We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and facilities, staff very polite and welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keepers Lane, Leavenheath CO6 4PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel and facilities, staff very polite and welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend for a spa break, arrived early to make the most of our stay. Straight to the spa where there was a table reserved for us, offered a free drink whilst looking through the lunch menu. The pool and facilities were nice along with the food, I had a half hour massage which was great, the girl knew what she was doing and knowledgable about muscles, tension etc,
We stayed the night at the hotel room 303, views of the lake and golf course, very pleased.
Dinner was just as good three course meal with very friendly staff, was very impressed with one in particular as the table next to us didn't like a starter so he changed it to something different, nothing was too much. We were also lucky with the weather so took a walk near the golf course, beautiful grounds.

I could go on, I have stayed at 3 spas local and we were both very impressed with the short break.

I recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for posting comments about your spa break. Sounds like you had the right idea getting in early to make the most of it all. The massages here are lovely – our therapists are very talented. Thanks again for your recommendation and I hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    141
    53
    28
    11
See reviews for
56
188
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

The rooms are clean, and are a nice place to stay in, the food in the restaurant, is superb, all credit to the chef, probably goes down as one of the best meals I have had!
The staff in the bar, special mention goes to Kellie and Stuart who looked after us and nothing was to much trouble, a credit to the hotel, the reception staff were very pleasant, and I would recommend this place to anyone.
Now the golf club, firstly the staff are rude, and not very welcoming, everything was to much trouble, and their attitude did not change until we spent £120 on buggies!
We had breakfast on the first morning in the clubhouse bar all eight of us, it was all piled on to one small plate, £8.50 not even any toast, and was really not very nice, the bar area in here was only to be described as absolutely filthy, the carpet looked at the bar as though it had not been cleaned for weeks, could not see through the windows as they were so smeared.
We had this break for the golf, really enjoyed the hotel and the constable course, but we all felt that the golf course and areas around the clubhouse were not up to standard, it will be stretched to its limits in busy periods, shame as the courses are ok.
The very good rating is for the hotel,and staff, it would have been poor for the golf side, just wanted to be made to feel welcome!

Room Tip: Rooms from 300 are top floor and you would get less noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We came with family for afternoon tea, we were seated in the dining room overlooking the Terrace and lake and it was a stunning view. We had a selection of sandwiches, cakes and scones served with clotted cream and jam. The cakes and scones were superb, we have had tea at the Ritz in London and have to say that this was better especially the scones which were mouth watering. The Staff were very friendly and informative and it was a most enjoyable visit. We would certainly like to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
What an excellent review! Thank you very much. All credit for the cakes and scones must go to our incredible team of chefs who really do pull out all the stops where our food offering is concerned. Please do visit again. If you liked the Afternoon Tea, you’ll love our 2 AA Rosette Lakes Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed 2 nights with my mum who is in a wheelchair. Was disappointed the disabled friendly room I had booked was not available. It was just hard work for me to make sure I was around to help mum on and off the toilet and around the room. So I could not leave mum for long. The Receptionist was very helpful and was put in a disabled friendly room the next day. Some places were not accessible by the wheelchair. And wasn't told there was a ramp they could put down until we were leaving. Staff also not sure how to use them. The bar staff were extremely helpful.My nephew's wedding went very well. The staff that served dinner and got disco ready was very impressive. A great place for getting married.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your nephew's wedding! I am sorry that you had some difficulty during the first part of your stay. I do hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the mix up with the hotel room and I am glad the staff rectified it quickly for you. We would love to have you visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here for an overnight golfbreak & what a great set up. A lovely hotel with great staff, warm welcoming & efficient.
Food was reasonable & bar prices ok.
2 brilliantly designed golf courses which were not in the best condition after the wet winter but were still a pleasure to play.
We'll be back in the Summer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thanks for posting your comments about your golf break. Glad you enjoyed the food and the courses. A visit during the summer is a must – with a little luck the weather will be more in our favour by then. Hope to see you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in March and we had a large executive room. The Spa was wondeful very quiet and relaxing and we wouldn't hesitate to go back. We ate in the restaurant one evening. it was very nice food but we like to go out and try different things so we ate in The Crown and The Angel Inn which were both above 5 minutes drive away from the hotel. I recommend both of them.

The breakfast was good, but I did expect more from a 4 star hotel such as cheese, cold meats etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for your review! I’m glad you had a relaxing stay during your 3-nights with us. There is a lot to do in the surrounding area so it is nice that you did get a chance to experience it. Please visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Very nice hotel, large room very clean. Swimming and other gym facilities exceptional. Staff very helpful. We were a bit disappointed in our bar meal in the evening, thought it over priced for scampi and chips, and my husband sent his back because it was a soggy mess.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Your review is very much appreciated – thank you. I’m happy to hear that you found the pool and gym facilities to be exceptional. Maybe you’ll try a spa treatment (or two) if you visit again. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath CO6 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered to be the finest venue of its kind in East Anglia, Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa offers 80 luxury hotel rooms, two 18-hole championship golf courses, together with a range of function rooms for weddings, business or corporate meetings, conferences and team building. The hotel also boasts a fully featured spa, gym and fitness facilities and is the perfect venue for spa treatments, pamper days or luxury spa breaks. Located within an area of outstanding natural beauty this is simply an idyllic place to relax and explore the stunning Constable countryside surrounding the hotel, along with the many places of historic interest and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.