We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'ts HEAVEN on Earth !!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Save Saved
You added SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge
5.0 of 5 Ranch   |   20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“I'ts HEAVEN on Earth !!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Oooooooh, what a place.......You'll have to experience it for Yourself, but You surely gonner tell me "Your spot on mate". The green trees and grass gives one that jungle feeling. Tropical fish to hang out with and if not then You can take the dogs: Lichy, Mango and Freddie [The BOSS] for a nice stroll on the beach. Staff always,yes always friendly and helpfull and great to hang out with them. The births wake You in the morning with amazing tunes and sounds just like in the jungle even thou Saltycrax are in the heart of a residential area. I LOVE IT HERE !!!!!!!

Le-Mar

Room Tip: Craig is the nicest room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
7
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

i love Salties, the dogs are Uber friendly, the rooms are really nice and the staff are really helpful. the accomm is situated only a short walk to TableView beach which has some incredible sunsets directly over Robben Island and i spent most of my time here surfing and taking photos.

The accomm is usually full of young Scandinavian volunteers who are really fun to hang out with and the lounge area is really comfy. Sort of like a friends house where random people keep dropping in and out.

Pity the spa wasnt working

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I really love this place, everybody is so friendly and helpful and you meet so many new people. It's such a good vibe around here. And so close to the wonderful beach! I would definitely stay here again. Saltycrax, I like it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Table View, Western Cape, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Never want to leave, could stay here forever! The staff and the people who are staying here are so nice, meet so many new friends here. SaltyCrax is very chilled and it is so much happening at the same time. Love SaltyCrax!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for our first two nights in cape town, great vibe close to the beach and amazing staff. Our room was far better than we could have hoped for and we would definitely stay here again when back in Cape Town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Love this place, feels like home! I didn't want to leave! If I would come back to Cape Town I would stay at Saltycrax Backpacker!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Excellent people and very friendly, fun place to stay. The dogs are cute!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge

Address: 20 Briza Road, Table View 7441, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Table View
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty lodging in Table View
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer 4 star accommodation situated close to the beautiful white beaches of Blouberg and the famous Kite beach. We provide affordable accommodation for tourists wanting to visit the Blaauwberg area and have an experience of a lifetime! Our facilities include a Jacuzzi, self catering kitchen, entertainment area etc. We are rolling distance from the beach, restaurants, bars, transport terminals etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge Cape Town, South Africa - Table View

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SaltyCrax Backpackers / Surflodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.