We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Batemans Mill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Batemans Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Batemans Mill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Tupton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed at the Batemans hotel for one night whilst on a trip to the Dales.
This is a lovely building, in a quiet spot. The room we had was large and very nice, we could only get a twin bedded room, and whilst comfortable the mattress was slightly lumpy.
We had a fantastic meal in the restaurant, the meals are large and well presented.
Cooked breakfast was nice, and the chef did an omelette for me, which was lovely
Definitely would stay here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    45
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
33
72
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Having stayed in Derbyshire many times, over many years, we have stayed in some excellent places - but this was one of 'the very best' in terms of everything.

Comfortable, clean, relaxing, excellent food, friendly and helpful staff, - you need look no further you've found it all with this.

Very enjoyable stay - Will we be back ? - ABSOLUTELY.

John & Diane Bailey.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful old mill house very well kept. Warm and welcoming with genuinely friendly staff. Easy parking. Fantastic space in family room. Value for money restaurant. Had the lamb roast which was generous portion and full of flavour. Cooked breakfast was fresh and well presented. We would be happy to return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My sister's and I came to Derbyshire to visit Chatsworth House which was only a short drive away.
The hotel is in a lovely quite lane with only very local traffic, we had 2 twin rooms which where a good size the towels where lovely and white also very fluffy the room had an iron and board and good toiletries due to having a large lunch we only wanted something light in the evening so we decide to just have a starter which was really good. The staff are really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was really good, the hotel is very clean as where our rooms my only moan is the pillows are a bit flat and hard but apart from that we had a great stay and if we are in that part of the world again I would book to stay there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

4 of us decided to go out for Sunday lunch..there is only 1 place...Batemans Mill! We got a warm friendly greeting,great service and best of all delicious food.We have been here many time before and I'm know we will be back again and again!!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came with friends to walk the Derbyshire hills and based ourselves here for two nights. Our room was large, well-furnished and quiet, with accessories like an iron, a hairdryer and adequate toiletries. From the busy kitchen came hearty, generously served and well prepared dishes, many based on local produce. Wine was fairly priced, albeit restricted in range. The staff were charming, accepted special requests and made us feel welcome throughout. We are now happy to know what a Derbyshire oatcake is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Used this hotel for a family get together, and can honestly say we all thought the place was fantastic. Its in a very quiet location, but within 10mins drive of Matlock, with some fantastic views nearby.
The rooms are spacious and clean,
The food in the restaurant is superb.
The whole place is very pleasant, spacious and welcoming.
We would not hesitate to use this hotel again and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of spending some time in the area.

Room Tip: The "Superior Double" room is well worth the extra £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batemans Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batemans Mill Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Old Tupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Tupton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Batemans Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Batemans Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batemans Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.