We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very Happy Christmas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Haddon Grove Farm Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Over Haddon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Haddon Grove Farm Cottages
Save
You added Haddon Grove Farm Cottages to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   B5055 Monyash Road | Nr Over Haddon, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A very Happy Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

13 of us stayed at Haddon Grove 10 in the Farmhouse and 3 in one of the cottages all of us had a very enjoyable time, the bottles of Cava and chocolates that had been left for our arrival were a nice touch.
The farmhouse was very well equipped and had been set up for all of us to eat together at mealtimes. The Christmas Turkey was cooked in the oven of the other cottage but as the properties are all close to each other this did not cause a problem.
The bedrooms in both the properties were spacious and have good storage facilities the only slight negative is that there is no shower attachment in the Farmhouse family bathroom however as there are 2 other shower rooms this is not a major problem.
We made use of all the facilities in the leisure centre the pool was very popular with the younger members of the group, we borrowed books, dvd's and games all of which helped to keep us all entertained. The location of the cottages is good just outside Bakewell during our stay we visited Chatsworth house and can heartily recommend the produce from the Farm shop.
None of us would hesitate to stay here again if we are visiting the Peak District

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

21 of us stayed in 6 of the Haddon Grove cottages last weekend and everybody was so impressed. They are cosy, well-equipped and the owners set out one cottage especially so we could all eat together. The location is great- feels quite wild but is actually very close to Bakewell. We had a lovely long walk on Saturday from the front door and a swim in the pool when we got back. All perfect! Highly recommended for any size group.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaddonGroveFarm, Owner at Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, responded to this review, November 12, 2011
Very glad you had such a good time with us - thank you for your positive feedback. We have several cottages set up to accommodate groups (up to 25 to sit and eat together at one time). All our 11 cottages are in very close proximity allowing you to have lots of time together as well as your own space! We look forward to welcoming you back to Haddon Grove Farm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge,England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked the Pevril cottage as a very last minute break to the Peak District. From start to finish the whole experience was great. James arranged the booking within a few minutes and we were lucky enough to arrive the next day. On arrival the cottage was warm, cosy, and the table laid ready for us - perfect after a long drive. We found the cottage to be well equipped, bed and duvet were fantastic - unusual in holiday rentals we have previously stayed in. The pint of milk in the fridge on arrival was also a nice touch.The pool was heated to a great temperature, our 18 month old son loved this. Overall I would thoroughly recommend this location, our only complaint was that we could not stay longer. We will def be back again soon! Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Facilities are complete, the cottage and location exceeded our expectation.
Will come back for future stay.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We booked 'Sycamore' at Haddon Grove as a bit of a last minute booking and in an area we had never visited before. On arrival, we were met by the owner and were shown straight to our cottage. It was very clean with fresh flowers, milk, coffee etc and even sweets for the children.The cottage was modern and comfortable but still keeping old features and so was quaint and cosy. The photos on the web site don't do it justice, and the place had plenty of room and was very quiet at night and during the day.
We had one little problem getting the free-sat tv to work, but the owners were very helpful and got it sorted really quick and without hassle. The cottage was well heated throughout and the beds and seats were very comfortable.
As far as amenities, my children loved the pool and were in there every day, normally having it to themselves. Also, the games room was a great hit with them and the dvd and games 'library' were most appreciated.
In terms of location, the place is far enough out to feel like being out in the country, but is near enough to villages so that you aren't cut off. Nearby Bakewell was a lovely little place offering everything you could need. The owners had also provided loads of information on the area ranging from leaflets on places to their own thoughts on what they recommend ... and they recommended some cracking places.
All in all we had a fabulous relaxing holiday, but found loads to do in the area without having to drive for hours. Some of the local walks and bike rides go through stunning countryside and even our children appreciated the views.
We would definitely consider visiting there again as we don't have any negative comments at all regarding the cottage, the area, or the way the owners were on hand to help and look after us.
Thank you very much James and Louise.

Room Tip: Some people have mentioned traffic noise - we stayed in Sycamore and didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We stayed for a week at "The Farmhouse" in Aug 2011. We had a very nice time & would definitely consider it again for our family holiday.
It is situated in a wonderful area with lots of things to do within a short distance.
The cottage itself was spacious, comfortable & just as described on their website. A welcome pack of basic essential things was definitely appreciated.
In addition to the cottage, the "leisure centre" was fun & helpful.
We had a fault with one of the showers & that was promptly replaced the same morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

We have just returned from a week in Riber Cottage, what a lovely place. The cottage is spotlessly clean, very spacious and very well equipped. The location is very good for the surrounding villages and places to visit. The swimming pool, pool table and table tennis table was a big hit with my two children, age 6 and 9. Nice little touches in the cottage like laying the large kitchen table ready for breakfast, fresh flowers and milk in the fridge.
I would recommend Riber cottage to anyone, we will defiantly be back.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haddon Grove Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddon Grove Farm Cottages

Address: B5055 Monyash Road | Nr Over Haddon, Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell > Over Haddon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Over Haddon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Haddon Grove Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury self-catering accommodation with indoor heated swimming pool in the heart of the Peak District. Converted farmhouse and barns providing 11 very comfortable and well-equipped cottages. All renovated to high standard with new bathrooms and kitchens (most with dishwashers). Perfect for groups, get-togethers and families. Short breaks outside school holidays. Pets welcome in most cottages. Fantastic location 2 miles from Bakewell with easy access to all main Peak District attractions. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haddon Grove Farm Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.