We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Polstead Lodge

Polstead Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Polstead Lodge to your Saves list
Polstead Lodge
Mill Street, Polstead CO6 5AD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Polstead B&B and Inns
suffolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“What a lovely place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed at Polstead Lodge on New Years Eve as it was close to The Venue, Kersey Mill, where we had a booked for a News Years Eve Ball. What an extra treat it was to stay at such a lovely B&B. Beautiful accommodation, a delicious breakfast and what fabulous hosts! The Ball was amazing and the stay at Polstead Lodge was the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: We stayed in the upstairs large double - what a fabulous room and the biggest bathroom ever!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    6
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
29
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to attend a wedding. It was a little hard to find but we were made very welcome and it didn't feel like we were sharing someone home. The bedrooms are in a section on their own.
We were made a lovely breakfast and I even got veggie sausages.
I recommend this for a stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My son and I really enjoyed our stay with Maureen & Dave in their lovely home in a peaceful country setting - everything was just so nice. We were visiting because of family history associations in Polstead and Maureen & Dave went to so much trouble to locate folk who could have been related to us and so we were able to visit. We left feeling we had made friends and would love to visit again. Mary & Paul - New Zealand

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We chose to stay here as we were enjoying a drive through Suffolk for a few days. Very clean, huge room and bathroom. An amazing array of breakfast goodies in the morning, including a cooked breakfast. I chose some fruit and toast whilst my husband went for the full bifter, cooked brekkie! Great place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machynlleth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

I liked this B&B because the owners were friendly and welcoming, the rooms were spacious and comfortable, the breakfast was delicious and, despite the lack of B&B sign on the gate, it was easy to find. (Husband says looking at a map helps!) it was great to hear muntjac deer "barking" in the night. Also very useful that a good gastro pub was within walking distance. Bike parking was available.

Room Tip: We were offered the en suite with a bath, as well as shower, which was much appreciated after a day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have recently stayed at Polstead Lodge in Suffolk and it lived up to all expectation. A peaceful setting with fields all around. The house and rooms was very clean and comfortable, massive bedroom (king size bed) and en-suite that had a nice big bath. The full english breakfast is top notch.

Dave and Moreen are very friendly, very knowledgable of the surrounding area and know the best places to visit.

I would certainly go back and recommend it to anyone. What you get is a personal touch, much more than staying in a hotel or pub. Very welcoming and accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Fautless accommodation.
Dave & Maureen fantastic hosts.
Very knowledgeable of area to explore.
Rooms very spacious, beautiful decor, bed very comfortable.
All you could eat at breakfast.
Good banter with host.
Will return again when in area to explore further.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Polstead Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Polstead Lodge

Address: Mill Street, Polstead CO6 5AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Polstead
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Polstead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Polstead Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polstead Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.