We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Inn Motel

Ocean Inn Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Inn Motel to your Saves list
Ocean Inn Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   27 Oceanview Road, Northcote, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northcote
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Unbelievable”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Greeted with a very untidy man and not the friendliest, stove top disgusting and scum around it, unit not clean at all, how do you expect your units to be clean when you require your guests to clean your kitchens? never heard of this before 4 star qualmark what a joke!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    5
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

The good:
Clean,
Convenient location, and
Good quality toilet paper (which is rare in motels!!)

The bad:
A bit crowded in the main room (queen bed fills floor space, chairs against kitchen counter don't leave much room),
Left to make the kids bed myself (separate room had bunks and a single bed, we made reservation for 2 kids ... only the single bed had been made), and
The queen bed was much toooo hard. We love a firm bed. Ours at home is firm. But this one was ridiculously hard. Neither of us slept well and were sore the next day. We even put the extra comforter from the spare bunk bed on the mattress as a bit of padding, but it was too thin.

I did mention this when checking out but was told all the beds in the complex were the same (we were in room 11) and most people either say it was the best nights sleep ever or the mattress was too soft! I have a very hard time believing that. I am not small, in fact over 100kgs but when sitting on the edge of the bed, it did NOT dip at all! It wasn't far off like sleeping on the floor. And the pillows were equally uncomfortable.

I was also told these were industry standard mattresses ... maybe, but I have slept in many beds at many motels and motels throughout NZ and have never slept on anything so hard, ever.

So, if you enjoy sleeping on a super firm/hard mattress, this place is for you! Unfortunately, despite it's cleanliness and convenient location, we will not book here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This is a fairly basic motel but the rooms were clean and tidy, and quite spacious - we had a seperate bedroom. It had a fridge and microwave and the host was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2011

Don't trust this place website! What you see in the photos it's NOT what you will find!we had booked a room for 6 people and from their website you would believe it was a 2bedrooms unit....when we got there we found a queen bed,a single bed,bunks and a cot all cramped together...and the kitchen facilities being a microwave and a kettle and a toaster.
We asked for an extra room but they were fully booked.
Could be all right for a budget getway in Auckland as it is reasonably priced (even though 3 of us ended up going somewhere else...so do your maths)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northcote hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2011 via mobile

Good beds, aging rooms, tv's and bathrooms... Some paint peeling from walls but if you need basic at a decent rate you cannot go wrong... Certainly wouldn't want to pay more than nz100 a night

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Inn Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Inn Motel

Address: 27 Oceanview Road, Northcote, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Northcote
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northcote
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Inn Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Inn Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Inn Motel North Island/Auckland - Northcote

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Inn Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.