We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Millennium Resort Mussanah

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Millennium Resort Mussanah to your Saves list
Millennium Resort Mussanah
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Wudham Al Sahil | P.O. Box 82, Al Mussanah 300, Oman   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Mussanah
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Wonderfully relaxing location, beautiful setting, amazing views. Great food, both buffet and from the menu. Helpful restaurant staff. Free wifi, although signal strength in my room was poor (I was at the end of a corridor). In the lobby and restaurant it was fine. Great room, plenty of power sockets, comfortable bed and pillows, spacious bathroom with good supply of soap etc. Pool area very clean and plenty of space, right next to vast expanse of untouched beach. Gym small and not in main hotel building, but fine and kept v clean. Unfortunately it didn't open until 7am, so not possible to use it before going off to work.

Room Tip: If you want a good wifi signal, get a room near the elevators, not at the end of a corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    117
    37
    21
    6
See reviews for
80
92
9
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I tried very hard not to give this hotel a negative review, after all the hotel furnishings and facilities are good so what went wrong?

It took me a while to understand what the problem was, the hotel has no soul and there is no centre to the hotel of this standard to sit in comfort and people watch. The reception area that they do have is small and bitty and doesn’t invite you to sit there for any length of time.

Architecturally the hotel isn’t very functional it’s difficult to explore the hotel and its grounds which is not helped in the summer when its very hot. I was told there was a pool but it got so hot at 8am I gave up and will drive round the adjoining building later to go to the gym and see where the pool is.
I woke up on my second day to drilling and banging and so it appears the hotel isn’t finished so why have they opened, well I guess they need the revenue.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and of course the hotel’s failing is not their fault as the management need to bring revenue in. Considering the location of the hotel in the middle of nowhere with no local attractions and while the hotel brochure advises the mileage to Muscat add another 15kms to those figures.

While not a big issue in itself when you are already at the limit with the brochure mileage this is just very frustrating when it turns out the distances are just incorrect and the road is full of roadworks (obviously not the hotels fault).

The rooms are not fully carpeted and the rug and and chair in my room was heavily stained and it looked like no attempt has been made to clean the stains off. I began to notice a few things wrong with the cleaning but let them pass but then noticed dirt in the bathroom and a leaking toilet and dirt around and under the furniture so I have lost confidence in all of the cleaning.

Considering the weather I don’t understand why the architect has not provided some link between the outside and the inside where the temperatures and humidity are controlled and in a garden area. The gardens are nice but not much to them and the banging has started again as I write. I’m really struggling to be more positive about this hotel and if it wasn’t for having a deal on the hotel then I would probably go and complain, which I might still do.

Breakfast is average the dining room is nothing special.

On a good note I love the art deco lights in the rooms and the mirror but the rest of the design sucks and as usual when an architect goes to modernity some of it just doesn’t work such as the difficult bath to get in and out of with no handle to help, no soap dish but a lovely sink, taps and wall tiles ruined by a loose tile for the floor drain next to the hairs that had accumulated behind the toilet. In fact this made me look at all the room corners and they hadn’t been cleaned for some time, nor under the near face of the bedside tables and stains on the tiles that could have/should have been removed.

The architect in the ground floor areas is very impressive but not the lounge area? Oh the internet is excellent.

Room Tip: Away from the building work taking place above the third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have a 2-week stay in this hotel during a business trip to Oman and my experience has been good. The staff are genuinely friendly (as are the Omanis overall) and the room is comfortable. Although I haven't used the swimming pool or beach facilities, they look to be very inviting. I recommend this establishment for both business and vacation. I don't believe that you would be disappointed. The hotel is approximately a 1-hour drive from Muscat.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Spent a weekend at the Millennium recently with my wife and had an excellent time. The hotel opened in 2010 so still looks good. The grounds are well maintained and it's easy to find from the main road (although a couple more road signs would have helped). We booked a sea view and had a room on the 5th floor overlooking the small marina. Although the room wasn't huge it was very comfortable and had plenty of storage space. We spent most of our time at the pool of which there are three - two infinity pools and a larger swimming pool. Even though the Friday did get busy there were still plenty of sunbeds available. The pool has a small bar selling drinks and snacks. Went for the buffet in the Marjan restaurant on both evenings and the food was fantastic. Very well presented, a good choice and freshly cooked all for a reasonable OMR14. Breakfast on both days was also great and the chefs were happy to cook things for you on the fly. We asked for a late checkout and were able to stay until 3pm on our last day with no extra charge. All in all a great stay. The staff were very friendly, both in the restaurant and around the hotel and we felt got value for money. We'll certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Go for a sea view room - it's only OMR10 more but it's well worth the extra cost for the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The Hotel is located just 1 hour drive from Oman's capital Muscat and around 3 hours drive from Dubai. It is easily accessible and can be reached via car as well as via plane (arriving in Muscat Int. Airport). The food that is served for Breakfast , Lunch or Dinner is outstanding and I haven't had such great variety, quality and value for money in a long time (mind you we are living in Dubai and are a bit spoiled when it comes to hotels and service).

