We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reds Restaurant

Reds Restaurant
Boundary, Nr Cheadle | The Red Lion Inn, Boundary, Cheadle ST10 2NU, England
01538 753476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Restaurants in Boundary
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serving homemade, quality food - catering to the Gluten Free diner with 80% of menu being available to them. Pies are our speciality - homemade on the premises with real pastry tops and bottoms! None of your stews in dishes with puff pastry lids here.... Warm atmosphere, welcoming and friendly!
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Absolutely gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I have just been to the Red Lion for the first time tonight with my friend for a christmas meal and was very impressed with the quality and taste of the food. Its not cheap but not expensive but definitly worth the money. I had the roast turkey with all the trimmings, everything was cooked to perfection. The dessert was mouth watering one of the best Iv ever had, The staff were friendly and the look and atmosphere of the place was brilliant, would highly recommend!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    17
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
almeria
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sophistication in Stoke”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Pleasant, attractive interior. The menu is adequate. However, a little lacking in atmosphere for some indefinable reason.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quality food in a great pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

We have been to Reds for several meals to celebrate family birthdays etc.

The food is always great, well cooked and beautifully presented. Matt, the landlord is a great host, in fact all the staff are welcoming and friendly.

We have recommended Reds to several friends, all have been equally impressed.

The cost is a little higher than the "chain" pubs locally but the quality shines through, it is certainly worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sunday Lunch with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

See my review for' Reds Restaurant in Boundary' as this is the same place. Food is homemade, fresh and lovely. The Sunday Roast Beef and Yorkies was yummy with plenty of piping hot veg. Price is very reasonable, service is spot on and nothing was too much effort. A warm pub with cosy bar and open fire and lovely dining room. Best pub in area. Family owned. Would recommend to anyone. Would strongly advise booking. :@)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A sunday lunch with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brought the whole family here for a sunday lunch birthday party and it was lovely. Have been elsewhere locally and no where compares to the quality for the price. We ate in the main dining room which seats a little over 20 ish (altho you can eat in the bar aswell) and had 3 courses for about £12 each, you could tell it was homemade, especially the gravy. I think my table ( there were 12 of us) most of us had the traditional roast beef and yorkies which was fab, I think grandad had the chicken and someone else had the pie and everyone was happy, all piping hot, plenty of veg, even when we asked for more and got more after a couple of minutes later we werent charged extra so that was good. I think Its a family owned traditional pub restaurant and would recommend it to anyone. I'd advise booking tho as they had to turn a few away and I heard them say later on they'd sold out of beef ( 'lol' ) which is not surprising as it was yummy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reds Restaurant also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
Teanford, Staffordshire
 

Been to Reds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reds Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.