We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very different kind of holiday (in a good way!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Genalguacil
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays
Save
You added Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays to your Saves list
Finca Casa Nube | Genalguacil, 29492 Genalguacil, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Genalguacil B&B and Inns
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A very different kind of holiday (in a good way!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We had a great holiday at Cloud House Farm in June 2012, staying in the orange grove yurt.
It took a while to find but that is reflected in how peaceful and beautiful it is once you do eventually get there! Amazing views and wildlife. The facilities are great- the yurt is spacious with a really comfortable bed! Only thing I would request for the future is a mini-fridge rather than ice packs as this would make life easier. Must mention the freshly squeezed OJ for breakfast every morning- soooo nice!
You feel a million miles away from everyday life here and can seriously relax. There is plenty to do in the local area and Seville (stunning city- around 2 hours away) makes the perfect contrast to Cloud House Farm so would definitely recommend an overnight stay there.
It didn't feel like your average summer holiday- it was more of an adventure :-)
Dan and Juss are the perfect hosts and happy to help with anything you need.
Best holiday in years- thanks!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CloudLoving, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thanks for the great review Kaz, it was a real pleasure having you both stay with us in the mountains. The orange trees are now busy growing back all their oranges after plenty fresh OJ squeezed through the summer. We're also busy on the guest fridge, being 100% off-grid & eco has its power limitations, but we're pleased to report we're working on it for the coming year :) In the mean time we're happy to chill items in the farm house fridge.
Hope we'll see you 2 out here again in the future.
Best wishes
Dan & Juss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We (myself and my girlfriend) stayed at Cloud House Farm for the middle part of a short tour of Andalucía, and couldn't have loved it more. Dan, Juss, the kids and animals all greeted us very warmly after a fairly lengthy drive through the mountains (the directions Dan and Juss provided were excellent, and much needed, but we fancied a bit of a drive through the stunning national parks that surround the site). Juss showed us up to the yurt and filled a cool-box with all that we could need for our first night - can't remember all that was given, but do recall a cold beer on arrival and a decent bottle of Rioja were included (probably why I don't remember the rest!).
We stayed for 4 nights in the Woodland Yurt, which is perched up above the farmhouse with truly spectacular views of the valley and beyond. There is another yurt lower down nestled in among the orange trees, which looked equally beautiful.

The yurt itself was surprisingly luxuriant - iron bedstead, wood floors, antique-looking chest of drawers, pot-plants and with mains power to boot. The overall impression was of colonial splendour and we could easily have stayed here permanently (was a lot nicer than our bedroom in London!). There was also a chest at the end of the bed filled with maps and guides of the local area, which we made much use of.

Outside was a covered (some kind of reed thingy with vines and flowers) dining area and an open kitchen, designed and built by the owners. They referred to the kitchen as the "burger bar" (you'll see when you get there), but we preferred to liken it to a beach bar - bit weird to go on about the kitchen, but it was pretty cool serving drinks and nibbles through the hatch and was equipped with everything you could need for any length of stay.
You get you own private loo/shower, and the short walk down the hill to it was made worthwhile for (apart from the obvious pressing reasons) the view you get from the throne - tree-tops, mountains and picturesque Pueblo Blanco to boot.

The loo, fortunately, was not the best view afforded the visitor to the Woodland Yurt - a narrow path led from the dining area through the trees to a small decked area complete with hammock strung between the trees. Quite possibly one of the most relaxing and beautiful spots anywhere in the world. The trees offer some dappled shade while you languorously dangle a leg over the side of your hammock and around the edges of your (largely ignored) book you spy buzzards seeking out their prey over the valley, two or three pretty little white villages and vista that made you wish you had brought your sketch book. You could, and probably will, stay here all day.

Much has been said about the drive up the site, but we hired a Mini and I can confirm that we had absolutely no trouble in getting up and down the hillside along the track, and actually found it quite a lot of fun, in an "Italian Job" kind of way. You may want a 4x4 if visiting during a rainy spell, but I would still think you could make it in a typical compact hire car.

