We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the Flying Chestnut

the Flying Chestnut
199 Pellisier st, Eugenia, Ontario N0C 1E0, Canada
(519) 924-1809
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Eugenia
Cuisines: Canadian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Barrie, ON
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Incredible!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Just attended a wedding catered by the Flying Chestnut Kitchen. The food was incredible. Not a detail was overlooked. Everyone at our table was thrilled. Each menu option was delicious, and staff was wonderful! Every guest at our table can't wait to visit the restaurant.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    9
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ontario
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“My new favourite place! You have to eat here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

As you enter this incedible restaurant you are greated by the owner and serving staff. The restaurant seats 35-40 people. I had the most amazing brunch here. The menu was limited but one should always find something to enjoy. I chose the short stack of pancakes covered in apples stewed in maple syrup and cinnamon, homemade bacon, home fries, fresh fruit and a wonderful green salad. It was such a huge meal I could finish it.

I cannot wait to return for dinner in the very near future.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The food is spectacular, the ambiance is so quaint and cozy and ecclectic...you'll love it!!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Mountains, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Fun Eclectic Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Thank you to Chef Shawn for bringing his amazing culinary talents to the Honey Moon Capital of Grey County Euginia Falls. We celebrated our 28th wedding anniversary with our kids and had some the best well priced food we have had in quite a while. The West Grey Premium beef NY Strips were cooked to perfection, and served along with plenty of perfectly steamed veg and starch. Save room for desert the home made Maple Ice Cream and Berries are A1. One thing lacking is a broader wine selection that said the wine on hand was very palletable.Our server was fantastic and very accomodating. thanks Shawn and company for a wonderful evening and food experience. Oh yeah bring cash or your debt card onsite ATM as the Chestnut isn't aiding the plastic robber barrons.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“interesting food, funky atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

Fun food, generous servings, funky atmosphere. Nice to
be fed by a real chef in a pretty cool setting off the beaten track.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the Flying Chestnut also viewed

Flesherton, Grey County
Flesherton, Grey County
 
Flesherton, Grey County
Eugenia, Grey County
 

Been to the Flying Chestnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the Flying Chestnut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.