We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Awesome!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anika Island Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Anika Island Resort to your Saves list
Anika Island Resort
Talisay Santa Fe | Alice Beach, Santa Fe, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Makati, Philippines
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply Awesome!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

With a lot of stress and work baggage on, we headed for Anika Beach Resort straight from Mactan Cebu International Airport for round about 4 hours aircon bus trip plus 1 and half hour of ferry ride to the island. We booked for a - 4day/3n stay and was so ready for an awesome vacation. Though the room was not that big but sure enough convenience for couples or a group of three. I envy the comfort of their beds/mattresses, pillows and the minimalist interior design of the room equipped with a 32" flat screen. We were situated in one of the small villa that uniformly comes with spacious porch and couches where we enjoyed our chitchats and drinking sessions too.

This is not a five star resort yet but we were truly satisfied with the services they gave us during our stay, from the welcoming staff in the concierge who eventually became our friends. And oh! how we love staying and lying down in the bleachers near the shores - A great view of the Bantayan Island port and the scenic moonlight during those tranquil nights. The place is so peaceful and no traces of crowd.
Housekeepers are on site to assist us every time we request for room clean up and staff to answer our queries in touring the island.

Foodies!! - Great line up and one fave of ours is the veggie rice with extra plunge of spices and peppers ( as requested by the boss! :) )

Virgin island experience too is love! A little stretch in the pocket tho as it costs P500 per head for the Island entrance and an honest comment from my buddy when we stepped on the island i'd recall " what so special with this island, why does it cost that much? ".. Lol. And the best answer for that is for you guys to find out and explore. If you don't have your own snorkeling gears, rent it @ P75 rent each. Bring your own food too when you visit Virgin Island.
To wrap it up, it was an awesome experience! Definitely a place worth visiting again! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    48
    18
    4
    0
See reviews for
21
58
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights in August 2013 with my wife. Being that it was our first time in the Philippines, we weren't exactly sure what to expect, now that I've been there and am now in a different resort on a different island, I can pause and reflect on our stay there.

The resort has in my opinion the best beach on the entire island. It is easiliy 150 meters long and is constantly cleaned by the staff, the water is so clear, clean and beautiful, you should choose this resort for the beach alone.

The resort is not in town, Santa Fe is a short and very pleasant 20 minute walk, if that. We personally felt this was perfect as it gave us the opportunity to walk every day to the restaurants in town, and when you came back to the resort at night, it was incredibly peaceful, no noise, just the sound of the water.

The resort in itself is very clean, modern and well equipped. The food is hit or miss. There is wifi in the reception but the speed is very slow so do not expect to download anything, I used it mainly for trip advisor and uploading a pic or two each day online.

The rooms are comfortable, we had an ocean view room for 3000php and we had a 10% discount as we stayed 5 nights. The air condition is extremly efficient in the room though a tad bit noisy.

Regarding bedding, they only provide you with a sheet, there's no comforter, so if you're like me and need an extra blankett, you can ask for some at the reception.

OTHER POSITIVE THOUGHTS:
+The staff is very friendly and will try to accomodate your every need
+ Resort is super safe, ideal for families (and anyone else who isn't looking to party all night). Note there are no safes in the rooms, I didn't feel afraid for my stuff though, there are guardsall over the resort
+ Decent sized rooms, comfortable, clean, good A/C and well equipped bathrooms
+ Perfect beach (seriously, it is perfect)
+ The dining hall has fans almost everywhere so it's not uncomofrtable to eat there
+ You can request to eat on your provide balcony for a 10% service charge
+ Free glasses of water are provided anytime you are in the dining hall and they will fill up your bottles for free
+ A pool is currently being built
+ Free transfer from Sante Fe Port to the resort (10 pesos for the port fee), just prepared to be haggled by dozens of porters and the likes, simply smile and say no thanks (a half dozen times per porter should do the trick :)) Though if you are light loaded you can walk there within 10 mins (just turn right once you leave the port and go straight, the resort will be on your right and can't be missed)
+ Their fresh fruits and juices are delicious
+ They arranged a private bangka ride for me and my wife to go to Malapascua for 2500php. Canvassers in town will do it for 2000 and possibly less, but you dont know the condition of their boats, the one we took through Anika was big and safe.
+ There's a faucett at the foot of the stairs leading to your private balcony to clean the sand off your feet, very handy!

