We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprising” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kiwi 360

Kiwi 360
State Highway 2, Te Puke, New Zealand
64 7-573-6340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 4 Attractions in Te Puke
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kiwi360 is in the very heart of Te Puke - 'Goodness Grows Here' region,(just 40 mins from Rotorua along SH33 toward Tauranga),where nearly all of NZ's kiwifruit is grown. Visit Kiwi360 to take a kiwikart tour of our commercial kiwfruit orchard where the expert guide will explain the unique climatic and soil conditions which enable the 2500 orchardists in the Te Puke area to produce the highest quality, highest volume per ha, of kiwifruit in the world. During the tour visitors will also see 60 or 70 different varieties of fruit and nut trees also growing on the property. After the tour visit the best retail gift and souvenir shop in the Bay of Plenty in the main complex and enjoy gourmet food and refreshments in the courtyard garden cafe,Kiwi is the world's healthiest fruit and complimentary tastings along with kiwi wine, juices and liquers are always available.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Surprising”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This Kiwi Fruit Farm was very surprising as I did not know how kiwi fruit grew. We toured on a little tram-like train that took us all through the orchard. We then went into the shop and tasted kiwi fruit and juice; both delicious.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you Garrat,
Many visitors like yourselves didint know kiwis grow on vines which are trained on a pergola system. As you found out we can walk underneath the canopy or drive lowered machinery to complete seasonal tasks.
I'm sure the staff will have explained that you were tasting the ' World's Healthiest Fruit'!

Graeme C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    17
    10
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gladstone, Australia
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We found the tour interesting. Kids liked the kiwi fruit shaped carriages. Going through the area with all the different fruit trees was great & we got the obligatory photo beside the giant kiwi. We stopped in the kiwi fruit area & it was great to see how much fruit there was. Our guide had lots of info to share. When the tour arrived back at the shop there was wine, juice & fruit to sample. The tour isn't something I'd go out of my way to do but nonetheless it was interesting & the kids enjoyed it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Thanks Blueysmrs for your thoughts.I hope the guide did explain the fact that there are 2500 other kiwi orchards, in addition to our commercial orchard at Kiwi360, in the te Puke area.
This results in 100 million trays of kiwi ( or 3 billion individual kiwifruit ) being exported to 60 countries around the worls each year! I also hope the kids had some kiwi juice and a kiwi ice cream too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Intersting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

If you have never seen kiwis on the vine, it's deffinately worth a visit. Very informative guide and gave us a good understanding of the whole industry. Kids will enjoy the ride. The sating could have been better though as they ran out of Golden Kiwi samples

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for your notes. It is an interesting story especially the gold kiwi challenges. At this time of the year the kiwi have just been picked and the supply is very limited until the fruit packing season gets into full swing. That should be the case this week.i hope you able to taste taste the kiwi juice and the kiwi wines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Needs Maintenance”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On our recent visit to Tauranga to watch rugby, my husband and I thought it would be nice to visit Kiwi360 for lunch the next day with some family who live in Te Puke. The last time we visited Kiwi360 was about 12 years ago and it was great, but this time round we were so disappointed.

We waited an hour to go on the tour - the driver was very knowledgeable but the tour missed the packhouse which we really wanted to see, the actually train thing was dirty with moss growing on the roof of each seating area, the same with the giant Kiwi the tour stopped at. The childrens play area was totally run down, with the water area green, yuk! The play area is advertised in the brochure, if we had taken children with us, they would have been totally disappointed. The cafe felt 'dirty' with flys on the water jugs, and ants on the counter. The 'bee' area was dirty, dust and spider webs every where and dead bees all over the ground. The outdoor bird house had no birds and ripped netting. Some general maintenance would have made this place so much nicer.

I wonder what our international tourists think when they visit? Are they as disppointed with one of our internationally recognised tourist attraction as we were? We will not be stopping in again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you Kerrianne_Hamilton for your detailed comments.
A few explanatory comments - the lichen spots on the outside, on top of the roof of each kart, have been removed. - we have checked the big model kiwi in the grounds for the same small growths - the playground area which has been closed for quite some time, is due to be bulldozed to provide room for a new farm experience. - the manuka honey static display where the glass sided beehive is located does faciltate observation of bee mortality.- there is no bird aviary. - the property owners ( landlord ) have agreed to undertake a complete building maintnenance upgrade which we hope will be completed during winter.
Thanks again for your observations, I trust you enjoyed the great game of rugby and the Chiefs win!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This place is expensive - basically just a shop selling everything kiwi fruit. We paid $20 each for a tour of the kiwi farm - turned out to be a 15 minute ride in a golf-cart like vehicle - what a waste of money. Everything in the shop is very expensive and the attitude of the people in the shop is a disgrace - its basically just a tourist trip. I would not recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme C, Owner at Kiwi 360, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Hi Newcastletraveller56, thank you for taking the time to comment. We respect your observations especially from one so well travelled.
The staff, including myself, remember your visit, (from your profile photo) and I regret not catching you before you departed, after our head guide alerted me to your probable disatisfaction.
I have spoken to shop staff on duty that day, and whilst complaints about their demeanor and service have been non existent until yours, I did review their recall of your visit. Although I am unable to find any specific fault, your comments have served as a reminder to all of us to be on top of our game 100%.
The tour normally takes 35 - 40 mins and usually, where there are only a small number of passengers, ( in your case just the two of you, the 13 seater electric people-carrier is used in preference to 48 seater, three kart, Kiwikarts.
Thanks again for your comments they have been helpful in checking our service levels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kiwi 360 also viewed

Te Puke, Bay of Plenty Region
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Kiwi 360? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiwi 360, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.