We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dog friendly guest house we've visited in the UK!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hay House Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ipstones
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hay House Farm
Save
You added Hay House Farm to your Saves list
Belmont Road, Ipstones ST10 2JR, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Ipstones B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Best dog friendly guest house we've visited in the UK!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I have just arrived home from what was an exceptional stay at Hay house Farm, feeling 100% relaxed and recharged thanks to the wonderful hosts, Adrain and Debbie, Lucy the spaniel and their array of friendly pedigree sheep and chickens!
We can't rate this place enough for the hospitality you recieve from the minute you arrive, to the luxurious rooms, foody treats waiting in your room, the beautifully cooked breakfasts which filled us up for the whole day (especially Debbies home-made vegi glamorgan sausages!), a huge field for the dogs to run about in, watching the sunset whilst in the hot-tub drinking wine each evening and the amazing attention to detail with the 'dog packs' which only a dog owner would appreciate!
We also have two dogs, one old boy and one puppy, both of whom were welcomed wholeheartedly. This was officially the puppy's 1st holiday and with that in mind, we payed extra care with introducing her to Debbies sheep and chickens which paid dividends. Debbie was so helpful with this and completely encouraged the pup meeting her animals when done responsibly.
This place really is a find which we will begrudgingly (we don't want it to get too popular!!!)recommend to all our friends and family!
Thanks so much Debbie and Adrian for a lovely restful break, and we look forward to visiting again!
A & B Hopwood & Ollie & Hattie xxxx

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian room on the ground floor which is spacious, filled with beautiful furnitu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianhallard, Owner at Hay House Farm, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to give Hay House Farm this wonderful review. We are happy you all enjoyed your stay, including your two amazing dogs!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    3
    2
    0
    4
See reviews for
10
37
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We, like others, can't understand any negative reviews of Hay House Farm. We just got home yesterday and so I have just seen the review left by someone who let their untrained dog run free, to kill a chicken and then write a bad review!! Seriously, after meeting Debbie and Adrian, and their wonderful dog Lucy, I know that they would have handled this situation in the best possible way.

We stayed over Valentines - purely as it was the time we could get off as teachers - and were SO pleased with our room. This is the room downstairs with the separate bathroom. We were told about the choices of the rooms when we rang. Debbie was most helpful and although at first we were sure we wanted an en-suite, we changed our mind after realising the Victorian Room is nearer the back door (good for the dog!), away from the other rooms (good for a restful break) and it looked lovely on the website. It was also near the hot tub which is nice if you wish to go out there in a robe.
Debbie even walked, whilst on the phone to me, from the room to the bathroom so I could hear how far it was. Not far at all. It is a lovely bathroom with a great shower and it is private to you. NO-ONE else goes in there (they all have their own loos, why would they) and you have a key if you so wish to lock it when not in there.
We also would like to mention the bed in that room - seemed new and very good quality - and the pillows and bed linen...it is just lovely to notice good quality when you are not paying 5 star prices. We slept like logs both nights, and I know if it did get cold we would surely have felt comfortable telling Debbie and she would have sorted this out. We were cosy however.

Our dog, Honey, loved HHF - and Lucy the spaniel who helped her hunt for rats in trees! - she was able to be with us and roam about (as she is well trained and friendly) in the house and we always checked with the other guests if she was welcome in the lounge or dining room. Saying that, she was mostly out with us walking or asleep, exhausted in her bed! Debbie and Adrian provide a dog bed, a blanket, food, treats, a torch for walks at night, a bowl...you get a towel for the dog, and there are plenty left by the front door (which opens in to the prettiest reception area I have seen recently, the house being so old).

They gave advice on walks and the area but they were not too overbearing and they were not too distant.
We found them to be wonderful hosts.

