We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rob willingham” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa to your Saves list
Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keepers Lane, Leavenheath CO6 4PZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“rob willingham”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

may i say what a fantastic weekend i had food first class staff very good especialy tom and adam who looked after us during the evening everything ran very well from start to finish a very big thank you to everyone from rob helga nina and adam

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
What a fantastic review! Thank you for choosing us as the destination for your family break. Glad that you enjoyed your time with us and were well looked after. I will make sure Tom and Adam receive your thanks. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    117
    45
    20
    8
See reviews for
44
158
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Rooms spacious, comfortable and clean. The food was fine but the surrounding grounds amazing and spa fantastic
The hotel is great on staff customer service as everyone is friendly and assist to your needs and enquiries
Truly recommend this hotel as its the second time I have stayed

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
So pleased that you came back to us for a second time and thank you for your review. Our staff will love to hear that you appreciated their hard work and assistance. Hope you will visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

A group of 18 ladies from my golf club stayed here for two nights in mid April. We were very lucky with the weather but the hotel was a real treat. We were made extremely welcome by all the staff who were enthusiastic, friendly and efficient. The rooms were spacious and well-appointed and the bar and the restaurant were excellent. I didn't get a chance to try out the spa but the shopping was good. The golf was a bit challenging but that's another story!. Overall it was extremely good value for money and I would not hesitate to recommend this as a golfing destination.

Room Tip: As the organiser of a group I was upgraded to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. We have had some incredibly sunny days here recently and I’m glad you were able to take advantage of them. I will pass on your lovely comments about the staff. From all at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa – thank you for your custom, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed one night in a party of four, with a game of golf the following day. Big room , with two huge beds. Overlooked a couple of greens. We often remarked that the staff must have been very well trained. All were delightful and the food was excellent, especially as we were on a deal and so had to stick to the set menu. Played the Gainsborough course the next morning after a full English breakfast. Less hilly than the Constable, apparently, but still quite a tough walk for a senior, used to playing the flatter part of Suffolk. Good course, but it might get a bit wet with a lot of rain.
All told, a lovely break. I would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thank you very much. Our staff will be delighted to hear that they helped to make your stay a memorable one. The golf courses certainly are hilly! Please do come visit us again and try your skills on the Constable course – you won’t be disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night, very relaxing afternoon and evening,
The bar area was very pleasant, Hotel itself did look a bit bare down the corridors, but was all clean,
Room was clean with a lovely view over lake and part of the golf course,
Use of the swimming pool and steam room, Jacuzzi, sauna was included in the price,

Room Tip: You can eat in the bar as well as the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Excellent review – thank you! Hope that you had a relaxing escape with us. It certainly sounds like you experienced the on-site facilities and the best that our Lounge bar has to offer. Hope you had a chance to curl up with a drink next to the fire – that is an experience that should definitely not be missed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Had a 2 night stay at this quiet peaceful hotel in the Essex/Suffolk border.
The room and all public areas were exceptionally clean. The breakfast was very good with all the usual cereals, pastries and full English on the menu with also extras like porridge and kippers if you wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for posting this review of our facilities. Glad that you enjoyed the breakfast offerings. We do like to try to provide options to suit a wide range of tastes. Did you try the kippers in the end? We hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We chose this hotel as it was part of a deal for two nights. We were not disappointed as our room was Hugh with lovely fluffy towels, crisp bed lined and the biggest bed we have ever slept in. We eat in the golf bar on the first night after a fantastic round of golf, the service was good and a enjoyable meal at under £20.00 which included two drinks. The spa was lovely and we had a very enjoyable stay. The breakfast was so much.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SBNHotel, Marketing Executive at Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for the review! I will pass on your comments to our staff. We always love to hear when a guest has made good use of the facilities and had a blast in the process. Maybe next time you can try the golf course that you didn’t play on your first visit? Hope that you will come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Keepers Lane, Leavenheath CO6 4PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Leavenheath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leavenheath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Considered to be the finest venue of its kind in East Anglia, Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa offers 80 luxury hotel rooms, two 18-hole championship golf courses, together with a range of function rooms for weddings, business or corporate meetings, conferences and team building. The hotel also boasts a fully featured spa, gym and fitness facilities and is the perfect venue for spa treatments, pamper days or luxury spa breaks. Located within an area of outstanding natural beauty this is simply an idyllic place to relax and explore the stunning Constable countryside surrounding the hotel, along with the many places of historic interest and charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf And Spa
Stoke By Nayland Hotel, Golf Hotel Leavenheath
Best Western Colchester
Colchester Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoke by Nayland Hotel, Golf & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.