We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best accommodation in el chorro!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Branch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Chorro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olive Branch
Save
You added The Olive Branch to your Saves list
Los Romerales | El Chorro, Alora, 29552 El Chorro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 El Chorro B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best accommodation in el chorro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

The owners, Gary and Mel, are extremely warm and welcoming and will go out of their way to help you! The accommodation itself is very clean and tidy with all you need and more in terms of cooking/washing/sleeping/wifi and a beautiful view.... they even have an honesty bar for if you forget to buy the beers in!

A climber myself, I found this place a perfect base! It was within walking distance to all of the best crags (no more than 20 minutes) however, if you were here to hike or just relax it is also ideal!

Will definitely stay here again if I am in the area! However, next time we will take the offer of a lift from Alora off Mel and Gary rather than relying on the local busses/trains as they are very infrequent!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tarifa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed in three different places in and near el Chorro and this was by far the best. It offers a perfect location for access to the rock climbing meaning no car is necessary. Gary and Mel are the best hosts you could wish for always friendly and willing to help with any request.
Free fast internet access was extremely important for us and this again was by far the best we found in any of the accomodation we tried. If you want to climb in el chorro, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

My girlfriend and I went to The olive branch for the first time in january for a climbing trip to el chorro. Its simply the best place to be if you are climbing there. Mel and Gary are amazing hosts, extremely helpful and friendly, thanks to them we were able to relax and enjoy so we decided to repeat our visit there and oganised a trip with other friends. They all loved the place. The rooms are very clean and nice, with bathroom included and nicely decorated, it is class to come back after a hard day climbing and walking around and have a nice shower and sleep. The location its very cool, the best views of the valley, a pool and several terraces to sit and relax, read and have a coffe with the morning or afternoon sun. You can walk to all the crags, Enantadas for example its only 5 mins, just behind the house. They also pick you up from the station, a bless if you come loaded with bags from malga airport, the hospitality is perfect, mel and gary are constantly taking care of everyone.The kitchen and living room are nice and very clean. We are going back again this year and trying to make it a tradition, feels like visiting friends.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

Just back from 5 days climbing in El Chorro and can't recommend Mel and Gary's place highly enough. Especially if you are a climber (or a walker or cyclist) this is a great location to base yourself in El Chorro. The guys were so friendly and the set up is perfect and very reasonably priced (right down to the little extras like sitting with us and drawing us maps to get to places, getting some food for us for our late arrival on the first night, the beer fridge and meals available if you really can't face cooking in the great kitchens).

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

The Olive branch is a relaxed and friendly place to stay and in a great location for the climbing. We're already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

I had the misfortune of one of my friends booking this "hotel" for my girlfriend and I for climbing trip. It was very cheap in every sense. When we arrived the place was a mess, nothing like the photos. The toilets were hanging off the walls and there was a dog which belonged to the owner roaming about even in the rooms. There was no mention of a dog on the web site. The rooms was dirty and the place was very untidy. The so called parking is inaccessible. We tried and nearly broke the oil sump on our hire car and I have had it confirmed by the local mechanic that the owner also broke the sump of his car accessing the parking. It is not somewhere you can take your car. This place is good if you do not have a car and are on a tight budget but we ended up staying in a BandB in town. Owners seemed nice enough until we asked for deposit back then got a bit nasty, but that was to be expected. I personally would advise spending a bit more cash and going up market.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OliveBranchElChorro, Owner at The Olive Branch, responded to this review, November 30, 2010
DO NOT TRUST THIS REVIEW - This reviewer DID NOT STAY AT OUR ACCOMMODATION, they stayed at a competitors.
They are not in a position to rate us or comment on our property.
We can assure future guests that our property is completely cleaned every day between 10am and 2pm. Our rooms are cleaned once mid-week during a 1 week stay.
Our dog DOES NOT go in our rooms, only on the outdoor terrace and garden.
We do not or never have had toilets hanging off the walls.
Our driveway is accessible by car, most of our guests have hire cars with no problems.
The reviewer is posting untrue information, our car was damaged on a main road.

We have a unique place here at The Olive Branch with accommodation to suit everyone and a lovely, homely welcoming atmosphere with the personal touch of our family. We have had many happy climbers, walkers and families alike that have stayed with us and you can see our reviews on here, on our website, on our Facebook page and on Climbing forums.

Thankyou for taking the time to listen to us and we hope to see you in the future.

Mel and Gary
The Olive Branch
El Chorro
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ferndown, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2010

Stayed for a week with my adult son in twin room which was adequate for our visit. Joined by two friends who stayed in 'bunk house' style accomodation. This is in fact a three bedroom house which is being used as bunk accomodation. Very high standard and excellent facilities.
Mel and Gary very accomadating, nothing too much, made to feel very much at home and welcome. Very friendly atmosphere from all guests.
Our trip purpose was rock climbing and this is an excellent location, lots within walking distance. A car is needed (ignore the rockfax advice and grading for climbs!) in order to get to supermarket and around.
Wine and beer available on site at very reasonable rate.
Wifi available free of charge on site.
Overall, perfect and spot on for anyone enjoying the outdoors.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Address: Los Romerales | El Chorro, Alora, 29552 El Chorro, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > El Chorro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Chorro
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.