Which brings me to the breakfast. This was a real treat and would cost a fortune here in London, so to have it included in the price was wonderful. A lot of pride goes in to their food, as in everything. We did not need lunch on both days we enjoyed their breakfasts and it really sets you up for the day.
I am gluten free too, which can be a real annoyance for me, and some hosts, but they got the local butcher to make gluten free sausages!! They were super. We also had gluten free bread and when we first got to our room, Debbie had left gluten free chocolate biscuits! The small things like that were really nice.
Guests staying when we did had their evening meal there and they enjoyed home made soup, lamb shanks in red wine and the Baileys creme brûlée. They raved about it.

That is why I am aghast at the bad review (s). We have already recommended it and will stay again for sure. We met 3 other guests and they were very happy too.

Thank you Debbie and Adrian - you are doing a wonderful job.

Nathalie & Aaron.

Room Tip: I have already recommended the room we stayed in but would like to advise you to eat the steak at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianhallard, Owner at Hay House Farm, responded to this review, February 17, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful review. It was a real pleasure to have you all stay and we really look forward to welcoming you to Hay House Farm again. We are also really pleased that you enjoyed our local dog friendly village pub, The Marquis of Granby, and we will certainly convey to the landlord your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I am appalled by the review given by Teg. We stayed the same weekend as them (which was actually Sept 2011 and not April 2011) as we recall how mortified Debbie was particularly about the tragic loss of one of her chickens.
Adrian and Debbie run a wonderful home from home, where our 2 dogs are treated like one of the family. It was our second visit in 2 years, and we had a better stay than our first one. Our room was comfortable, clean, and sufficiently warm enough, and we knew that if there were any issues, A & D would deal with it as best as they could. The food was better than most main chain hotels, and hand cooked in their kitchen to order, both breakfast and evening meals. We could even include the local blackberries that we picked from down the lane during our stay. As before, dog beds, towels, crates, bowls and treats were all provided gratis.
Both hosts were at all times very friendly to us both, entertaining us with stories about the local area and it's people. They are well versed in the history of the property and land, and where possible they have retained a lot of period features of the farm.
This time we were pleased to be able to allow our dogs to be in the dining room and lounge with us (thankfully the don't beg at the table!). They enjoyed the field below the farmhouse, where they could run free and safely.
We heartedly recommend Hay House Farm to dogs and their owners for a beautiful stay in the Staffordshire countryside.

Room Tip: Go for the Belmont room at Hay House Farm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianhallard, Owner at Hay House Farm, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have you all stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

Having been a very happy guest at Hay House Farm Bed and Breakfast on several occasions, which is indeed very dog friendly, I would like to respond to the negative review below.
I have been fortunate enough to enjoy staying in all 3 rooms that this lovely B&B has to offer (on several different occasions).

The room complained about is a downstairs room that is very spacious and well decorated, however it is the only one lacking an ensuite. The bathroom/shower is a short walk down the hall, is very clean and has NEVER been occupied by anyone other than the guests of that room whenever I have been there (and I have stayed there a lot).
The advantage of the downstairs room is that you are able to walk straight outside to a wonderful relaxing hottub, which you can book for an afternoon or evening to make your stay even better! It also has easy access for those who are movement impaired/unable to climb stairs.
As a grade 2 listed building I think it is nice that the owners have not altered the original state of the property, and when you ring up to book, you will be given your choice of rooms that are available and given a short description of what they have to offer. It was made perfectly clear to me that if I stayed in the ground room I would have a short walk to the bathroom, but that it was for my sole use. I had no problem with that, but if I had there were 2 other rooms on offer, and both have very nice private ensuite bathrooms. One is even very large.

The house itself is very unique and is situated in the middle of some of the most amazing countryside I have ever seen. The area is a farming community, thus there are other animals (suitably contained I feel) within fields near to the house. I have never really seen them loose, nor in the kitchen, which is closed off, clean, and away from any doors leading to the outside. In fact, I fail to see how it is possible this person could have seen a chicken in the actual kitchen. If you go to stay there you will understand what I mean by the layout. It sounds like a made up story to me?

I love the rustic setting, the chance to get back to nature, and I adore being able to see real sheep and chickens that are free range and well cared for when I get a break from the town I live in.

