We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avli

Avli
Behind the supermarket, Platanias 37002, Greece
2427049608
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 restaurants in Platanias
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
“Still Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate regularly at the Avli when on holiday in Skiathos in May again this year. Costas continues to be a welcoming host. The ambience, sitting outdoors with Greek music playing is so relaxing. Favourite dishes amongst the starters must included the tomato soup, which has such depth of flavour; feta wrapped in filo with honey and the mixed starter which allows a taste of several Greek specialities. As far as the mains are concerned many people enjoy the stifathos served in individual clay pots. We are partial to the grilled lamb and pork chops which are delicious. The grilled snapper and sea bream are excellent if you, like us are fish fiends. In our opinion Costa's Moussaka can't be beaten. Full of flavour. IF you have any space, then it has to be orange pie, delicious. Not to be missed is the baked apple. Don't be misled by that description. You'll be surprised. One spoonful and it's like Christmas has arrived. Typical house wine by the carafe and half carafe and local beers on tap and bottled. Prices on a par with other establishments. First stop for us when we return to Skiathos no doubt about it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    43
    8
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“A Nightly Dining Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Eleven days on the lovely island of Skiathos, eleven nights dining with Costas. Why? Each night we were tempted with various choices and each night was a culinary delight - a feat seldom delivered these days.We had the same enjoyable experience eight years ago!

Thank you Costas - and Carlos & Jannis & the lady.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Our favourite restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The owner of the restaurant is so so nice and makes you very welcome. If you wander past on your way back from the beach and let him know you want to eat there and at what time he will reserve a table. The food we had there whether fish or meat was so fresh and is highly recommended. We went many times due to the food being excellent, a good choice of drinks and not too expensive and the hospitality - we were always made very welcome. We are going back to Skiathos this June and will definately be paying many visits to the Avli.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lundin Links, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
476 helpful votes 476 helpful votes
“Our Favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have been visiting Skiathios once or twice a year for the last three years. We had our first evening meal in the Avli and have been eating there ever since. Costas always greets customers warmly, and remembers repeat visitors. It is lovely to sit out, away from the noise of the main road listening to real Greek music in the background, enjoying a meal at a leisurely pace. Inevitably there are other diners whom you recognise and may pass the time of day with; Skiathos is that kind of island. Nowhere else we have eaten matches the taste and flavour of any of the dishes served at the Avli. We work our way through the menu. It is so difficult to pick out a favourite....the fish, liver and bacon, oven potatoes, orange pie, baked apple......OH when is the next flight?!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I ate here on a recommendation towards the end of the holiday. The service was excellent. The menu is extensive and offers a range of Greek dishes. We chose one of the ‘specials’ – chicken casserole in a clay pot – excellent! We shall definitely return when we go back to Aghia Paraskevi.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avli also viewed

Skiathos Town, Skiathos
 

Been to Avli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.