We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to chill and surf, for everyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costeno Beach Surf Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Magdalena Department
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costeno Beach Surf Camp
Save
You added Costeno Beach Surf Camp to your Saves list
Km 39 Toncal de Caribe, Colombia   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing place to chill and surf, for everyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Myself and my boyfriend visited Costeño in July for 4 nights staying in a beach hut. I made the reservation via email a few days before and they answered very promptly and were expecting us when we arrived. You have to walk about 15-20 mins from where the bus drops you off but you can organise a transfer if you don't like the sound of this. But it's totally worth it! The setting is gorgeous, with lovely gardens, gorgeous, empty beach, and loads of palm trees. You walk through the palm plantation to get to the best break for surfing, near the river mouth. My boyfriend surfs but I don't, but I never was short of things to do there. I read a lot, played volleyball, went swimming and body surfing. Swimming at the river mouth is the best because its refreshing fresh water that's just a little bit cooler than the ocean. The food was fantastic, we were worried it wouldn't be enough for my very hungry boyfriend so we bought chips, biscuits, noodles in case. We bearly needed them, but it's a good idea if you have a big appetite. They have a camp kitchen which consists of a few pots etc and a stove, so noodles are perfect, and an option if you need to save money. But the food and booze is cheap enough anyway, 5,000 breaky 11,000 lunch and dinner, beers 3,000. The beach hut was perfect for two people enough space for your stuff, but very private, dry and mozzie free with the nets. We highly recommend anyone around this area to drop by for a few days. My boyfriend says the surf was not big but really fun waves. Only thing is they may need a few more newer board rentals, especially short boards so its a good idea to bring your own board if you have it. And wax! That was in short supply.

Room Tip: Beach hut is rustic but fantastic value and very comfortable. I hear the other rooms were great, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    18
    13
    7
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
25
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Heard great things about this place so stayed for 3 nights. The place itself is great if you're after somewhere away from the crowds. I stayed in a hammock which was right near the beach and really comfy. The other rooms and beach huts are really nice too.
The only thing that let this place down was the lack of service. Most staff seemed quite unfriendly and made you feel like you were inconveniencing them when you asked for something. Also they were frequently out of drinks or snacks even though its a 15 minute round trip in a car to the shops.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boquete, Panama
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Costeno is perfect for what it is; a relaxed retreat on the coast where there aren't any shoes or shirts in sight. The food is good, especially their breakfast menu. The staff are friendly, however everything is a little bit unorganized. The surf is decent, however it's quite choppy and it's quite a workout to get out the back.

The biggest flaw is that they have a policy where they will take anyone, regardless of booking. This means the only way to guarantee the room you reserved is to arrive early.

Overall a great hostel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Recently left Costeño Beach for a second time. Great place with lovely scenery, great staff, cool vibe. Met a lot of really cool people.

You can surf outside the hostel although better to head down the beach to the left out of the camp about 15-20 minutes walk. I had a lesson whilst there which was one of the best I've had throughout the world. The guy teaching us was Colm who is one of the owners and really passionate about surfing.

Food at the camp is great - you have the option of 3 meals a day which you can opt in and out of depending on how you feel. The cooking facilities aren't the most amazing ever but this is a camp in the middle of nowhere, besides the food on offer is great :-)

Getting to the camp from Santa Marta is straightforward, most buses no of the camp so will let you out at the entrance, its then a 20 min walk along a dirt track. Or get a moto taxi. Don't get off at Tayrona entrance as someone told us to in santa marta, you'll struggle to get a moto taxi or can there.

The staff were cool, Santiago is super sweet, Colm (owns the place with Brian) really lovely and helpful, Brian will have you in hysterics with his stories and always getting people involved in activities. I won't describe each and every person as a lot of people are involved in making the place what it is.

If you go, try and head to the new farm associated with this place, 4 of us went one night and had such a great time, one of the best eves in South America.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I loved this place! It's in the middle of nowhere, the beach is completely deserted for as far as you can see and the grounds are well kept. The rooms are very basic so don't expect much. They serve 3 meals a day at a fair price but I would advise bringing plenty of snacks because it's a hassle to leave once you're there. I went in March and the surf is definitely not for beginners as the currents are really strong and there's no break in the sets so getting out can be a challenge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

It was the perfect place to stay. The rooms were clean and quiet, beds were comfortable, and had everything you needed to relax. The food was great and reasonably priced although inbetween meals there was not much to choose from for healthy snacks.
They are very environmentally conscious which was refreshing for Colombia.
The hostel owners were so helpful about the area and made you feel like you were at home.
We did a day trip To Tyrona from here and it was perfect. So glad we didn't haul our packs in there for 1 night. Perfect day trip option.
Close by there is a river that you can walk to and relax in.
Would highly recommend coming here and skipping Palomino.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Cool and relaxed place far from the big tourist crowds. Very nice off the beaten track feeling, well hidden and almost virgin beach. If you do not have a car it quite a long walk from the main road, walking through bananafield and passing some abandoned properties. Two main buildings, whereas one of them contained the reception, restaurant, bar and surfboard rentals, and a bunch of cottages. Location right at the beach between the palmtrees, very nice setting. Did not sleep here though, but all type of accomodation is quite simple. Cottages were just a roof and a mattress. Nice place for yoga and relaxation. Not very good waves for surfing.

Room Tip: The main building probably offers better condition of accomodation. Cottages looked cool, but just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costeno Beach Surf Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costeno Beach Surf Camp

Address: Km 39 Toncal de Caribe, Colombia
Location: Colombia > Magdalena Department
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 146 Specialty Lodging in Magdalena Department
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its a hell-uv-a place ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Costeno Beach Surf Camp Colombia, South America

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costeno Beach Surf Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.