Whenever I have stayed at Hay House Farm Debbie and Adrian have bent over backwards to accomodate me and other guests and treat us with the respect RESPONSABLE dog owners deserve.
If someone is unable to control their animal and prevent it from savaging a chicken, which no doubt was someone else's property, I fail to see how that is the fault of the establishment. I would also be very angry if it were my chicken. From the sounds of it this person's dog killed a chicken? Why would they even want to advertise that lack of control on a website? If they can't stop their animal from taking a chicken it could easily bite a child.

On another note, Debbie's cooking is divine, all home made and she creates the most wonderful cooked breakfasts and crème brulées with Baileys that I have ever tasted, highly recommended :)

This place really is worth every penny, it would just be nice for people to treat the places they stay at with the same respect they would treat their own properties.

I set out to write this review to try and stop someone who has had perhaps a bad experience or is out to bring people down, from ruining the hard work of 2 people who have a guest book full of wonderful comments from many very satisfied customers.

It is very easy to bring someone down, and one bad review can ruin a place, it takes a long time to build up a good reputation, but I feel this place deserves it. Hay House Farm is unique, more like staying at a house with friends, except with all the commodities one expects from a B&B.

If you are looking to book I would give it serious consideration because I doubt you would be disappointed. :) They also have a facebook and Twitter account if you are interested to research them further.

Room Tip: I love the Sherwin room, it's smallest but very warm if you are always cold like me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianhallard, Owner at Hay House Farm, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Guests like you make our job a pleasure. We know that you have the same respect for animals that we have at Hay House Farm. As a result of one of our free-range chickens being killed by the "terrible" reviewer's dog, the reviewer then decided to apportion blame at our door, not her own. We do not and cannot blame her dog .. it was merely acting upon natural instinct, in the lack of responsible ownership, by someone who was watching TV, rather than watching her dog. When it made an error of judgement because of its youth, its owner then apparently threw blame at someone else's door. She then gave minimal scores on everything on Tripadvisor, notwithstanding that she only stayed an hour, before she was asked to leave. She then cited lack of bathroom facilities (?), chickens in the kitchen(?) and basically anything that would discredit Hay House Farm, per se. We have had literally hundreds of truly wonderful guests staying at Hay House Farm - all of whom respect animals and love wildlife and their dogs, just like we do. How sad that this reviewer never empathised with any of her fellow guests?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Yes, it's all very pretty.
I booked, then was told by the owners that they would have chickens wandering around (in the kitchen?). I advised them before I arrived that my little cocker spaniel was very young and I wasn't sure at all. They refused to cancel my booking, adopted a very superior attitude, I thought.
So I turned up my with my pup.
I had no en suite, bathroom at the end of the corridor (always occupied).
I had not even finished unpacking before my pup got out into a neighbour's garden and savaged a chicken. I hadn't even opened a door; someone else had let her out.
I was very shocked, and doubly shocked at the owners' response.
It was dreadful. Never again.

Room Tip: get one with a bathroom, not one used by the workmen
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianhallard, Owner at Hay House Farm, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
We are very sorry that your experience of Hay House Farm has culminated in this review. We are even more sorry that our experience of you as a guest, in September 2011, culminated in one of our free range chickens being chased to the point of exhaustion by your dog, who then grabbed it round the neck, killed it, carried it off into a neighbouring farmer's field adjacent to our land and proceeded to dismember it, whilst you sat in your room, with your door wide open and watched TV, on a warm, sunny afternoon, rather than supervising your dog. It was clear, from the one hour that you stayed here, that you were a totally irresponsible dog owner and, when we saw you retrieving your dog from the neighbouring farmer's field by dragging her along with her collar, often lifting her feet off the floor and choking her, it was clear that you were not an animal lover either. Your comment to us that "it did not matter, it was only a chicken" resulted in us asking you to immediately leave. We deeply care for all our animals at Hay House Farm, chickens, sheep and our lovely dogs and there is nothing we can say further on the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Just visited Hay House Farm web site in view of booking a weekend break, after spending a wonderfull christmas there in 2010 and we could not believe you are no longer accepting guest dogs anymore. Having read all the positive reviews from dog owners and then reading ONE negative review ( also being a dog owner, Mmm the mind boggles) i was very disappointed to read your comments supporting the one negative review. We do hope you will reconsider your decision, or there will be a lot of unhappy dogs and owners. Hay House Farm was the nicest and dog friendliest place we have ever visited and we have visited a lot of places over the years
Kind regards......... Ken Debbie Jack and Tillie