The german chef greeted us personally and offered us to order special items if required. They have gluten free bread (which was brilliant since my company is allergic to gluten) and they can make almost everything to order. And since there is a good variety of activities you can do to get rid of extra calories , dont miss out on their pastries ; they are really good and rare in the region.

The hotel has 2 pools out of which one has almost olympic length which will allow you to swim proper laps after enjoying the lavish breakfast buffet or after you had too much of the BBQ food that they serve on Thursdays. There is also a pool for the kids which will guarantee you some quality time with the little ones in the plunge pool.

If you need even more calories burned, try out their Gym. It's not gigantic, but the equipment is brand new and they have everything you need for a good workout. You might need to switch on the Air condition, which was switched off when we first worked out - as you can imagine it got pretty hot with outside temperatures of 30+ degrees.

The hotel sits right on the beach with a Marina in front of it ; which will give you a nice view out on the sea and you can watch some of the boats moving in and out. Should you get bored watching the waves come and go , do what we did:

We found out that they have an 18 hole Mini golf course , which is fun to play in a group or as couple. It should also be good fun when you have your loved ones or kids with. The course is not as challenging as a real 18 hole golf course (which you can find in Muscat) , but it is for sure worth while and we had great fun playing it.

The staff are very hospitable, friendly and service orientated. Due to the fact that Oman is focussing on having local businesses employing local staff, English sometimes is a tiny bit of an issue, which you will overcome with just repeating your questions or enquiries one more time. Once that is sorted , the speed and attentiveness of the staff and the quality of their service are second to none, even compared to 5 star hotels in the Emirates.

With a PADI Dive center on site, the place if perfect for a week or weekend of diving. Operated by Oman Sail, the dive center is not only equipped with state of the art equipment but has one of the best dive boats that I have seen so far in the region. Build specifically for the dive center it has everything you need. Fresh water showers, Toilet, TFT screen to check your photos and videos right at the dive site etc. The crew was super nice and adjusted their dive plans and dive sites according to the weather and the wishes of the guest.

If you are a diver, check out Damaniyat Islands , Oman.
There is also a short diving video that I found http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rGhOFB29gis

We got lucky and could use their Summer Rates which offered a great value for money deal. If you are living in the UAE and Oman, you could also check with them if they offer residence rates or have any other special offers for weekends or during Summer time.

We / I am travelling quite frequently internationally and are usually very demanding especially if the stay is not one of the usual business trips but a long awaited break or vacation. This hotel and its staff really earned our review and is a good example that you can be a 5 star property with 5 star service and food , even if you only have 4 stars on the door sign.

Room Tip: We stayed here often, but we liked the rooms on the 3rd floor , seaview, located away from the towar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were at the Millenium Resort Mussanah over the last weekend (06-07 June, 2013). The drive from Dubai to Oman was wonderful except for the 4 hours wait at the Oman immigration. But, the wait at the immigration was worth it, as the Hotel was superb experience. We had good reception with understaning staff, excellent dinner Asian buffet, good spacious room with the sea view (free upgrade) and the best part was the water sport activities. My family enjoyed the two stay completely it was welcome break and Millenium made sure we were taken care of completely. A special thanks to the hotel GM for taking extra care for making sure everything was right.

Room Tip: Choose the sea view room, the morning serene view will give you super start to enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I really like the resort .
The staff was too hospitable.
Since we reached little early they let us do an early check in .
The Resort is away from Muscat but self sufficient to spend a weekend.
Large swimming pool , Mini golf, beach access , water sports , i completely enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Millennium Resort Mussanah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Resort Mussanah

Address: Wudham Al Sahil | P.O. Box 82, Al Mussanah 300, Oman
Location: Oman > Muscat Governorate > Al Mussanah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Al Mussanah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Millennium Resort Mussanah 4.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of the Gulf of Oman, Millennium Resort Mussanah blends vivid Arabian and Asian themes to provide a unique and memorable getaway resort on the coast of Al Batinah. The lifestyle destination resort is just 45 minutes from Muscat International Airport and close to the neighbouring cities of Barka and Sohar. With panoramic views of the sea, the resort has something for everyone and caters for seafaring guests with a private 54-berth marina, conferencing facilities for discerning business visitors, offers a diverse range of sports activities for leisure travellers and luxurious pools with exclusive beach access for holidaymakers. Guests can relax in idyllic surroundings and take in all of the spectacular natural beauty that the Sultanate of Oman has to offer.Millennium Resort Mussanah features 234 luxurious accommodating hotel rooms in a range of options to suit every need including Deluxe, Executive and Junior Suites, 74 fully-furnished serviced apartments or residences comprising of studios and one bedroom and two bedroom duplex apartments. Each room offers impressive views of Al Hajar Mountains, the Marina or the Gulf of Oman. The resort also offers a choice of culinary options including a poolside bar open until sunset, modern lounge, à la carte restaurant and a welcoming buffet all with private terraces facing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Millennium Resort Mussanah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Resort Mussanah Hotel Al Mussanah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Millennium Resort Mussanah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.