We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to celebrate a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Upper House to your Saves list
The Upper House
The Green, Barlaston ST12 9AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Barlaston B&B and Inns
Woking, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place to celebrate a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We booked for a quiet birthday celebration and were a bit worried when told there would be a wedding taking place that day. A friend had recently had a very unpleasant experience in another hotel resulting in them being unable to sleep due to all the noise. Anyway, we appreciated being told about the wedding in advance and, reassured by Helen, we went ahead with the booking. It turned out that the wedding reception was in a self contained annexe and our room, at the front of the house, was very quiet and peaceful. We stayed in Beech which was a dual aspect room at the front of the hotel, full of character and very comfortable although a better mattress would be appreciated! We ate in the restaurant, The meal was very good value and the food was very well cooked, including all the vegetables. The room was lovely although the music was too loud and irritating. Soft music and softer lighting would have enhanced the experience. A great breakfast in the morning, plenty of choice. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    9
    8
    2
See reviews for
34
40
5
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cerritos, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Stayed there for a romantic night with my partner and had a wonderful experience. The room itself was spacious and luxurious, as was the rest of the hotel. The surrounding area was absolutely perfect, as well. Plus their complimentary breakfast menu was extensive and well-prepared. Our one complaint was that the bedroom radiator was on a timer, and the bathroom radiator didn't work at all, and so the room got fairly chilly during certain times in the evening. Great experience, though!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Lovely quaint village with a great but hidden venue. I attended a wedding here as a guest and was delighted by the surrounding and venue. Of a hundred or so wedding I've been this is maybe top ten within its price range. I've popped back for Afternoon Tea and loved every second, it felt like visiting old friend not a corporate venue.
The pricing was reduced for the midweek event and a couple of younger staff were a little flustered by some changes and requests but nothing too obvious. Timely serving and turnaround and very polite obliging staff. Our room as spotless and well stocked. few nearly country pub just a few minute away too if you fancy escaping from your escape.

Room Tip: On the left going downhill, opposite the green. I drove past it twice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The location of this hotel is lovely, just off the green at Barlaston and along a narrow driveway to the manor house which has lovely views over open fields. The house has a lovely atmosphere with wood panelling and large open fireplace. It retains the quaint feel of an old house. The staff were very friendly and soon checked us in. Finding the room was interesting as the floors were on several different levels with squeaky floorboards. The lift was slow and small but part of the quirky feel. We were there for a wedding and went through to the rear of the hotel which was in a modern extension. The meal was good and the staff friendly and efficient. Our room felt old fashioned but everything we needed was there. Tea coffee and water were all included which was nice. Everything was clean and the flat screen TV had freeview channels. If I was in the area I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I was so releived to arrive here after my dreadful experience at the George Hotel in Stoke. The staff were very helpful, effieicnt and pleasant. My room was really excellent with everything in good condition and nicely put together. Water fizzy and still, coffee, tea, etc all on hand, immaculate bathroom and very nice products. Comfy bed, decent bedding, 4 pillows, clean carpets and no dust - such a releif! Dinner was fabulous value and very nice food served with a smile and courtesy that would be good even in a luxury 5 star hotel. I looved it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We were invited to a black tie/dress to impress event last night hosted by a friend of friends. We were all congregated into a spacious waiting room for pre dinner drinks. Unfortunately with it being winter we weren't able to take advantage of the doors that would open up onto an outdoor seating area/patio. This would be ssomething fantastic to look forward to on warmer, brighter nights.

We were ushered by Phil to be seated and the starters of tomato soup, melon or pate all received a resounding nod of approval as did the mains and deserts. The room was big enough for probably 8 to 10 seating 10 people with a dance area.

The food was of a high standard and we my wife and I, friends new and old had a fantastic time. The Upper House is set in a beautiful rural location close to a small village and convenience store and 3 minutes off the A34 trunk road. There are plenty of walks for ramblers and nature lovers or the canal for mountain biking. This was our first visit and we will be returning in the future for a meal with our family. This venue comes very highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I have been to The Upper House a number of times .It is a traditional country hotel in a perfect countryside setting.
I have held 2 conferences there which were perfect.
Today I went for lunch with my friend. The welcome was excellent. The staff were very attentive and were top notch.
The Christmas tree in the reception was totally magnificent .
The food was gorgeous ,freshly cooked and perfect.The lounge was so traditional with the open fire lit and very homely
If I didn't live so close I would love to stay the night...
A well kept secret in Stoke on Trent...

A welcoming hotel in a delightful setting

Room Tip: I only gave poor to Fitness centre and swimming pool as it doesn't have one and to be honest doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: The Green, Barlaston ST12 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Barlaston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barlaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Barlaston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upper House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.