We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful friendly place to stay. especially for families.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cowclose Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cowclose Farm to your Saves list
Cowclose Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Overgreen | Cutthorpe, Cutthorpe, Chesterfield S42 7BA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Cutthorpe B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderful friendly place to stay. especially for families.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

we loved staying here. the cottages were comfortable with beds we all slept well in! the situation was beautiful with views from the garden over the hills. the garden was lovely for small children with wendy house and small swings. It was also great for dog owners ! The welcome and friendliness of the owners was very warm and they were always helpful. We were staying prior to family wedding and using both properties to let and their B&B rooms with people coming and going, visitors popping over and they were always welcoming . We will definately visit again at a more peaceful time in our lives!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East anglia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

I want to stay at Cowclose again when I am in the Peak District ,if it gets too popular ,then I won't be able to-- ,so I won't tell you about the spotlessly clean , wonderfully warm, exceptionally comfortable cottages.I shan't mention the excellent location for sightseeing , the beautiful walk around the reservoirs at the bottom of the fields .I certainly wouldn't tell you about the hearty breakfasts or the lovely welcoming touches that make this one of the best and most comfortable cottages that we have stayed in . And if you are looking for a place to stay in the Peak District then I would not think to tell you about the excellent pubs and restaurants within the vicinity (including one across the road ) in case you want to book the same week that I want !!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

We stayed for 1 night in the B&B, we were hoping for somewhere homely, great views, good food and piece and quiet. Thats exactly what we got. Welcomed on arrival with Tea and cake in the guest lounge. Our room was lovely and clean and spacious even with the additional bed that we requested for our 7 year old daughter. The toiletries in the on-suite bathroom were of an exceptionally high standard containing only natural ingredients and pure essential oils. Cowclose farm is in an excellent location for exploring the picturesque Peak District whether on foot or like us visiting the market towns. Only wished we had booked to stay a little longer.
Pip, Mick & Jasmine Riley, Stoke on Trent

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

we booked the" swallows" for my family as we were attending my granddaughters christening, everything spotless and very comfortable, a real home from home, Barbara and Allan are really nice people and very helpful. we will certainly be back for another stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This is one of the nicest places I have stayed ever. Its a beautiful family own farm. We were on vacation from the US and wanted a feel for the countryside. We loved every minute of our stay. Our breakfast in the morning was prepared with care and was a very good traditional English breakfast. If we travel to Chesterfield again. We will definatly stay here. Everything from the beds to the bathrooms were spotless. It was like being in your own home.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The b&b is family owned and run, very warm welcome, in a quiet location with a beautiful view, and very close to Bakewell and Chatsworth. The Rose room is very spacious, double facing, fully equipped, immaculately clean. Same for the bathroom, which is tiny but has everything you need (toiletries etc) and is really, really spotless. You can choose the breakfast from a menu, there's a lot of choice and we found it really good (more oriented on british, earthy food, than continental...as you would expect! :-). There is a pub right on the other side of the road, and a living room for all the guests. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Glos
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

Have just returned from a 3 night stay at Cowclose Farm where we received a very warm welcome from Barbara. The accomodation is exceptionally clean,breakfast very good with Barbara's home made jams ,I even had fresh raspberries from her garden.
All in all excellent value for money in a lovely location.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cowclose Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cowclose Farm

Address: Overgreen | Cutthorpe, Cutthorpe, Chesterfield S42 7BA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Chesterfield > Cutthorpe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Cutthorpe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cowclose Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits guests at our spacious stone farmhouse. We have 2 guestrooms - the Rose Rose (en-suite, either superking bed or twin beds, extra beds possible) and the Orchid Room (twin with separate private bathroom). Children welcome. Breakfasts from local and homemade produce. Pub/restaurant nearby. Lovely views and gardens. Situated in quiet area on eastern edge of Peak District, ideal for visiting Chatsworth and Hardwick Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Cowclose Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowclose Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.