that it was my birthday. I received a card and chocolates AND my dessert was specially made for me. I was very surprised and very chuffed at such an effort.

We very much enjoyed our stay and I'm so pleased we've decided to have our wedding at this hotel in November. I know the staff will ensure the day is perfect

I can highly recommend Albrighton Hall for a special occasion.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    405
    160
    68
    43
See reviews for
181
640
31
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

booked a spa break for myself and partner as a birthday surprise, the deal included bed & breakfast, evening meal and spa treatment. The staff were welcoming and helpful, the spa facilities were very good with sauna's, steam rooms, ice room, jacuzzi and pool. We had a back, shoulder & neck massage which was excellent. Our room was clean & spacious and overlooked the lake. Dinner was 3 course from a set menu and was delicious, breakfast in the morning was buffet style with everything that you could possible want from youghurt & fruits, cereals, pastries and full english. We would defiantly stay again. The only down side was that the drinks were on the expensive side but thats usual for a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear T E,
Thank you for your great review. We are pleased you had a fabulous time and we are looking forward to welcome you back.


Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We were celebrating our 1st anniversary & as a surprise my husband had booked us a couple of days away. We arrived at Albrighton Hall & drove up the driveway to the carpark. My first impressions were that it looked for grand. My husband explained to me that it had grounds so we could go for a walk & explore. He also told me that it had a Spa but he had been unable to book us in for anything due to it being fully booked but we could still use the facilities. We arrived at the reception & were met by a friendly receptionist. She gave us the keycard to our room, explained where it was & how we were close to the Spa. That was it we weren't told where anything else was.

We made our way out of the main house into an adjoining building. Which was quite tired looking. We got to our room & I instantly saw that my husband was disappointed with it. We aren't fussy but where you are paying full price you expect a room to be clean. The room had multiple stains on the carpets, the net curtains & the bedding. He went to reception & complained. He was told that due to a wedding they were short on rooms. He was then given the keys to look at anothet room in the main house. The bed was considerably smaller & we had a cracking view of the bins. We refused this room & were shown another room in the same building as the first room. Again this was dirty stains all over the carpet & a huge stain on the armchair. We refused this room & it was now getting to the point that I was looking on the internet for alternative hotels. We were then shown a fourth room in the same building this was on the top floor & was cleaner. But it still wasn't perfect some of the fixtures in the bathroom were coming off the wall & the window had a poor repair job on the latch. By this time we were unable to use the Spa as we had a pre-arranged dinner. We weren't offered as so much as a drink for our troubles.?

The next day we ventured into the spa. When we got to the desk it wasn't staffed. We could hear them listening to the football in adjoining room/office. A male came out, gave us some towels & a key for the lockers. We had to prompt him for directions. We were given the directions to the changing room & that was it. No offer of showing us where everything was. I had to ask a lady with her children how I got to the pool.Once in the pool area the jacuzzi wasn't turned on. The pool had children in it but they were well behaved. The area where the sauna, steam room & ice room is was very outdated. Infact it was quite unkempt & had a dirty smell about it. It had cracked tiles, holes in the wall & when in the ice room my husband asked could we leave as it was dirty. Worst spa I've been to.

We checked out the next day & didn't revisit the spa facilities like pre-planned

We were constantly told that there was a wedding at the location. This wasn't our fault & guests shouldn't have to put up with substandard dirty rooms. A carpet cleaner, the net curtains washed & a steam clean on the soft furnishings would sort the job out. These rooms shouldn't be available until this is done Would we come again the answer is no not for a special occasion especially when we paid full price. We have stayed in better hotels for a lower price

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Jemijess,
Thank you for taking time to leave us your feedback about your recent stay. We have our cleaning and maintenance schedule for all our rooms in place. Unfortunately some of the stains we can’t get rid it is a matter of age. Our new Owner started recently with the first part of refurbishment and within the next 18 months the Spa and rooms will follow. Some of your comments are passed to the relevant Head of departments to re-train our staff on customer service. The rooms are sold to different kind of packages. Weddings have a small percentage of room allocation. Obviously when we are fully booked we are limited for any room moves.
I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay. Hopefully you will give us second chance to see the difference in the near future.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

As members of the National Trust we travel all over the country visiting various NT properties and we take advantage of the Tesco Clubcard deals.
We booked a superior room at this rather splendid Country hotel and were delighted when we entered our bedroom which was spacious, beautifully furnished and to our surprise also had a wonderful four poster bed.
The buffet breakfast served in the Oak Room was perfectly adequate for our needs and on the first morning Pedro our waiter was very attentive to our needs.
The only quibble we had during our stay was that on check in the receptionist did not explain fully that the cost of the breakfasts were only offered at the discount price of £10 if pre-booked at check in and as we were uncertain about our plans we only pre-booked breakfast for the first morning and then when we went to book for the following morning the receptionist was very abrupt and told us we would have to pay the full price of £15.50 which I would say is overpriced for the food on offer. On our return to the hotel that evening we queried this with the receptionist who had checked us in and she apologised and amended our booking. On returning home I completed an online survey from the hotel group and received a very good reply and apology from the hotel.
So top marks all round Albrighton Hall , we will definitely return.

Room Tip: Room number 1 has a wonderful four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear mazzyking,
Thank you for your 5star review. I am glad our Reception Team handled your complaint so well and responded to you. Obviously we will take your feedback to re-train our staff for our special offer we provide. Hopefully you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This ticks all the boxes. Our room in the school masters house was gorgeous with a supremely comfortable bed. Staff were superb and the food was some of the best I have ever eaten in a hotel, cooked to perfection. Would book again without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear jrandgg,
Thank you for your 5star review. We are pleased to see your comments about our food and especially your feedback regarding our staff.
Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a great time at this place. We were so lucky and had glorious weather that allowed us to enjoy the park and have some drinks at the terrace of the bar... Just perfect! We went on a very good package that includes dinner, breakfast and spa treatments and it was all very good. Staff were friendly and professional. Thank you very much. Definitely worth paying a little extra for the privilege room btw.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Noel A,
Thank you for your time to share your experience. We are delighted to read you had a lovely weekend with us. Please visit us again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stopped off here whilst travelling back home for 1 night and everything was excellent. The room was great, the pool excellent to help tire out the children and the breakfast is plentiful and of a good quality. The next morning, we found that the kids had left the lights on in the car and drained the batteries, however, the hotel maintenance team jumped started our car and we were on our way again! Excellent service from all, and many thanks!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear Garth J,
Thank you for your 5star review. We are glad you had a nice time. I am happy to see our Maintenance Team helped you out. Hopefully you will visit us again.

Kind regards
Kordula Schloesser
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Indoor pool, gym, squash courts, sauna, steam room, solarium and beauty treatments. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.