We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa to your Saves list
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
MERCURE SPRING OFFER
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights. We were so impressed with the grounds and our room. The manor was very beautiful and made for fantastic surroundings. All the staff were very friendly and accommodating. Loved the bar and the gym. Would stay again in a heartbeat. The breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    405
    160
    68
    43
See reviews for
181
640
31
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
egypt
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Stayed for one night with my wife whilst visiting Shrewsbury. The hotel is 10 minutes from town which was perfect for our visit. The hotel has extensive grounds that were picturesque and well maintained.
We were allocated a superior room in an annexe next to the main building. The room was a bit dated but spacious with all the usual refinements expected of a 4 star hotel. The super-king size bed was particularly impressive and was very comfortable. Due to its location the hotel was also very quiet at night that made for a really good night’s sleep. Breakfast was excellent with a wide choice and great quality. There is a very good spa and we enjoyed the pool, sauna, jacuzzi and steam room. All the staff were pleasant and worked very hard.
There were only a few negative points. The main issue was that we had booked dinner several weeks prior to our arrival for 8pm however upon checking in we were asked if we could move this back to 8.30 as the restaurant was very busy (we did notice a coach party of senior citizens arriving when we were checking in which we found a little strange but probably explained why the restaurant was busy). Upon arriving our table was ready but the room was absolutely heaving with the waiting staff run off their feet. We waited 20 minutes for our drinks to be served and our starter course didn’t arrive until after 9pm which made for a much later meal than we preferred. In terms of the meal itself we were disappointed to find the lamb was no longer available and had been replaced with duck which is not quite the same. The meal itself was however of good quality and enjoyable.
The other issue was the price of drinks. We paid £21 for a bottle of house rose which was only average quality in our view and afterwards 2 liqueur cocktails cost £15.We are accustomed to paying a little more for drinks in hotels but this was excessive.
We enjoyed our stay here but in terms of recommending it to others would advise them about the negative issues we encountered.

Room Tip: Our room had a very noisy fan in the bathroom which was on a timer linked to the light so if you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

So glad you had an enjoyable time at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having visited this hotel with a group last year, we returned to find it just as good as we remembered it. Very pleasant and helpful staff and lovely spacious rooms. The breakfast in particular was really good with good quality ingredients and the homemade bread was fabulous. Coffee in coffee pots could have been hotter.
Evening meals had enough variation and were served promptly. We would not hesitate to return to this good standard hotel with pretty gardens and handy for town by car or local bus and nearby attractions.
Many of us used the pool and spa facilities. It would be nice to be warned when swimming lessons lessons are taking place before entering the pool as these restrict the use of the pool considerably and deny disabled access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

The team and I very much appreciate your kind words, and we’re glad to have been a part of your visit to Shropshire. We look forward to welcoming you back at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury.
Kind regards,

Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed at the Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa on Wednesday 7th August 2013 with my husband and 2 lads. We were there only 1 night but the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. The ambiance of the hotel was lovely, the grounds were very enjoyable. Although there is no lift the rooms were excellent and extremely comfortable in the main house. The food in the bar area was excellent, and the breakfast and service from both area you could not fault.

I look forward to returning to the hotel for a long weekend with girl friends for a spa weekend.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 15 excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in Shrewsbury again very soon.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just had one night there, check in was smooth, and quick, room OK, although if I was to criticise a trifle small, but hey we were only going to sleep there. Food nice, very relaxing bar area, overall a good choice...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
I’m so glad that you had an enjoyable stay at Albrighton Hall Hotel & Spa in Shrewsbury. The staff and I very much appreciate your lovely feedback. I hope we can welcome you back to the property in the near future.
Kind regards,
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We have stayed here before, in the new build by the Spa. Decided to upgrade for £20 to a room in the main building. Huge comfortable room. A little frayed at the edges, but no real concerns. Dinner was included in our deal. No faults with the food, just the staff could not cope with a very large party of 40 plus, which took their attention away from the other diners. A few complaints sadly. Breakfast was first class, loads of choice. The Hotel was fully booked and although we breakfasted at peak time, no waits. Very happy with our stay. Hotel in beautiful surroundings. I have to add that the service from the Receptionists, both morning and evening, was exceptional.

Room Tip: Rooms in the annexe are very modern, large and well appointed. Overlook the small lake, if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for taking the time to add your lovely feedback to Tripadvisor, the staff and I very much appreciate this.

I am pleased to read that you like your room in the annexe and that it met with your expectations.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight 2 August 2013

Negatives

Reception - the young blonde lady who welcomed us was robotic and painfully, painfully slow. Needs some serious development in public relations

Restaurant (Dinner) - disappointed to find several items already unavailable at 8pm at the start of a weekend. Instead of lamb & leek pudding, offered a 'similar' confit of duck (??). It came, it wasn't confit, it was a roast leg of duck, dry and over cooked. Astounded to be told that raspberry ripple ice cream was sold out but WAS available as an accompaniment to the chocolate fondant. How does that work? However, the restaurant positives rescued the evening (see below)

Restaurant (Breakfast) - fancy a quick coffee from the restaurant before breakfast? £3.50 please!!

Bar - waiter unable to hold more than one drink in his memory bank. Constantly needed to repeat the orders, frustrating

Positives

Restaurant (Dinner) - the Head
Waitress was a joy to be with. Professional and engaging. The middle-aged wine waiter was superb. Both an absolute asset to the hotel

Restaurant (Breakfast) - good quality produce and the BEST toaster in the world!

Location - delightful grounds and lake

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
h6629, General Manager at Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you, for your constructive feedback. We have looked in to the issues raised and implemented new procedures in order to prevent them from happening again.

On the whole, I was please that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we as a team can welcome you back to Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa in the very near future.

Kindest regards
Jane Peach
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa

Address: Ellesmere Road, Albrighton, Shrewsbury SY4 3AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Shrewsbury > Albrighton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Albrighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
300 year old Shropshire House, a 4 star hotel with 87 en suite rooms, overlooks an ornamental lake in 15 acres of gardens in the heart of Shropshire just 2 miles from the medieval town of Shrewsbury. 30 min from the M6, J10A. Ideal for visiting Chester, Shrewsbury Abbey and the Severn Valley steam railway. Indoor pool, gym, squash courts, sauna, steam room, solarium and beauty treatments. 24 hr room service. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury
Albrighton Hall Hotel
Accor Albrighton Hall Hotel Shrewsbury

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.