We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for the great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bohemian Lofts Backpackers

Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bohemian Lofts Backpackers to your Saves list
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers
41 Trill Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks for the great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What an amazing location right on the buzz of the main street in Observatory. You can walk to all kinds of cool stuff. My room was very funky, spacious and comfortable with a bathroom ensuite. Very friendly staff and nice facilities. I highly recommend it!

Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi there!

So glad to hear you enjoyed our unique rooms and what the fantastic area of Observatory, or ''Obs'' as we call it has to offer!! Hope to see you back soon!

Best Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
7
8
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Our stay at The Bohemian Lofts was a pleasant one. The beds were very comfortable and just what we needed after an evening out and the service always with a smile. We appreciated that the lockers each had a safe to store our sentimentals in and the free Wi-Fi an added bonus. We loved the neighbourhood and loved that the accommodation was reasonably priced! Best place to stay for students.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. We really loved having your group stay with us and are so glad to hear you had a great time!! We hope to have the oppourtunity to welcome you back again sometime.

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Bohemian Lofts was easy to find and ideally situated for our night out. The behind the scenes staff were fantastic in assisting us with the booking and also booked us a seat at our favourite restaurant. Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly receptionist who assisted us even though it seemed our booking had not been updated as of yet. He quickly resolved the problem and had us in our room in not time with a tour and promise to assist with anything else we required. The room was clean and met our requirements. I'd definitely suggest this place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi there

Thank you so much for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and the feedback about our staff is very heart warming to hear!! We hope to welcome you back to Cape Town again soon!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Bohemian Backpackers is located above shops in the Observatory area of Cape Town. It is a bit difficult to find the entrance for newcomers.The location is quite nice, near bars, restaurants, and laundries.

The staff is very helpful and responsive. Very helpful in making suggestions on what to see and how to get there.

The hostel is an older building. The rooms reflect this. In the ensuite, the bathroom is often down a steep set of stairs or has a curtain instead of a door. Some of the rooms could use a bit of maintenance - however, when told of a problem staff is quite responsive.

Breakfast is coffee and toast. No full breakfast buffet.

If you are looking for an inexpensive place to stay with no frills, this is an option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. We really appreciate your honest and fair feedback. I'm really glad to hear our staff were friendly and helpful. Our breakfast is basic, as we try to keep our prices as affordable as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandton, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Our stay at Bohemian Lofts was the first time that we have ever made use of Backpackers accomodation, and we were pleasantly surprised.
We were naturally not expecting 5 star accomodation, but found that the rooms were clean, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the general atmosphere of the establishment and the surrounding area to be perfect for our Cape Town holiday.
Looking forward to staying over at Bohemian Lofts again in the not so distant future ...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hi there!

Thank you so much for your review! I am so glad that we were able to exceed your expectations and give you a great backpackers experience. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Upon our arrival, we were greeted by a damp smell and a very unwelcoming receptionist. We stayed in the en-suite rooms, which were not cleaned before our arrival. There was hair all over the shower, and leftover soap from a previous visitor. The towels were dirty and one had blood stains on it. On the website it mentions breakfast, but this was non-existent. I would not recommend Bohemian Lofts to anyone due to the noise at night and early morning. Hygiene is not a priority for this establishment nor is hospitality. The only highlight of our stay was, the night shift receptionist, Michael, who was very accommodating.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi there, thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Whilst I hear your complaints and have made note of them, I would like to point out that I was sitting in the reception area when you checked in, and you refused to follow the rules from the start, in particular, refusing to pay. My manageress had to tell you several times that we have a strict pay on check in policy (which is standard for accommodation establishments) before you reluctantly paid. We certainly do have breakfast available everyday, we offer our guests tea, coffee, toast, spreads and breakfast rusks. These are packed away at 10am, perhaps you awoke after this time? We always encourage our guests to come and tell us right away if there is a problem, had you brought it to our attention whilst you were staying here that you felt the cleanliness wasn't up to standard, we would have sent housekeeping to your room straight away. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and hope in future we will be able to host you again and give you a better experience.

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The owner Meg is very professional was very very helpful and very informative even before I arrive in Cape town .
The hostel is clean ,has a well equipped kitchen .You have everything around you supermarkets ,restaurants .
The only thing is that the rooms are not the same as the picture ,they are much more older and not as fancy as they seem but you have enough space and they clean the room every day so I really can't complain since it is also very affordable.
If you are on a budget that would be the best place to stay in, would come back if I went again to CT.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melj234, Owner at Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. I am glad you found our establishment to be to your liking. Myself and my staff really enjoyed having you stay here and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future!

Warm Regards

Mel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bohemian Lofts Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bohemian Lofts Backpackers

Address: 41 Trill Road, Observatory 7925, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bohemian Lofts Backpackers overlooks the Obs Lower Main Road, and from the balcony, you can sit and people-watch, or just soak up the hustle and bustle of this eclectic artsy neighbourhood, Observatory. Each room is artistically themed after a different neighbourhood in Cape Town, and offers all the amenities you need for a great stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Bohemian Lofts Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bohemian Lofts Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bohemian Lofts Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.