We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great venue for Afternoon Tea!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Upper House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Upper House to your Saves list
The Upper House
The Green, Barlaston ST12 9AE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Barlaston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great venue for Afternoon Tea!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My daughter celebrated her 'Hen Afternoon Tea' recently. There were 15 ladies; we ate in the conservatory which provided a lovely relaxed atmosphere. The tea was delicious and excellent value for money. We found the staff really helpful and friendly. I would highly recommend you try it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    38
    10
    9
    3
See reviews for
39
41
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I only live 10 miles away and never new this place existed must be the best kept secret in Staffordshire, situated in manicured gardens and although there weren't many diners on a Thursday night the food and the service was great and we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have only visited this establishment as diners so cannot comment regarding other facilities however, if the same standard we encountered as resturaunt patrons were applied to the rest of the hotel we are sure a first class experience awaits.

We first visited for lunch, as a gift from friends, we were most impressed. It was a cold bright day but a warm friendly welcome awaited us, both from a roaring fire in the lounge to the attentive staff. The food was excellent and we had a good choice of menu to suit all tastes.

We have since visited a further couple of times and the experience has remained the same. We are now awaiting our next visit, as friends who we told of our visit have visited themselves, and as result have invited us to an afternoon tea within the next fortnight.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

Me and three friends had afternoon tea what a lovely afternoon we had sandwiches cakes beautifully presented and very tasty and they really did wait on us all in all a wonderful afternoon the sunshine made it just perfect would definitely recommend cant wait for my next visit .

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just booked our Wedding at the upper house for next summer.
So excited to have found it. The hotel is beautiful and the staff are all so lovely.
We have been for dinner with the whole family and are going back for afternoon tea next weekend hopefully.
Could not fault this hotel so far, the grounds are amazing and i'm sure our wedding will be everything we have dreamed of.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

To die for! Sandwiches, cakes, scones jam and cream what more can I say. Service was exceptional. Tea pot was refilled. Location is stunning with a lovely walk across the Barlaston Downs you can stop off at the Upper House for your afternoon tea.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I visited The Upper House for afternoon tea with a group of ladies celebrating a forthcoming marriage.It was a very pleasant afternoon. The staff were, without exception, extremely friendly and helpful-they were unobtrusive but attentive when needed. There was a wide range of sandwiches and cakes, as well as scones with cream and jams-all of which were plentiful, delicious and nicely presented with fresh fruit.
A range of teas and coffee were offered and the teapots were refilled regularly so they were always fresh.
Special mention to David the Restaurant Manager who was rushed off his feet covering a wedding reception and other duties but was so helpful and was always there ensuring that we had all we needed.
This was excellent value for money A real find. I will certainly recommend The Upper House.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Upper House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upper House

Address: The Green, Barlaston ST12 9AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Barlaston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Barlaston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Upper House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upper House Hotel Barlaston

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Upper House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.