We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spend all day here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wedgwood Museum

Wedgwood Museum
Wedgwood Drive, Barlaston ST12 9ER, England
+44 1782 371900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Barlaston
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: For a unique experience and a very warm welcome, the stunning Wedgwood Museum is the place to visit - whether you just like looking at beautiful objects or have a specialist interest. We are the home of one of the most interesting ceramic collections in the world. Our galleries tell the story of Josiah Wedgwood, his family, and the company he founded two-and-a-half centuries ago. New visitor experience for 2015! As a result, we are closing the site to customers from 24th December 2014 through until April 2015.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Spend all day here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Watch the 20 minute informative video to set the scene, before going to the demonstration area and observing the skilled craftspeople at work. They were all very welcoming and pleased to talk about what they were doing. For an additional charge you can even make your own pot, which they will fire and post on to you - we didn't. However, allow loads of time for the museum, which is extensive - we thought it would never end! Thank goodness for the cafe, for a welcome break or two. The shop, boutique and factory outlet had plenty to offer - we are enjoying our new porridge bowls - £2 each - must be 'seconds', but we're still proud to own some Wedgwood!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    28
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle under Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tourist Lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Basic feel to the area, bit I suppose it is more like a cafe. Food ok but room too cold. Adequate but I don't think I'll be going back in a hurry

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“heaven for the wife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

the museum was very informative and well set out, amazing factual tour and hands on, the shop was very good and we got some nice pieces at an extrodiary low prices.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Utterly brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is one of Britain's great highlights: superbly curated museum, access to workshops, lovely little cafe, gift shop and the Wedgwood outlet shop to boot. We arrived just after the museum opened on 3 January and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We wandered around the site pretty much undisturbed (I can't guarantee that the museum would be like this in summer!) and could take our time looking carefully at the exhibits. The museum is exceptionally well-designed to be educational for all ages and also of enormous interest to experts.
We were really surprised how large the collection was and how carefully curated.
I recommend this as a great day out especially if you are at all interested in Britain's industrial past.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This Museum is one of the few remaining places where the Stoke Potteries are remembered. The gift shop has a variety of products, suitable for all purses.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wedgwood Museum also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Wedgwood Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wedgwood Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.