We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of the beaten track, but well worth the effort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Triton Inn

Triton Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sledmere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Triton Inn
Save
You added Triton Inn to your Saves list
Sledmere, Sledmere, Driffield YO25 3XQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Sledmere B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A bit of the beaten track, but well worth the effort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Triton Inn is a well established country pub. The current tenants have been in situ for some time now and have done a great job of rebuilding this pub into a popular eating place. People travel far and wide to visit the Yorkshire Wolds and lap up some of the views and walks across the area that has been made famous by David Hockney and his paintings. This pub is just the best place to enjoy a locally brewed pint along with a good plate of proper pub food. From the starters to the steaks and from the pies to the Sunday lunches you will not be disappointed, and all at a reasonable price. The Yorkshire Puds are properly done and well worth a try. I really like this place because the Landlords like it too, and it shows.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    13
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
16
31
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saddleworth
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Would recommend this for a superb pub lunch with a traditional country pub atmosphere. Our second visit here on route to the coast and was good food and value for money. Recommend the Yorkshire Ploughmans!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
March, cambridgeshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Thank you to the Triton inn for a very warm welcome and most comfortable stay! Accommodation was spotless, breakfast and dinner was excellent and most important of all we were made to feel really welcome! A big thank you to Derek who made out stay very memorable !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed here for two nights with my wife for a short break in an unfamiliar part of Yorkshire. Definitely a cut above the average pub with grub, in a beautiful setting. Lovely food (including a sensational cheesecake) but what really made our stay special was the attitude of the staff, who were friendly and helpful without exception and clearly enjoyed working together as a team. We'll certainly be recommending the Triton to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed Saturday 8th September 2012, very friendly and efficient staff, nothing too much trouble, food was excellent (meat pie was the best ive ever tasted). and our room was clean and tidy. Will definitely be going again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Visited the Triton when passing for a quick drink a few times so decided to try the Sunday Lunch. Couldn't fault it and the price is very reasonable. Lovely roast with a great selection of vegatables all cooked to perfection. Staff are very helpful and always friendly too. Looking forward to eating there again soon.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Hull, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband and I visited this pub after stumbling across it on Sunday 19th August 2012. The place was really busy with alot of bookings and large group bookings. We made enquiries as to whether we could eat to which the staff was really helpful and went out of their way to try and help us squeeze in and find us a table!

We were so glad they did as the food was absolutely wonderful! 2 courses for £12.95 we opted for a Chicken Tikka starter followed by a traditional Roast Beef Sunday lunch washed down with a bottle of white wine.

We had a lovely afternoon and could have easily have stayed there all day! The staff was really friendly and warm and the food was delicious! We will certainly be returning in the near future! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Triton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Triton Inn

Address: Sledmere, Sledmere, Driffield YO25 3XQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Driffield > Sledmere
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Sledmere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Triton Hotel Sledmere

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Triton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.