We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pandy Inn

Pandy Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pandy Inn to your Saves list
Pandy Inn
Dorstone HR3 6AN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Dorstone B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
northants
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Cracking weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Booked the Pandy Inn for a weekend break for a birthday treat and as a base for the Beacons.
We ate on two nights and would say the food was excellent with a good selection of fresh dishes. Breakfast was equally good and in particular the scrambled egg stood out. The two ales on offer were very good and deserved some extensive sampling. (Three Tuns and Butty Bach). Staff were all friendly and welcoming. The pub itself is a little tired but there does seem to be plans in place to renovate / extend. The accommodation to the rear of the pub is unexpected. It is a wooden (Scandinavian?) style building with 4 or 5 rooms. The room we occupied was at the rear on the 1st floor with stunning views. The accommodation was very well presented and i wouldn't hesitate in recommending.
Possibly a little far out from Brecon but still a cracking weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs at the back for the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    14
    4
    2
    6
See reviews for
7
41
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Lincs
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The pub part of the building is very very old, maybe time to do a little bit with the soft furnishings.
The food for dinner was top notch, we had dinner here both nights of our stay, very enjoyable, (we didn't have lunch here,) however breakfast was a little hit and miss, muesli was the only cereal on offer, (no good for my husband who doesn't eat squirrel mess...) first morning we had to ask for fruit juice 2nd morning no cutlery on the table, bacon very crisp, I like fruit and yogurt both are easy to provide, but weren't, it was just a little to slow being served.
The accommodation is 1st class we had upstairs at the back, very clean and well looked after, very comfortable, very large window into the apex, curtains don't reach the top, so the time of year we stayed very light in the early morning, take a mask of Zorro with you if like me you have thin eyelids. We had a balcony. Everything we needed for an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: back rooms as these are not overlooked by the car park and have views over fields
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had a nice and spacious room upstairs with a very good bed and new bathroom. Since the house is built entirely of wood some doors are heavy to close because the wood is still working. The location is really quiet (the pub being in a different house up front). A slight disadvantage is that you can't get the room totally dark because the curtains don't reach the rooftop window.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I would not hesitate to recommend The Pandy Inn. We had an upstairs room overlooking the car park but we were only in it in the evenings and although it might have been nice to have had a room at the back, we were not dismayed - there was plenty of greenery to see beyond the Inn. I totally agree with other reviewers about the standard of the rooms - large and very clean with an extremely comfortable ambience. However, there were no dressing gowns! We ate both nights in the restaurant and the meals were a very good standard with vegetables that were interesting and cooked well, something that many restaurants fail on. The only improvement would be a vegetarian option. The staff were charming and nothing was too much trouble. I understand that Magdalena was running the Inn on her own at a very busy time and was short- staffed for at least part of the time. She did very well and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Tried the restaurant following a recommendation. Lovely staff, warm welcome and a nice restaurant room. The menu is fairly concise and I think this is generally a good thing; it should mean they have good turnover and meals are made with fresh ingredients.
Ordered the chicken pie (locally sourced meat). Meal was good overall, but too salty for my taste, and presentation needs a little work as it flowed all over the plate! However, I would recommend this place for a pleasant meal in a lovely setting. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Different to say the least. Accommodation is in a specially built wood chalet at the rear of the inn. very comfortable, top quality linen,.rooms are clean and warm. Food is served in the Inn and is excellent quality with local Hereford beef as good as Aberdeen Angus. Good choice on the wine list at sensible prices. Well worth the effort in finding it. Use a map not sat/nav..

Room Tip: De luxe rooms are just a bit better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We stayed there for a weekend break in March. I was worried about the miserable weather, as I like my comfort, but my husband really wanted to check out the walking trails nearby. I was thrilled, the rooms were fabulously warm and comfortable and the heating was independent so you could adjust to your own requirements. The weather was really quite miserable and we didn't see the location at its best, but the Pandy Inn atomospher (there are the most amazing chickens and the friendliest dog) more that compensated. After l lovely day spent in bookshops in Hay, we were more than happy to return to the comfort of the Pandy Inn to enjoy our purchases. The food was amazing, and we had intended to go elsewhere the second night for a meal but changed our minds as they seemed to be having a party for St Patrick's night and allowed us to join in. I always think that the place that is supported by locals is always going to be good! Thanks to all, Mary B

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pandy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandy Inn

Address: Dorstone HR3 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Dorstone
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Dorstone
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pandy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.