We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy Devon retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brook Tor

Save Saved
You added Brook Tor to your Saves list
Brook Tor
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Brook Tor
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sampford Spiney, Dartmoor National Park PL20 7QX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Tiverton Devon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy Devon retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent last weekend at Brook Tor. It was our first visit and we were certainly not disappointed. Brian and Rosie welcomed us warmly and everything was done to make our stay both happy and comfortable. Our most attractive room had all that we needed, including most important of all, a very comfortable bed. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful, setting us up for a day on the moor which is just a short drive away. This is an excellent homely setting run by very kind, friendly people with an eye for detail. Highly recommended to those looking for good value B & B.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall united kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We have just spent two nights at brian n rosies bnb and it was fab!i would definately recommend it and shall definately return.they have thought of everything, from a torch n hot water bottle to a hairdryer n shoe horn!thankyou for a great stay n the lovely laughs too dont change a thing!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed for two nights on a return trip from Cornwall, what a pleasure it was. A warm welcome and a lovely ambience particularly at breakfast , enjoyed the chats whilst Brian cooked our delicious breakfast, so very relaxing, a lovely double aspect room will definitely return next year xx

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

I stayed at Brook Tor last week with my mum for a whole week and thoroughly enjoyed it. I got a Gold Certificate on my first stay! I enjoyed playing in the garden and my bedroom was lovely and bright and very clean, the bed was very comfy, I got treats off Brian and basically my plan to take over the house worked well. Mum had a lovely time too, BT was just far enough into the country and just near enough to town to a bit of shopping. the house was lovely and clean and very welcoming from the start, mum had tea, I had a chew. the breakfasts were very good mum says but I was watching my waistline, mum definately didn't watch hers. In all we had a lovely time, there were losts to see and places to go that were very interesting, and I always had a fuss made of me when we arrived back from our adventures. In all both mum and I loved it and will definately return next year or even this. so watch out rosie and Brian. Ps mum is going to frame my Certificate for me. many thanks Darcy and Mum xxxx

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Brook Tor for 3 nights at the end of October. We couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome from Brian & Rosie. They made both us and our dog feel right at home. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was delicious and plentiful. The area where the B&B was situated was amazing right on the edge of Dartmoor and just up the road from historic town of Tavistock. Would definately love to go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edlesborough
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed for three nights and were so impressed with the welcome we received, both for us and our mad dog! Rosie and Brian made us feel it was a home from home but with the benefit of having breakfast cooked for you - and what a breakfast - I put on two pounds! The room was lovely and the area gorgeous. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooktorbandb, Owner at Brook Tor, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
We are always delighted to know that we have helped to make our guests' stay as happy as we can.
We love our 'job' and offering the best service that we are able and thank all our guests for supporting our efforts and taking the time to let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford on avon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 1 night at Brook Tor as it was well placed for an overnight break as it was on the doorstep of Dartmoor and on the way back from Cornwall.
The owners were extremely friendly and welcoming to both us and our dog. We stayed in a pretty clean cottagey en-suite room.
We particularly enjoyed the location, the friendliness of the owners and the value of Brook Tor.
PS Superb breakfast

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brook Tor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brook Tor

Address: Sampford Spiney, Dartmoor National Park PL20 7QX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmoor National Park > Sampford Spiney
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Sampford Spiney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brook Tor 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the western edge of the Dartmoor National Park, Brook Tor is a calm and peaceful hideaway where you can relax and unwind - do as little or as much as you choose! The en-suite double bedrooms are charmingly furnished in the country style and there is a separate residents' sitting room. With well behaved dogs welcome, off road parking, use of the pretty gardens and summer house, Wifi connection and delicious breakfast, why not come for a visit? We look forward to welcoming you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Brook Tor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brook Tor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.