We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great alternative to a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stoneleigh Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Stoneleigh Lodge to your Saves list
Stoneleigh Lodge
5.0 of 5 Lodge   |   55 Threlkelds Rd, Ohoka, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Wellington
1 review
“Great alternative to a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We do not normally opt for bed and breakfast accommodation but were underwhelmed with the current hotel offerings in Christchurch (I miss the Crowne Plaza!). The situation is bound to improve as the recovery continues to gain momentum but the options were pretty limited when we looked. So we booked in to stay at Stoneleigh and were very impressed. Room price reasonably high but good value for money, especially compared to what the George is currently charging. Spacious, clean and tastefully decorated room with large and comfortable bed. Very clean bathroom. We were offered the use of a lounge area as well. Didn't have time to try the pool this time. Went for a walk down the lengthy and beautifully maintained drive to check out the alpacas and was greeted by a frisky Burmese (one of three much loved pusskins on the property). Back inside for a hearty breakfast of muesli and fruit, sausages bacon and eggs, toast and coffee. Hosts Chris and Liz very friendly and considerate but discrete and the house is so large that we truly felt like we had our own space. Very quiet and rural, but only 25 mins to the airport, so not much further away than the CBD.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz S, Owner at Stoneleigh Lodge, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Really enjoyed your night's stay with us and thank you so much for your review. All the best to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louth, Lincolnshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at Stoneleigh Lodge. It was the ideal place to start our NZ and Australia honeymoon! The room we stayed in (lake view) was beautifully set out and presented and it was perfectly clean.

The hosts, Liz and Chris are very welcoming and will help you in any way that they can. Breakfast was lovely and really set you up for a busy days travelling or exploring!

The lodge is central to an alpaca farm which makes it a nice place to look around, which you are free to do. All in all our stay was very pleasant and if we are ever lucky enough to be able to visit NZ again then I will definitely be booking!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz S, Owner at Stoneleigh Lodge, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review. It was a pleasure having you both and I hope the rest of your holiday in New Zealand lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Stoneleigh after our daughters wedding, Liz knew we wouldn't be there until late, she stayed up and greeted us with a smile at 12.30am! We had a very quiet room and the bed was great. Breakfast was fantastic. Over all I could not fault it.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My family and I stayed for a night, we were very tired when we arrived, and the hosts (Liz and Chris) were very helpful in getting us sorted out quickly. The sleep was good, and the breakfast the next morning was very good - I had the 'farmhouse breakfast', which was delicious. Our room, the lakeview suite, was next to a luxurious lounge, with a reading room/library also next to us. There was free wifi, which is always appreciated. The day we left the daughter of the hosts, Emma, was kind enough to show our daughter the horses, one of which out daughter even got to ride a wee bit. All in all, I enjoyed my time here, and will keep it in mind for the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I wish we had the option of a half star as we don't feel that 3 is warranted, but our experience wasn't a 4 either, but here goes...

We arranged our visit pretty spare of the moment - being local we just wanted to treat ourselves to New Years night away in a place of luxury.

We arrived at closed gates, and were buzzed in - gorgeous lodge in a beautiful setting. Lady owner and 18 year old doggie (Spot) greeted us at the door. Very welcoming. We were shown around and provided with a door opener for the front gates (phew) for when we wanted to come/go. The lodge is sumptuous and has gorgeous furnishings. The large upstairs suite was well away from the rest of the house. Our main reason for going to this accommodation was its proximity to home and the fact it had a spa/indoor pool - both of which we don't have and made this an extra special treat. On being shown around we were advised the indoor spa (near pool) wasn't working as it is still waiting on earthquake repairs.

Once we had unpacked and had a look around, we popped our togs on and headed downstairs for a swim in the heated indoor pool. All very clean and tidy until we wound up the pool cover - I was already in - and my partner noticed lots (and lots!) on blow flies on both the pool floor (underwater) and floating on top. I am glad I had not yet popped my head under, as when I was summoned out of the water I could not believe my eyes. We decided to roll the cover back over the pool and popped back upstairs to use the in-room spa instead. Bit of a let down...

We put in our breakfast menu choices for 9.15am the next morning then headed out to dinner in town. On our return from dinner the male host introduced himself and apologised profusely for the state of the pool - unfortunately we just didn't feel that we could enter into the water now, no matter how much cleaning had been done to it...

A very sound sleep was had, and we were able to sleep in until we had to get up for our breakfast at 9.15am. Wandered downstairs and seated ourselves for breakfast - I had the eggs benedict and my partner had the farmstyle breakfast - both of which were very well presented, and tasted delicious. Fudge the Burmese cat was also splayed out at our feet whilst we ate breakfast which we loved, it reminded us of home!

The other let downs were that we were only given one small bar of soap and one small bottle of shampoo to share and that there wasn't a heat pump/air conditioning unit to regulate the temperature as the room has the sun streaming in. We did notice a couple of older oil fin heaters which are obviously used in the winter months...

So, pluses; definitely the warm welcome, restful sleep and breakfast. Minuses; the spa/pool issue and lack of complimentary bathroom products.

Room Tip: Upstairs suite has a lovely view of the alpacas grazing in their paddocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz S, Owner at Stoneleigh Lodge, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Due to the hot weather conditions we experienced a sudden and unexpected increase in flies in the area. Although the pool was cleaned before the guests arrived some of these insects must have entered the pool room, which has open windows to allow adequate ventilation.
We were horrified to see flies in the pool ourselves and the pool was immediately cleaned as soon as we found the problem.
This was an unexpected and 'one off' problem and we apologise for any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loburn, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We are a local canterbury couple with our pre school daughter who chose to visit stoneleigh lodge for our 10th wedding anniversary, absolute divine place, lovely grounds, actually saw a crea baby born while in the paddock which was a 1st for Liz, who said in the 7 years of alpacca breeding, no other guests have witnessed. lovely gracious rooms & the breakfast was 1st class (farmhouse style)

Room Tip: we stayed in the lake view rooms, impressive, pool was heated & indoor with an exceptional view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We needed a place to stay on short notice as accommodations are hard to find in Christchurch these days, and Stoneleigh Lodge most kindly was able to provide us with a lovely suite that was most comfortable. The alpacas added a great deal of interest to the visit and we only wish we could have spent more time there learning about this type of farm operation - loved the newborn cria we saw! Liz was extremely helpful with travel advice and in accommodating our early schedule - a welcome break in a beautiful home. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Alpine Suite is large and very comfortable, all amenities provided.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stoneleigh Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stoneleigh Lodge

Address: 55 Threlkelds Rd, Ohoka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ohoka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Ohoka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stoneleigh Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Stoneleigh Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stoneleigh Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.