There is plenty to do in the area, though we found the site so peaceful and relaxing we didn’t tear ourselves away much, we did manage to get up to the caves to have a look at the cave paintings (dating back some 30,000 years or so), had a look around the local villages and took a dip in the hotel pool a short drive away (€2 and stay as long as you like – practically had the whole pool to ourselves, and decent food/lovely view as well)). You can also go swimming in the many river-pools dotted about, although I only went in up to my knees (still a Londoner at heart, I guess) plenty of people were swimming proper and seemed to be enjoying it. We had stayed in Ronda earlier in our trip, so didn’t go that way, but would heartily recommend making the drive up there for a look about. Just north of Ronda, on the road to Setenil, are some Roman ruins with a large amphitheatre perched on a cliff edge – the place officially closes early evening but go at dusk and hop over the fence – you can sit on a Roman wall and watch the sunset with a bottle of wine. Bliss.

My only regret from this stay is that we didn’t spend enough time chatting to Dan and Juss – they seemed like a really nice couple and would have had plenty of interesting stories relating to the renovation of the site (and more besides, I am sure), but we were just content to sit about and soak up the peaceful atmosphere on our own. We will really try and go back to Cloud House Farm at some point and will be inviting them up for a few drinks and bit of food from the burger bar (beach bar)!

Thanks to whole Cooper clan for creating such a special place and for looking after us so well. Loved it, loved, loved it and then loved it a little bit more.



oops - accidentally clicked on pool and fitness centre ratings. Pleasde note there is no pool on site (although there are plenty of swimming opportunities nearby) and no fitness centre (although the walk to the loo will keep you fit enough).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Dear Mark & Jane,

That is one truly amazing review from you guys!!!
OMG, we so enjoyed reading it and seeing it through your eyes. Thank you.

Oh, such a good read, our top fav's are your comments about the Kitchen (Burger Bar / Beach Bar :-), and also the Italian Job, real fun in a Mini Cooper!

We too wished we'd had more of an opportunity for a good old chat and are so glad you had such a relaxed time here. It'd be great if you both made it back as we'd love to bore your socks off with our self-build "slide show" ;-) Drinks up at the burger bar is a done deal for next time, we'll see you there!

Thanks again for making it out to Cloud House in a Mini and we do hope to see you both out here again.
Very very best from the mountains
Dan, Juss, Fed & Teo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We stayed in the woodland yurt for our honeymoon and enjoyed a peaceful few days exploring the local area and reading in the hammock. We found the yurt romantic and comfortable and Juss and Dan were very helpful hosts.
The hill views, especially from the private bathroom hut, were wonderful. We appreciated having hired a 4x4 car as the farm is approached on bumpy dirt roads, exciting once we got used to them!
Ronda was within easy reach for an interesting daytrip. If you are after a special, unique holiday or honeymoon in rural Spain then this is ideal.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Hola Jenny & Johnny,

Hope you arrived back safe & sound.
It was a real pleasure having you stay with us at Cloud House for your honeymoon.
Thank you for your kind words in the review.

Very very best from the mountains and for your new married life together!
Juss, Dan, Fed & Teo (Maddy Moo & Uncle Rico too)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We spent a relaxed and happy week in the slightly barmy and beautifully balmy setting of Cloud House Farm. It redefines ‘getting away from it all’, in the best possible way, in an eco-friendly environment surrounded by woods and wildlife. Everything is open to the environment. Birds are everywhere, but when we were there in late May, insects were not around in enough numbers to be a nuisance. If you like having to evict brightly-coloured lizards from the bathroom sink before you brush your teeth, then this is the place for you!

Cloud House Farm is reached by a dirt track off a mountain road. We’d suggest that a 4x4 is essential at any time of year, if only for the ground clearance and industrial-strength shock absorbers. We hired a Suzuki Jimny from Marbesol at Malaga airport: Marbesol were ok, but very slow to serve customers, and we’d recommend something with a bit more poke than the 1.3 we hired, it struggled occasionally on the dirt roads.

