We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best pies!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maketu Pies

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Maketu Pies
6 Little Waihi Rd, Maketu 3189, New Zealand
+64 (7) 533-2358
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 3 Restaurants in Maketu
Restaurant details
Chichester
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best pies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I are from the UK. We spent 5 weeks in NZ earlier this year and found our self's in Maketu. Maketu is a beautiful place that is home to the nicest pies that we have ever eaten. For the rest of our trip we had to keep finding the pies as they were so delicious.
We wish we could buy them here in England.
My fav was the butter chicken!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    2
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
TAURANGA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“MAKETU PIES”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great pies, but they're cheaper when bought anywhere except Maketu Pies! Why??!! You would think they'd have the best price where they're made. Great pies anyway.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Yuck”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I like a nice tasty pie not a stodgy heavy pastry thing that leaves me feeling yuck afterwards - only real comment is never again

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whakatane, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Maketu Mussel Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

OMG, these are the best pies, the pastry is light and flakey, heaps of filling and of course the flavour, these pies totally rock. It is rare I buy a pie but there is no other option :)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hard to beat a Maketu Pie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Good local cuisine Maketu is a well established int he Bay of Plenty with a much deserved great reputation

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maketu Pies also viewed

Maketu, Bay of Plenty Region
Maketu, Bay of Plenty Region
 

Been to Maketu Pies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maketu Pies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.