We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Carmichael Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Carmichael Guesthouse to your Saves list
Carmichael Guesthouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11 Wolmunster Road | Rosebank, Rosebank 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosebank B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Our stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We loved our stay at the Carmichael Guesthouse. Valerie and Yves were wonderful and gracious hosts, helping us plan our day and get around. The connecting rooms were perfect for our family. Great value with wonderful breakfast. Pleasant location. We highly recommend it.
John, Carole, Nick and Maya - Bayside, NY

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear John,

Thank you so much for having taken the time to send such a kind comment. We had such a pleasure having you with us and I must say that Fripon has been looking for Maya for a few days after your departure...
He has been blessed lately with a couple of young girls staying with their parents.
Send our regards to Carole and we trust that your son will have a great experience here whilst at UCT.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
71
29
11
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

In additio to being friendly and helpful generally, they helped take care of my special diet needs. Very helpful. Very nice to sit outside in the garden - they served us tea outside even though it was not dinner time. Special time for me and my friends.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Laurie,

Thank you for having stayed with us. We are glad that you've enjoyed your stay.
Your review is much appreciated.
Look after yourself.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were visiting from the United States in April 2013. Our daughter was on a semester abroad in Cape Town (she is in college in New York) and we had the pleasure of booking our stay at The Carmichael Guesthouse. Yves and Valerie were outstanding proprietors and hosts. Rooms are spacious and very clean. Beds are comfortable, towels and sheets are just like home. Breakfasts were fresh with plenty of choices (fruit, eggs, muffins, etc.).
We stayed a total of about 7 nights. First for 5 nights then headed up to Kruger National Park and came back and stayed another 2 nights. And by the way, Yves who worked in the airline industry for many years (Air France) made many of our accomodations for us, and was more than happy to do so.
Our experience was more in line with a well run hotel, but, had a warm B&B feeling to it. There is no doubt that I RECOMMEND Carmichael Guesthouse for those looking to get a friendly, clean and upbeat experience and not pay the $300-$500 per night for the big name hotels in downtown Cape Town.
Dennis Q - San Antonio, Texas

Room Tip: My preference would be a room on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Dennis,

I am delighted and proud to receive such wonderful review from you. Thank you!
I am so glad you had such an exquisite time in the KNP. I was very jealous when I saw some of your pictures...
Thank you for booking your daughter with us for her last night in Cape Town.

Keep well and please don’t forget to send us some news from Texas!
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Carmichael's guesthouse was the best guest lodge I have ever stayed in. Just walking into it, the first time, it felt like home and a home I'd love to be raised in. Val and Yves are the best hosts ever!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Neesha,

A warm thank you for those very kind and comforting words, always highly appreciated.
Valerie & I would be delighted to host you again.
All the best / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, Usa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Carmichael. Yves and Valerie are warm, welcoming and friendly. The house is absolutely gorgeous and every detail is perfectly attended to, from the beautiful furnishings and linens to the stocked minibar, flat-screen TV, hairdryer and even hot water bottle available in the room. The house, room and bathroom were immaculately clean; the gardens lovely. The neighborhood is excellent, just tucked under Table Mountain and near the U of Cape Town, so I could walk for quite a while. I would definitely stay there again if I go back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Mary Anne,

Thank you so much for such rewarding comment. It has been such a pleasure hosting you. Thank you for your sharp eye, noticing all these small details put in place by Valerie making what our guest house is: not only a beautiful place but a cosy home with character, and this is what our guests tell us. We could not expect better reward!

Wishing you all the best and why not, see you in the near future together with your companion.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Our stay at the Carmichael Guesthouse was totally delightful. Our room was really charming. The outdoor sitting areas were very sweet. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious and the staff and owners were accomodating, friendly and welcoming. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear Abby,

Many thanks for your delightful comment. Valerie & I are glad that you enjoyed your stay.
Keep well. Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My daughter was a student at UCT and we wanted to stay close by. I cannot recommend highly enough. Our room was spacious and elegant. Hot breakfasts were cooked to order and super yummy. Fruit salad a delicious start to the day. Hosts and staff all smiles and helpfulness. We would return without hesitation. Highly recommend.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael G, Owner at Carmichael Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Judith,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I must say that we are regularly blessed with the stay of US parents visiting their children whilst @ UCT for a semester. It has always been such a pleasant experience and you are no exception to the rule.
I am sure that your daughter had a great time in CPT and amongst all activities I guess that she managed to study a bit...
Keep well and all the best.
Best regards / Yves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carmichael Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carmichael Guesthouse

Address: 11 Wolmunster Road | Rosebank, Rosebank 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rosebank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosebank
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmichael Guesthouse 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Guest House is a stylish Victorian mansion, offering comfortable accommodation with 6 en-suite tastefully decorated rooms. Situated on the slopes of Table Mountain, our guesthouse is within walking distance to the University of Cape Town (UCT). Carmichael Guesthouse is 15 min away from Cape Town city bowl and Cape Town international airport via easily accessible highways. The original stained glass windows, wooden floors and original Victorian fireplaces add warmth and ambiance. You will enjoy the peaceful garden, resting on a long chair by the sparkling swimming pool. The Guest House is very central. Nearby lie Cape Town's most famous touristic attractions such as Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch Botanical Garden, Robben Island, V&A Waterfront, Constantia Winelands, Rhodes Memorial and many more...Golf courses, Cricket and Rugby Stadiums are also just around the corner. Yves, Valerie and their daughters Chloe and Charlotte will ensure that "home from home" feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Carmichael Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmichael Guesthouse Cape Town/Rosebank, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carmichael Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.