We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Barn Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Old Barn Inn to your Saves list
The Old Barn Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Magor Road, Llanmartin, Newport NP6 2EB , Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Llanmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
southend on sea
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

we recently stayed at the old barn for our friends wedding what a lovely place the staff were extremely friendly and helpful throughout our stay. the owners phil&jackie were fantastic always smiling and very friendly a lovely couple.the food was excellent and always hot which i feel is extremely important.I think phil &jackie have put into place what i think they would expect thereselves from an hotel.we will definately return to the old barn and of course there is the fantastic celtic manor golf and leisure resort close by excellent.

Room Tip: all the rooms we saw were of the same excellent standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    43
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
37
86
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My brother's wedding was held last week at the Old Barn Inn, what a fabulous venue in lovely surroundings! Our party booked out the hotel and all the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful :) The glamorous Jackie was exceptional in helping plan the wedding and went above and beyond to accommodate the bride and groom's needs. The food was perfect, the rooms were absolutely lovely, I cannot praise the place highly enough!
Thank you Jackie and ALL the staff for making my brother and sister in-laws wedding day so perfect :) :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

To Jackie and Staff, thank you for making Lee and Sarah's wedding reception on the 27th so fantastic and for all your hard work beforehand and on the day. What a fantastic venue and wonderful backdrop for any newlywed couple.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Room was good size and functional - modern and tidy.
Road noise from the M4 - but not much the hotel can do about that
Breakfast was plentiful but very bland - they go for quantity over quality I'm afraid, but the service was polite and prompt

Room Tip: Nearest to the hotel means furthest from the M4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Undy, Caldicot, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

My family and I had a meal at the Old Barn for my birthday. The atmosphere in the restaurant was pleasant as were the staff (and very courtious and obliging). We thought the food just slightly overpriced but was quite delicious. The decor in the restaurant was extremely well done and it was a pleasant place to eat.

Would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pissouri, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just attended the Wedding Party of my Godson, Lee, and his wife, Sarah, which was held at this hotel. I cannot speak highly enough of them, the rooms,the food and facilities were outstanding, the staff were extremely helpful and courteous and the whole event was run in a very professional manner. Many thanks to Jackie and all her staff for such a memorable day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brackley
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

A week last Saturday My wife and I spent one night at the Old Barn Inn en-route to the West Country. What a wonderful and outstanding Hotel - but unknown to many as it is somewhat hidden away. Staff are extremely helpfully, very friendly and welcoming - we were even escorted to our room and shown the facilities. Rooms extremely comfortable and very reasonably priced. Food is excellent and served with a smile. We normally stay at major brand hotels with a 4 star rating. The Old Barn Inn meets all the standards, in my opinion, of a 4 star hotel and we would strongly recommend this hotel to anyone who needs accommodation in the Newport area of South Wales.

Room Tip: No need as the whole hotel needs not more special comment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Old Barn Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Barn Inn

Address: Magor Road, Llanmartin, Newport NP6 2EB , Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport > Llanmartin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanmartin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Barn Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your The Old Barn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Barn Hotel Llanmartin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Barn Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.