We stayed in the Woodland Yurt, which was comfortable, and spacious enough, especially considering you’re going to be spending most of your time out of doors. There’s even a docking station for an iPod, and nobody around to complain if you play it at full blast! Cooking and food-preparation facilities are basic but do-able, especially if you keep your meals simple and rustic. There’s no fridge, but there is a cool-box, which is adequate if you’re not too ambitious.

The farm is situated in the Serrania de Ronda, in the area known as the Pueblas Blancas, or White Villages, three of which could be seen from the Woodland Yurt, clinging to the mountainsides in a very picturesque manner. The nearest is Genalguacil, to which we walked there and back: a cracking cardio-vascular workout! It’s a beautiful village, where an artists festival is held every other year in August, and as a result of which there are various pieces of street art around the place. We also liked Jubrique, less picturesque but a bit more energetic. We didn’t like Algatocin, though, but it does have a decent supermarket.

But the place we really liked was Ronda. There’s no shortage of glowing stuff written about Ronda, so we won’t repeat it here. Just a suggestion, though: a pony and trap ride is available from the plaza by the bull ring, and takes about 45 minutes through the old town (La Cuidad). It’s well worth the 25 euros if you’re pushed for time, and would like to see the main sights. The pony we had looked well cared for. A word of warning: especially if you’re driving, the tourist maps they hand out don’t show all the roads, and don’t indicate the one-way system. We stayed overnight in a hotel in the centre of the new town, and got completely lost trying to find the hotel’s lock-up garage. We ended up having to reverse the wrong way down a one-way street, but we didn’t feel too bad about it ‘cos the locals seemed to be doing that sort of thing all the time!

Back at the farm, we found that apart from the two days spent in Ronda and walking to Genalguacil, we didn’t feel especially inclined to do anything energetic, or stray very far. The environment had a very tranquil effect on us, and we found the whole experience refreshing and restful. We brought our hiking boots, but that turned out to be a mistake, as we didn’t use them at all. The mule track to Genalguacil was do-able in a decent pair of trainers. We tried the swimming hole at Venta San Juan, which was nice, but you’ll need mossie repellent. We also had a meal at the restaurant there. The food was okay, but the service was lousy. We’d heard good things about the place, so maybe we just got there on a bad day.

Hosts Dan and Juss were cheery, chatty and helpful. They’ve put a lot of time and effort into creating the place practically from scratch, and they’ve produced something unique, charming and environmentally sensitive. We loved our week at Cloud House Farm, and would recommend it without reservation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hola Rick & Lyn,
Cracking review, thanks so much to you both for being so enthused with Cloud House life!
We'd have you guys back anytime ;-)
Since you left they've now damned the Rio Genal next to the bridge on the way to Benarraba. Not sure you ever got up to the restaurant in Benarraba that serves the locally sourced food & wine. Definitely one for next time when you come back to sample the other Yurt in the Orange Grove ;-)
4x4's as you know are great fun on the dirt track, and regular 2wd short wheel base cars / hatch backs are still the usual favourite for guests visiting Cloud House including a Mini Cooper. Fiat Panda's, Renault Kangoo's and Citroen Berlingo's are also good for their higher road clearance.
We hope you both make it out here again in the future, none more than Maddy Moo dog who's been rather sulky since you left!
Very best wishes from the mountains
Dan & Juss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed in the Orange Grove yurt and were really impressed. Dan and Juss are great hosts - happily answering any questions we had and pointing us in the right direction to river pools for swimming and which local villages to visit.

Cooking facilities are well equipped, yurt was really comfortable and much more spacious than we imagined, and the outside space, spread over a couple of levels is fantastic. There is lots of wildlife around - butterflies, eagles, songbirds and owls.

Cloudhouse is a really relaxing place, and if you can pull yourself away from the hammock we would recommend a trip to Cueva de la Pileta for some close up views of cave paintings and a short drive from there is a great pool for swimming at Cueva del Gato.

