We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite must-see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Etna

Mount Etna
Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$125*
and up
Messina Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to...
Type: Volcanos, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking, Mountaineering, Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sicily's greatest natural attraction is also its highest mountain: Mount Etna, at 10,990 feet, is the most active volcano in Europe and the oldest recorded active volcano in the world.
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A definite must-see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Despite the very high price we decided to go to the summit with the cable car and it was worth it. We had a lot of luck as the vulcano erupted the day before so we couldnt get to the crater but we had a unique chance to see and fell the heat of a one day old lava. It was amazing. Still, if each person pays about 8€ for a guide they could get a bit more explanation and enthusiasm than just "Get away from the lava"... Well, maybe the guide just had a bad day...

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,739
    511
    97
    38
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Half way is also a worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

When visiting with a tour group, we decided against going in the cable cars to the summit. Instead we chose to walk around the perimeters of the craters which are readily accessible from the car park. It was an excellent alternative option, there was so much to see and enjoy - we ran out of time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Quite the experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We took a ride up to Mt Etna during our cruise on a wonderful boat, the Riveria by Oceania. It was a beautiful ride with lots of lava rocks & Mt. Etna itself was great. We climbed up to an active area of the volcano & collected lava rocks & wonderful gift shops with many items made out of lava. I walked to the top & the temperature must have stopped 40 degrees up there. A great experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Etna Adventure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We drove from just outside Palermo - about 150 minutes to see this amazing Volcano.
The approach road is twisting but not perilous and affords magnificent views over Sicily. Do look out for cyclist though!
The car park is large and you can buy tickets at most shops. We paid €4 to park all-day.
We took the cable car, then the 4x4 bus and took the guided walk - this was €57 each all-in and probably worth the money considering how difficult it is to have this set-up running so effectively.
The guided walk round the old crater is provided by knowledgeable staff who (in our case) spoke excellent English, Italian and French.
Do take a warm top as it can be quite chilly and wear sensible footwear as the rock is loose and sharp.
You'll be amazed at all the snow you see covered in Volcanic rock and ash, and witness a dying volcanic crater steaming away.
We also walked on the most recent lava flow (6 weeks ago!).
We didn't get to see the active crater or witness any eruption - and that's just as well judging by the pictures we saw of the 2003 eruption!
You can buy food and souvenirs at the cable car station, though it is more expensive for everything as opposed to the bottom.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“See it by car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

When we looked into the organised tours it was very vague on prices and we saw that on Trip Advisor other people had been ripped off by various companies.

We toured the routes accessible by car and had a great time there are lots of places you can get to and also the past lava flows. If you are someone who likes being independent and not herded like sheep I suggest you do the same.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Etna also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
San Giovanni la Punta, Province of Catania
 

Been to Mount Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Etna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.