We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batemans Mill Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Batemans Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Batemans Mill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Tupton B&B and Inns
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tasty food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

4 of us decided to go out for Sunday lunch..there is only 1 place...Batemans Mill! We got a warm friendly greeting,great service and best of all delicious food.We have been here many time before and I'm know we will be back again and again!!

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    38
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
61
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We came with friends to walk the Derbyshire hills and based ourselves here for two nights. Our room was large, well-furnished and quiet, with accessories like an iron, a hairdryer and adequate toiletries. From the busy kitchen came hearty, generously served and well prepared dishes, many based on local produce. Wine was fairly priced, albeit restricted in range. The staff were charming, accepted special requests and made us feel welcome throughout. We are now happy to know what a Derbyshire oatcake is.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hindley
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Used this hotel for a family get together, and can honestly say we all thought the place was fantastic. Its in a very quiet location, but within 10mins drive of Matlock, with some fantastic views nearby.
The rooms are spacious and clean,
The food in the restaurant is superb.
The whole place is very pleasant, spacious and welcoming.
We would not hesitate to use this hotel again and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of spending some time in the area.

Room Tip: The "Superior Double" room is well worth the extra £10
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my mums 70th birthday. 20 people for lunch time meal. Excellent service, food (great yorkshire pudding) and venue. Excellent value for money. Couldn't do enough for us. Thankyou Ashley for looking after us making sure mum had a lovely day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has clean, good size rooms. Lovely setting and a pleasant atmosphere. Good food is served in the bar or resteraunt. It has plenty if parking outside and wi fi can be used in public areas. There is also a large function room upstairs which is ideal for wedding etc... The location is excellent for local walks to
Matlock and Ashover or if you want to go further afield it is a great setting for exploring the Peak District national park and all surrounding walks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Saw the advert for the vintage fair and afternoon tea, booked in a few days before over the phone. Staff were super friendly and helped to get my disabled friend up and downstairs. Tea was fabulous, a perfect ratio of sandwiches and cakes. Enjoyed a lovely pink lemonade and a prosecco for my friend. All the sandwiches were dainty with the crusts cut off and freshly made. Delightful scones and fabulous little petit fours. Would highly recommend a visit for afternoon tea and hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Stayed a couple of nights here in an upgraded room. The welcome we received was a little clinical, a few more smiles would have been nice, but we were given all the information we needed and asked if we wanted to reserve a table for dinner etc. The restaurant food was excellent; borderline superb. We thoroughly enjoyed dinner, although breakfast was not quite as good, but still very nice and in plentiful supply. I was a but surprised to find no-one on duty in the restaurant and we had to wait a good five minutes before someone appeared to show us to a table. This was on a Friday night, too.

The room was very clean and tidy, with plenty of space for our belongings. We were disappointed with the flat pillows (only one of the four on our double bed had any life left in it). What really let the room down, though, was the noisy water pipes and hopeless water pressure making our evening and morning showers very unpleasant.

With a wide choice of hotels in the area, many at lower prices, I doubt we would stay again. We enjoyed our stay, but it could have been so much better.

Room Tip: I would assume that rooms on the ground floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Batemans Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batemans Mill Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Old Tupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Tupton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Batemans Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Batemans Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batemans Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.