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianhallard, Owner at Hay House Farm, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
WE ARE PROUD TO REPORT THAT HAY HOUSE FARM CONTINUES TO BE A VERY DOG FRIENDLY BED & BREAKFAST! When we previously indicated that we were no longer accepting dogs, we were absolutely inundated with emails and calls, from guests who had stayed before and new guests who had been recommended by friends and colleagues, asking us to seriously reconsider our decision and not let our judgement be swayed by one reviewer who merely stayed for a few hours, never got to know us, or understood what Hay House Farm is all about! WE ARE PROUD TO BE THE MOST DOG FRIENDLY BED AND BREAKFAST IN THE PEAK DISTRICT, we will continue to welcome our four-legged friends and their owners, and do all we can to ensure they have a fantastic holiday here.
We thank you sincerely for your wonderful review and your comments. It is guests like you, who do appreciate this beautiful, listed farmhouse, its incredible history, breathtaking location and totally safe environment for dogs, that make Hay House Farm - A Very Dog Friendly B&B the success it has become and continues to be. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We have not long come back from our second stay at Hay House Farm. If you love your dogs and need a break away this is the place to stay. The dogs are treated like guests with bedding, treats, blankets, towels, water/food bowls on arrival. They have a huge 5 acre field with which the dogs are free to run about till their little hearts are content! There is also plenty of walks from the doorstep - a great walk through the woods to a very nice pub by the canal where you can unwind for lunch/dinner. There are also plenty of pubs close by that are happy for your dogs to come along with you.

We have stayed now in two of the three rooms available and have had no problems at all. Our first stay was in July last year and our second stay in November this year and we have found both rooms lovely and warm with plenty of room and kitted out with everything you need. Both rooms have been very welcoming, spacious and clean.

I'm sure all (or most at least) people who have dogs do have them around whilst eating so to have dogs in the dining area is not a problem (the dining area is also the lounge area which has a large wood burner and comfy sofas). Dogs are not allowed on any of the furniture (including furniture in the bedrooms).

We took advantage of the hot tub also on our last trip which was a perfect end to a long day of walking miles, playing with our dogs and enjoying the fresh air!

As for the hosts, Adrian and Debbie couldn't be more attentive! They are always on hand should you need anything and are really easy going and friendly. They have dogs of their own and they also have sheep and chickens (fresh eggs for brekkie!!).

The breakfasts are filling consisting of cereals, toast, yoghurts, and a full English breakfast and to wash it all down, fresh orange juice, water, tea and coffee. They also provide dinner meals but we have always eaten out so will probably sample the menu on our next trip.

Overall we would highly recommend this as a place to stay! We think it's worth every penny and will be back again next year :)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adrianhallard, Owner at Hay House Farm, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and for taking time to post your review about Hay House Farm.

It was a pleasure to have you stay and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hay House Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hay House Farm

Address: Belmont Road, Ipstones ST10 2JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Ipstones
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ipstones
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hay House Farm is a Grade II listed, SUPER DOG FRIENDLY farmhouse B&B, with ten acres of fields and gardens, all set in a spectacular, rural location, on the edge of the Peak District National Park and Churnet Valley, in Ipstones. Hay House Farm warmly welcomes dogs and permits them to be off-lead throughout the farmhouse, including dining room. We provide fully-fenced exercise facilities and dog-sitting services too. Safe country walks from the door into breathtaking scenery, with no main roads in sight. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hay House Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.