THINGS THAT CAN BE IMPROVED:
- Coffee, whether instant or brewed is simply not drinkable so don't even bother, saly this is not entirely their fault as it's hard to find good coffee here (but not impossible)
- Provide blankets in room in case people need them
- The food I had there wasn't great but I didn't choose fish or anything fresh, the sandwiches were not good and neither were the fries

Based on the above I hesitate to give 4 or 5 stars, as I am trying to be objective as possible I will give it 4 stars with a strong recommendation as I really think it is the best and safest resort on the island. I don't see much point in staying downtown Sante Fe proper unless you really don't want to move to go eat, though the town is very cool don't get me wrong, I loved being there and the locals are super friendly I actually miss it! People there are poor in possessions but rich within and it's quite humbling to see coming from the Western World.

Thanks again Anika for a very pleasant and memorable stay!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Anika hotel is near to the ferry terminal, also provide the free shuttle pick up and delivery. U just need to pay the 10 peso parking fee at ferry. During stay, the choice for restaurant, maybe twice in the hotel restaurant. The other can go out at downtown for dinner. Anika's BBF is not really worth try but is quiet convinent. Anika's dinner sigsig and fish is nice. Garlic rice is really good. Buco juice, Massage service need to make rsvn first.Nice beach and snokling place, silend and private for the guest.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights in March. The sand really is as white as in the pictures and the water really is that clear. The resort is small with some amenities, but it is the perfect place to relax. A few notes: -> They will pick you up and drop you off at the ferry terminal for free. -> They arranged motorbike rentals for us and it was cheap and convenient. -> It's not in the town of Santa-Fe but a very close cart ride away. -> Service was good but not exceptional. Staff were friendly (especially the security guards on the beach and at the front gate), but generally you got everything you asked for. -> Rooms were not cleaned daily but if you ask for it they will clean it on the spot. -> The wifi at the resort is only available in the lobby/restaurant. It is really really slow, but then you have to remember you are on an island on the beach and what are you doing on your computer anyway... :) -> Drinks are cheap -> There is a small spa in town but they will also arrange for staff to come to the resort for you to have a massage /pedicure /manicure on your balcony/on the beach/in your room.

Overall a very pleasant stay and a place I would gladly return to, however next time I will stay much longer!

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are not necessarily labelled sea view rooms but they are on the corner of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Overall great service and the ocean view rooms are awesome. Little weird sleeping in a container but they did a good job with the setup. The deck outside the room overlooks the entire bay, fantastic view. The staff is very friendly and will get you anything you need. Biggest complaint is the flies and the Mosquitos. We had to keep buying bug sprays and actually bought a fan for the deck to keep them off of us while we enjoy the view. The restaurant is ok but a bit pricey. Our family had a good time here and would come back again next time of we don't go to Boracay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Rooms were clean, spacious & had a wonderful view of the beach.

The staff were very courteous, helpful & know the guests by name. They even went out of their way to get us coconuts!

One thing we didn't like very much is the food served in their restaurant. Everything was very salty & there were a lot of flies hovering over the food while we ate.

But still, most definitely the best resort along the Sta Fe coastline!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

It is our first time in Bantayan Island and based on the information available in the Internet, Anika Island Resort in Sta. Fe is one of the better, if not the best resort at present in the island. We stayed there for three days and two nights and found the place as good as advertised. As every visitor should know, Bantayan is no Boracay, which is the reason why we chose to see it for ourselves (after 6 hours of travel (one-way) by air, land and sea). If you want relaxation and a real break from the noise of the city, visit Bantayan, specifically Anika.

The whole resort is relatively new. Single villa is reasonably priced, the room is clean, linens are okay. Additional rooms and swimming pool are currently being constructed. Concept and design for the resort (the use of truck containers), the main dining hall and reception area is cool (reminded us of Antonio's in Tagaytay). Though wi-fi is only available in the dining hall. Menu is okay but the food is fresh (fish and other seafood are from daily catch). The shuttle to and from the Sta Fe port is a welcome service particularly for first-timers. Staff are courteous and helpful.

Overall, we enjoyed our short stay in Anika and we'll certainly go back in the near future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anika Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anika Island Resort

Address: Talisay Santa Fe | Alice Beach, Santa Fe, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Bantayan Island > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sta. Fe's newest resort destination.A 7,000 square meter property with 19 distinctively custom appointed container van accommodations set amid the lush tropical greenery of the resort town of Sta. Fe, Bantayan capturing the expansive white sand beach, refreshing crystal clear waters and breathtaking sea views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Anika Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anika Island Resort Bantayan Island, Cebu Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anika Island Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.