We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great COFFEE!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hello Sailor

Hello Sailor
86 Lower Main Road, Observatory, South Africa
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Amanzimtoti, KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great COFFEE!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

On my holiday in Cape Town, i stumbled across this little pub/coffee bar/restaurant. The soft rock called me from the street and dared me to go inside. This is where i enjoyed one of the best prego rolls of my life. The vibe is very Indie and laid back. Dont expect prompt service and someone to wait on you hand and foot. People come here to relax. And Nic (scary guy at the counter) is such a teddy bear, a real sweet heart. They also serve craft beer but that's not my thing.

I continued to come back here every morning for my large and FABULOUS cup of coffee to chill out while i read my book. Absolutely love Hello Sailor! They should bring one to Durban!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    0
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I had a great time at Hello Sailor, the food was great and reasonably priced and the coffee is spectacular. The atmosphere is fun and comfortable, the staff were professional and friendly and the owner is charming with great taste in music. I will come here again most definitely and recommend it to anyone coming to Cape Town.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Horrible...the abuse is free.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I went with 2 friends, for breakfast. Like JPSRWW, I was shocked at the way the owner (or whoever) treated us. I asked a simple yes/no question about the availability of an ingredient, and received not an answer but a scathing shouty verbal tirade, for no apparent reason other than the guy's personal opinion on the health consequences of my dietary choices (which, on the plus side, was funny, because he in no way looks or acts healthy).

The guy (looks like Bluto from Popeye) was moody, approached our table more than once and, just as we started talking to place our order, he interrupted with "You're obviously not ready yet" and would swerve past our table to clear an empty table or to do something else - he did this about 4 times. My friends wanted to eat there, otherwise I would have simply walked out.

The breakfast is cheap because it is small (which is not necessarily a bad thing, not everyone wants to pig out at every meal). It's nice but nothing amazing and the bread is rubbish. (I had heard their food is nice from another friend.) The coffee is good but you can get good coffee in other places. The music is way too loud for breakfast at 9 a.m.

I didn't let the guy's rudeness get to me at the time, but I will never go there again; there really is no excuse for staff to be so actively mean to paying customers (unless you're into that). I checked Trip Advisor to see if this was a trend - apparently I am not the only one who had an experience like this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

I was staying around the corner at The Green Elephant and came here for breakfast most mornings, friendly staff great food and excellent coffee, i did stop in one evening for a snack and a drink which was also fine

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Expect nothing, but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

"Hello Sailor", the Obs restaurant. Ask for the pork belly ribs and take your tongue on the oral version of an Elysian holiday. I suspect that they've got the last breeding pair of unicorns in the back and they're dipping each rack in the tears of their joy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hello Sailor also viewed

Observatory, Cape Town
Woodstock, Cape Town
 
Observatory, Cape Town
Cape Town Central, Cape Town
 

Been to Hello Sailor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello Sailor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.