We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A sunday lunch with the family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Reds Restaurant

Reds Restaurant
Boundary, Nr Cheadle | The Red Lion Inn, Boundary, Cheadle ST10 2NU, England
01538 753476
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Boundary
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Serving homemade, quality food - catering to the Gluten Free diner with 80% of menu being available to them. Pies are our speciality - homemade on the premises with real pastry tops and bottoms! None of your stews in dishes with puff pastry lids here.... Warm atmosphere, welcoming and friendly!
staffordshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A sunday lunch with the family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Brought the whole family here for a sunday lunch birthday party and it was lovely. Have been elsewhere locally and no where compares to the quality for the price. We ate in the main dining room which seats a little over 20 ish (altho you can eat in the bar aswell) and had 3 courses for about £12 each, you could tell it was homemade, especially the gravy. I think my table ( there were 12 of us) most of us had the traditional roast beef and yorkies which was fab, I think grandad had the chicken and someone else had the pie and everyone was happy, all piping hot, plenty of veg, even when we asked for more and got more after a couple of minutes later we werent charged extra so that was good. I think Its a family owned traditional pub restaurant and would recommend it to anyone. I'd advise booking tho as they had to turn a few away and I heard them say later on they'd sold out of beef ( 'lol' ) which is not surprising as it was yummy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    16
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“AWE SOME PIES!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

i have never had such good pies as served in this pub, pie night on Thursday nights is amazing 4 home made pies including a vegetarian choice, these are proper pies with a top and bottom not just stew in a dish with a dodgy puff pastry lid put on top home made chips and mash and top minted mushy peas and real good gravy, and the home made deserts are to die for especially the best chocolate pudding ,will be going back again and the pies change each week and there only £7.95 and a free drink in the snug room or the bar

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs Moorlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistantly good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We go to this restaurant regularly and have never been disappointed. The menu is varied and the food is very well presented. The weekly selections of pies are delicious. Do not let the word "pies" put you off...these are freshly made and are top quality. Puddings are made by the chef and are gorgeous. The service is efficient and friendly and during the cold weather the fire is roaring in the bar area. The restaurant is lovely but you can choose to eat in the bar area if you wish. Love it here, so pleased we are reasonably local.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
“Taking visiting family to a local favourite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

It was Friday evening when we rang up from a pub in the local town to see if they had a table.
So four of us headed up to Reds the log fire was burning and a warm welcom was afforded us. We chose drinks from the bar, the Rudles County was the best I've tasted in a long time, we were shown to our table in the dinning room. The menu was, I think, revised from our last visit, I started with a tasty fish cake topped with a poached egg & hollandise sauce on a bed of spinach. Then I selected a hamhock & blackpudding pie, one of three special pies on that evening, with mash & mushey peas but chips & vegetables were also available. We all passed on a pudding as had had our fill but there was a good selection & looked tasty.
The food was all of an excellent standard & well presented plus it was all very good value.
The staff in both the bar & reastarunt were friendly & helped make for a very enjoyable dinning experiance. Well worth the short trip out of town.
We will be returning soon :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

I have been here about 6 times and loved it every time. The food is home cooked and so tasty. it's way better than pub food, it's restaurant quality food at affordable prices. The best ever chocolate pudding really is the best and I'm not even a coeliac! This places specialises in gluten free food, I've chosen this many times and its so tasty. This would be my first choice for a meal anytime!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reds Restaurant also viewed

Cheadle, Staffordshire
 
Cheadle, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Reds Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Reds Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.