We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended by friends, good facilities but pretty average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keepers Lane, Leavenheath CO6 4PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Recommended by friends, good facilities but pretty average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Golf n spa facilities, huge rooms but nothing special. Comfy bed, clean room, large warm pool, steam room, sauna and Jaccuzi - grouting could do with a good scrub, damp visible along corridor to pool n being repaired. Beer flat n warm. Wasnt tempted to eat there. Lift not working. adequate, nothing special, Pretty much 3 star.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    141
    53
    28
    11
See reviews for
56
188
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at the Stoke by Nayland golf and spa hotel in July and had an excellent stay.All round the facilities on offer gives you plenty to do. The golf course's look very challenging,with plenty of lakes surrounding the holes. A nice size pool,squash courts and snooker tables make it a great location for the sporting type, only wish i was a few years younger,so i could have a go. Evening meal was of a very high quality,however breakfast was not in the same bracket.

Room Tip: Check with hotel for deals before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for posting a review of our Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here and by the sounds of it tried out a lot of our facilities! I am sorry you felt breakfast was not up to the same standard as our evening meal. We take all feedback very seriously so I will be sure to pass this feedback on to our Chef.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

My hubby and I had a fantastic night away at this amazing venue. The room was an excellent size as was the large comfy bed. The staff, helpful friendly and polite and nothing was too much trouble. This is the first place I have ever been to where the daily menu included food I could eat. No discussing an optional dish on the day but a well thought out menu that for once made feel included and with choice from each course! We had notified them when we booked but at best in the past with other venues I have had my own menu with one choice from each section. The spa facilities, clean with towels provided with the sauna and steam rooms spacious. A fabulous location to get away from it all and feel thoroughly spoilt.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! I am pleased you had such a lovely stay with us and will be sure to pass on your comments to the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Got a warm welcome from the reception staff bedroom was a very good size excellent views of the golf course. Restaurant was busy staff gave an excellent service and were very friendly nice to see staff that enjoyed there work. Hotel gave the feeling that everybody enjoyed there work. Would recommend this hotel

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. You have posted some really lovely comments about our staff and I will see to it that they know that their work was appreciated. Please come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We recently stayed here for a friends wedding and were delighted not only with the location but accommodation and staff.
The rooms for the wedding were excellent, a very nice size so we did not feel crammed in at all.
The food was delicious and served very quickly and efficiently while still hot.
The staff throughout were attentive, helpful and friendly and although they did not show it must have been as tired as us by the end of the evening.
At breakfast next day some staff were there again looking more refreshed than we did so top marks to them. Breakfast lovely glad we did not miss it.
Did not use the spa so cannot comment on it.
Would we go back and stay again, definitely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post such a thorough review. I hope that you had a lovely time at the wedding. Perhaps you can experience the spa when you visit us again? We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Second time at Stoke By Nayland and it did not disappoint. The staff were excellent, friendly and courteous. The food was top drawer whether in the golfers bar or the main restaurant. The room was extremely comfortable and worthy of the price. All this means a hotel that stands up against others in its own right, but when allied to the two excellent golf courses it is almost a must do venue for peoples bucket lists! I'll be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you so much for this incredible review! It is wonderful that you think our venue should be on bucket lists! I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff and I certainly hope we will be seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Me and my girlfriend went for a 2 day weekend part of a website deal for £99 which was great. We went in the hope that we could go out clubbing and have a girly weekend- we were mistaken.

The hotel is lovely and the staff were always asking if we needed anything. The bath and showers were lovely also, decorated to a decent standard. We had a lovely sleep, no issues. Walls seem soundproof too.

Location wise it is pretty much in the middle of nowhere and you will need a vehicle even if you want to go up to town. We were lucky enough to have a local cabbie take us round and he was really nice. I believe he does alot of work for them.

Breakfast was amazing and such a big variety- conflakes, fruits, cooked english breakfast, sausages were gorgeous- to be honest this was the highlight of the whole stay- the lovely breakfast.

We did try the restaurant - it was pricey- London prices basically. The food was ok, small portion however i think they were going for a posh look rather than gourmet as expected.

The hotel did seem to attract middle aged people and a lot of golfers- would be ideal if that is your thing. We went in January so the weather was way too cold and the hotel said we did need to book in advance.

The room had all modern stuff as expected- and even a bible and i think a buddha book which i found so interesting I wanted to take it home but my friend said I shouldnt so I didnt lol.

The cleaning service was not great I have to say- maybe because they didn't employ 'foreigners', they all seemed english- as they forgot to hoover our room- we had to request this to be done. The bath wasnt cleaned either so we just didnt bother to request them to come back a second time. In my opinion they had too many staff members in the bar area as most of the time they were almost begging for someone to attend to lol.

Would suit a romantic break for a couple. They had lovely fire places in the bar area which was much needed as it was freezing. We were both thinking about how much fun we could have had with our boyfriends instead whilst we were there which was a shame lol

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
What a detailed review! Thank you very much for taking the time to post this. I will make sure our chefs know that their breakfast menu was the highlight of your stay. Also, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our rooms and that you had a chance to relax by the fire in the Lounge Bar – January certainly was a cold month! Hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath CO6 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered to be the finest venue of its kind in East Anglia, Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa offers 80 luxury hotel rooms, two 18-hole championship golf courses, together with a range of function rooms for weddings, business or corporate meetings, conferences and team building. The hotel also boasts a fully featured spa, gym and fitness facilities and is the perfect venue for spa treatments, pamper days or luxury spa breaks. Located within an area of outstanding natural beauty this is simply an idyllic place to relax and explore the stunning Constable countryside surrounding the hotel, along with the many places of historic interest and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.