We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The friendliest place in El Chorro!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Branch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in El Chorro
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Olive Branch
Save
You added The Olive Branch to your Saves list
Los Romerales | El Chorro, Alora, 29552 El Chorro, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 El Chorro B&B and Inns
Wincanton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“The friendliest place in El Chorro!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the olive branch for four days whilst house hunting in the area, it's a great place to stay. The views are stunning, the accommodation perfect and the ambience is catching. But the best thing are people, Mel and Gary are the perfect hosts, friendly and informative but not overbearing, Roy and Amelio are stars and cook up a lovely breakfast and a mean veggie curry! Cheers guys!

Would stay again in a heartbeat and the community feel and friendliness is one of the reasons we will be buying in the area very soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
6
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a totally brilliant time at The Olive Branch. It is the sort of place where you can tell Mel and Gary are doing it for the love as well as for the money; they are completely immersed in offering their guests a fantastic experience and doing this comes naturally to them. They really take the time to chat and share things with their guests, making you feel like you belong as soon as you arrive. I really loved all the animals too - two really great dogs, a number of cats and even some cute chicks.

Everything you might need is provided; a station pick-up, a massive kitchen and a great swim pool, as well as things you might have forgotten such as shower gel and sun cream.

It was handy to be able to borrow climbing equipment too. We'll definitely come again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Everthing perfect: the room, the pool, the food, the hospitality, the area. Either if you'd like to hike or just to relax, this is definately the place to stay in the heart of Andalusia. I would come back and highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed here on 2 seperate occasions in June and loved it both times. Mel and Gary really have created a relaxed atmosphere where you almost feel 'at home'. The propery is lovely and has an amazing view over the valleys. All the activities are really close by, all the facilities are kept lovely and clean and the kitchen has everything you could need. I camped both times and loved it. Had loads of foam mats in the tent so it was super comfy and the sound of the bells round the sheeps necks in the distance at night was so peaceful. I would recommend this place to anyone whether you want an apartment or camping.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tramore, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed with Mel and Gary last week and I loved it. The room was beautiful and the breakfast superb. 2 very friendly hosts and their place is perfect for anyone wishing to explore the area or tackle the Camino del Rey for which they have a very competent and friendly guide in Roy. I will definitely be back to stay with them again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

stayed here again this year for a week, as per last year Garry and Mel were excellant hosts, sociable but left you too yourself unless you required.
stunning views and excellant base for climbing , hiking etc the surrounding area .

Cheers Luke

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Mel and Gary have put together a great base for climbers: Las Encantadas is a five minute walk away and most of Frontales is a 20 minute warm-up walk. The atmosphere is great and there are always people there willing to share beta, a rope or just "the craic". The breakfasts were great and if Charly is still there making cakes then that's all the climbing food you'll ever need. I had a great time, even when the rain arrived and will stay there next time I climb at el Chorro.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the room next to the common-room if you are into early starts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Olive Branch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Olive Branch

Address: Los Romerales | El Chorro, Alora, 29552 El Chorro, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > El Chorro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in El Chorro
Number of rooms: 5

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Branch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.