Still missing freshly picked oranges in the morning – hopefully we’ll get to do it again soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CloudLoving, Owner at Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, responded to this review, June 15, 2012
Hola Rick & Lyn,
Cracking review, thanks so much to you both for being so enthused with Cloud House life!
We'd have you guys back anytime ;-)
Since you left they've now damned the Rio Genal next to the bridge on the way to Benarraba. Not sure you ever got up to the restaurant in Benarraba that serves the locally sourced food & wine. Definitely one for next time when you come back to sample the other Yurt in the Orange Grove ;-)
4x4's as you know are great fun on the dirt track, but regular 2wd short wheel base cars / hatch backs are still the usual favourite for guests visiting Cloud House. Fiat Panda's, Renault Kangoo's and Citroen Berlingo's are also good for there higher road clearance.
We hope you both make it out here again in the future, none more than Maddy Moo dog who's been rather sulky since you left!
Best wishes from the mountains
Dan & Juss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

What an amazing place - it's incredibly beautiful at Cloud House Farm. Briefly, we would recommend this to anyone. You will be very comfortable here although you do need to be prepared for a little bit of roughing it too - it is in the middle of the mountains after all! The facilities are great, it has everything you need (although some kind of fridge would be handy). Dan and Jus, the owners, are very friendly (as is Freddie, Maddy the dog and Rico the cat) and are happy to give suggstions of what to do/where to go and have lots of local knowledge.

We flew into Malaga airport and picked up a car from there - a little Jimny which was ideal, you definitely need a 4x4 for the moutain tracks. The directions we received on booking were great and straightforward to follow and the drive was beautiful, turning away from the coast and heading into the mountains, the views from the top looking back to the coast were fantastic and that was just the start. We arrived at Cloud House Farm to a very warm welcome. Dan and Jus the owners are really friendly and so helpful but once they've got you settled in they don't bother you, but they are there if you need anything.
The yurt is great, very clean with lots of room and the most comfortable bed you could hope for! Two single futons would be great if you were taking kids but also add welcome soft seats to sit on in the evening.
Outside the yurt is a lovely decked area with some deck-chairs to lounge around in and the open air kitchen (a sink, two ring gas hob, cupboard and cool box) was great fun to cook at and with the great cheap fresh produce you can get from local shops there's no need to cook too much.
The compost toilet and shower hut just down the hill is great fun - its certainly a different experience and definitely a room with a view.
The surrounding area is great with beautful little white villages (with friendly locals) tucked in the hills, amazing scenery wherever you go, beautifully clear river pools for cooling off in and peace and quiet at your fingertips.
If it all gets a bit too quiet, a trip to Rhonda is worth doing and not far away. We also made the drive to Seville which was fine, although making the return trip in the dark was a bit hairy! We also drove out to the coast and took a trip to Gibraltar. There are plenty of things to do/places to go although really, you don't need to do anything or go anywhere as you will be happy lounging in the hammock in amongst the trees.

If only there was less to see in the world, we would return time and time again. As it is, a return visit is definitely on the cards at some point.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at Cloud House Farm in September and had a fabulous time. The bed was incredibly comfy and it was lovely to cosy up in the evenings drinking Spanish rioja and playing endless games of cards. Sunsets were spectacular and sleeps were deep, with nothing but birdsong in the morning to disturb us. There's a bit of an 'enchanted valley' feel to the place. Dan and Juss were always helpful, even calling around all their friends and contacts to track down information on a particular walk we wanted to do. What would make this place even more amazing would be an 'ice chest' or something similar - something dug into the ground and lined with straw with a big block of ice to keep beers and chorizo chilled. We struggled a little bit to meal-plan and were a bit scared to drive on the tracks after dark in order to eat out. But cooking at the outdoor 'burger bar' was a great adventure!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays

Address: Finca Casa Nube | Genalguacil, 29492 Genalguacil, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Genalguacil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Genalguacil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cloud House Farm is a secluded mountain yurt hideaway located deep within the hills of the Rio Genal Valley, close to the Andalucian white washed village of Genalguacil and set against the spectacular backdrop of the Sierra Bermeja Mountain range. Set within 17 acres of mountainous cork oak forest & perfectly located for adventure and discovery, Cloud House Farm offers a unique holiday experience way off the beaten track. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cloud House Farm Yurt Holidays, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.