We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best days of my life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Etna

Mount Etna
Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Visit Mount Etna like an insider
Top Rated
$111*
and up
Messina Shore Excursion: Private Day Trip to...
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Mountaineering, Group tours/bus tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sicily's greatest natural attraction is also its highest mountain: Mount Etna, at 10,990 feet, is the most active volcano in Europe and the oldest recorded active volcano in the world.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“One of the best days of my life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Really worth the climb (or drive up with jeep). The view up there is amazing! And then we found a place near Mount Etna where they rent quads ATVs and we drove around the volcano for like 5 hours. SO MUCH FUN! I had a blast. I will definitely remember this day all my life!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,866 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,085
    610
    112
    41
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Take on Etna comfortable shoes and warm clothes even on summer! You can rent it there but it is dirty((

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

A true sight, steaming away in the snow... Even if you dont get up onto the slopes just seeing it from Taormina is awe inspiring. An active volcano presiding over the land.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Julians Malta.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Loved the day trip to Etna especially as it was snowing and it was my daughter's first time in the snow. Lots of lovely souvenir shops and nice coffee shops.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concórdia Brazil
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Went on a guided tour of Mount Etna which was very interesting. It included a stop at Refugio Sapienza and a cave.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Etna also viewed

Catania, Province of Catania
San Giovanni la Punta, Province of Catania
 
Lampedusa, Islands of Sicily
 

Been to Mount Etna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Etna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.