We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location, great room...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation to your Saves list
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   118 Bronte Rd E | RD1 Upper Moutere, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Bronte B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, great room...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We were a little worried about booking the Atholwood for one night because it is a little "off the beaten track". However the room was fantastic and the location gorgeous - the grounds are beautifully landscaped and views fantastic. Yes we did have to drive 5 minutes to dinner (nearby Mapua) and one of us had to watch the wine intake; however a small sacrifice for waking up in such a gorgeous location. Wish we could have stayed longer, the Atholwood is quiet, relaxing and picturesque!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    10
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
128
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We fell in love with the place by the way we were welcomed in the property. Very hospitable and warm couple to attend us, neatly and tastefully done up room made our stay special. They asked our diet preferences and made the breakfast accordingly. We njoyed the breakfast together in a nice sit out on teh ground floor. The room had a lovely view and the property is very well maintained. The couple was very helpful in guiding us what to see around. The best place to stay in the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The most beautiful accomodation where we stayed during our honeymoon trip in New Zealand.
Romantic view from the balcony on the garden and the sea. Excellent and luxury room.
Fantastic hosts: they make you feel like you are part of the family and they can suggest you the best place to visit during your staying there!
We really enjoy this place and we will always remember it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay, the hosts were very friendly and bent over backwards to help and be hospitable, particularly at breakfast time.
Because they were quiet they gave our 11 year old daughter her own room rather than having to share with us which was excellent, the rooms were gorgeous, huge with a balcony and stunning views. the bathroom was great with heated floor, large shower and bath, the room had a seating area and plenty of storage space. Afternoon tea was provided daily which was delicious as was the breakfast.
The area provided stunning views and lots of arty crafty places.
It was a 10 minute drive to the nearest watering hole and restaurants etc in Mapua.
When we left we were given a wooden butter knife which was a very thoughtful thing to do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I thought I had been inundated with NZ's natural beauty and stunning scenery, starting to feel quite nonchalant about the "green" expereience but on arrival at Atholwood I was blown away yet again. My large balcony overlooked the waterfront, now I was torn, enjoy the spacious apartment, make a cup of tea, enjoy a wine on the balcony or join my hosts for a chat about the area? Sarah and Ian truly delivered an expereince not to be missed, breakfast was informal and freshly cooked. My only critiscism was I only booked for one night, next time I will stay longer.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children, book the gatehouse for even more space and child friendly accom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was by far of favorite place to stay in New Zealand. The beautiful waterfront veiw combined with gorgeous gardens in the middle of wine country, we could not ask for anything more. Our hosts Sarah and Ian are a lovely couple and very accommodating. From the gourmet breakfast in the morning to the delicious bake goods Sarah would leave in the room during turn-down service. This place is a top notch hideaway, and a must when in the Sourh Island.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

You feel you are staying in "your own home" as it was incredibly comfortable but with spectacular views, wonderful garden, great situation in the middle of superb wine country, do experience the grazing boards.

Sarah and Ian are a delightful couple, who would do anything for you from arranging restaurants, sailing trips: you name it they knew who who to contact. But they were very aware that you were on holiday for a rest, so they never crowded you. It was super to return from a day out to one of Sarah's treat although I am not sure they were good for the waist line!

We would certainly recommend a vacation/stop over with them as a BIG Must. Certainly our favourite. We wish them every success they deserve it and if we come to NZ again we will be back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, leave it to them to give you the most appropriate one
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation

Address: 118 Bronte Rd E | RD1 Upper Moutere, Bronte, Mapua 7173, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Mapua > Bronte
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bronte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atholwood Luxury Counrty Accommodation is a unique five star luxury retreat, offering you serenity in comfort and style with two B&B suites and a self-contained apartment, all with their own balconies and views over the Waimea estuary, and the self-contained Gatehouse cottage. Set in 2.2 acres of park-like grounds with native trees and hidden pathways that border the estuary, and ideally situated between Nelson and the Abel Tasman National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation Mapua/Bronte, Nelson-Tasman

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atholwood Luxury Country Accommodation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.