We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a friendly place” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Batemans Mill Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Batemans Mill Hotel to your Saves list
Batemans Mill Hotel
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Old Tupton B&B and Inns
england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“not a friendly place”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

i booked a weekend for my partner and a friend who we were catching up with asked if they accepted dogs they said yes was told there was a area in the bar we could take the dog (who is very well behaved )
we arrived having been quoted a price then say a deal offered at certain times on there board so asked about that and was told it wasnt available as we were the only guests in the hotel i thought that was a bit mean and we were likely to be spending a lot at the bar but it wasnt available then after spending in excess of 100 on ameal were then told that there was no late bar rooms were clean apart from having six bags of laundry to climb over outside our room it felt like it was to much bother for us to be there the bill came to over 500 pounds for two nights so not cheap food was luke warm when it arrived and staff were friend ly but not a place i would recommend

  • Liked — nothing really very un memorable
  • Disliked — ditto
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    38
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
26
61
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

My wife & I stayed here for one night, and chose it because of it's proximity to Hardwick Hall. We had a very large room, with large ensuite bathroom and all the usual amenities (plus digital TV). We had dinner in the bar and while the food was very good, the service was a little slow. Not a major problem, but I think it was because we ate relatively early. However, breakfast was a little disappointing. We had eaten cooked breakfasts all week and so had a continental breakfast for change. The fruit was quite average, and the croissants were small and only microwaved to heat them up (so they were soggy rather than flaky). Certainly not up to the standard of dinner the night before! All in all, and despite the breakfast (the cooked breakfast could be fabulous for all we know) we thought Batemans Mill was a good hotel and can recommend it to others.

  • Disliked — The continental breakfast
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Dublin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2007

My sister-in-law (in a single room), and my wife and I stayed here for four nights, while we visited three of Britain's most interesting and beautiful country houses (Hardwick, Haddon Hall and Chatsworth). Batemans is perfectly located for this, and provides very good value for money--comfortable rooms, excellent breakfasts, varied dinner menus and, above all, attentive personal service from the owners.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2006

A renovated water mill whose owners provide a really warm welcome and excellent hospitality in an area not usually associated with comfort and fine dining. I was particularly impressed by the care taken to enusre that my elderly mother's needs were catered for -disabled parking, a room on the ground floor and the immediate offer to serve breakfast downstairs in the bar/brasserie area. She could not have been better looked after.

The dinner, which can be taken in the dining room on the first floor or in the bar as you please, was of a very high standard for a hotel, served piping hot and cooked to perfection. I had pan-fried scallops followed by rump of lamb both of which can easily be ruined by over-cooking - these weren't. Breakfast was included in the room price and I can't remeber when I have enjoyed a better one away from home. An extensive menu which is all freshly cooked to order. How often do you see smoked haddock or kippers on the menu these days, let alone salmon and crab fishcakes or pancakes? Wonderful full English with top quality sausages and bacon.

Any downside? Ask for directions from the motorway if you're not local and lack satnav. The ground floor rooms are the last awaiting renovation, decor a bit tired so not a 5-star from me but fully equipped with tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board, hairdryer etc. Thoroughly recommended..

  • Liked — Very friendly, great food.
  • Disliked — Tired decor on in the ground floor bedrooms
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for directions if you're not local
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2006

we stayed here recently and had a great time, the familly that run the hotel could not do more to help. Would definately recommend to anyone wanting to stay in a friendly, small family run hotel.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batemans Mill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batemans Mill Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Old Tupton, Chesterfield S42 6AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Old Tupton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Old Tupton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Batemans Mill Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Batemans Mill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batemans Mill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.