We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of African Heart Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added African Heart Backpackers to your Saves list
African Heart Backpackers
27 Station Rd, Observatory 7905, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

A friend and I stayed for 8 days and really enjoyed it as a "home base". The staff were incredibly helpful from booking to activities to room arrangements. They even took our clothes down to the laundromat on a day that we would be gone before it opened. It had a nice, friendly atmosphere with lovely decorations, a well-stocked kitchen, and clean bathrooms with hot water at the times they say (mornings and evenings-- normal shower times). It was pretty chilly in winter so bring lots of sweaters but there is a small fireplace. It was a really great value for what we paid and we really came to feel like it was home by the end.

The area--Observatory or Obz for short-- is a nice hipster-ish place with young people and lots of restaurants. It's about a 20-min, 8 rand train ride from town (but don't take the train after dark) and a little faster by taxi. We always called or took a private taxis because we didn't feel too comfortable with the minibuses having only been in Cape Town for a week. Be sure to check out the pub at Obviouzly Armchair around the corner on Lower Main Road which has live music and a fun comedy night on Sundays. Mango Ginger also has really nice breakfast and lunch.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    11
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
15
30
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We arrived in African Heart for 3 days and stayed 10. Great atmosphere, cosy, very helpful and friendly staff that made the hostel feel like home, which is important when you travel for a long time. Close to Observatory hipster life but far enough from the bars so you can sleep at night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

And again I visited this lovely place at Station Rd corner Eden Rd.
Nothing has really changed since my last visit, and that's wonderful.
Rooms are clean, walls colorful, kitchen ready to be used, Max (the cat) still around + lovely people spending time together in the lounge/living room...

Can't recommend it even more.
If you plan to stay in Cape Town - stay here. You will have a great time!

Dorms are great for volunteers, backpacker or people, who want the best for their money ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great place to stay when in town for business. It is located just outside the CBD, but near all transport options. Observatory is a great alternative to the city centre anyway. The hostel itself is very homey, clean and filled with funky murals, and, most important, nice and quiet at night! Staff is super friendly and helpful. I ll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Loved the Pink Leopard
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spend 5 nights at African heart and it was great and easy going. It's situated at a great location, we love Obs! We were there in wintertime and had been cold for a couple of nights before. But at African Heart we became warm again! Details: We cooked a lot in the spacious kitchen and had great warm showers.

Room Tip: We sometimes woke up early in the morning from people passing on the street, chatting loud. If there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The two nights that we spent at African heART were by far the most peaceful and relaxed nights I have had staying anywhere besides my own home in a very long time.
As soon as I walked through the door I felt at ease and very comfortable. The art is truly something pleasant and beautiful.
Everyone was incredibly friendly and polite including the other guests which added to the pure comfortable vibe that African Heart held withing its masked front gate.
It was a pleasure to have been accommodated in such a genuinely friendly manner and I will be back and look forward to it with great excitement.
Thank you all for our amazing weekend.
Best regards
Aaron, Natty, Jessie and Siya

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modimolle (Nylstroom), South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My family and I had an amazingly warm and relaxing place to stay. It was affordable and hassle free. The staff was very friendly and helpfull. Will definitely be staying there again with my next trip :)

Room Tip: I enjoyed the Pink Leopard room for my family myself and husband slept on the dubble bed and two you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to African Heart Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about African Heart Backpackers

Address: 27 Station Rd, Observatory 7905, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Observatory
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Observatory
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
African Heart is a backpackers lodge with a difference. Vibrant colors, retro furniture, original artworks, spotless modern bathrooms and ultra-comfy beds. We are a small lodge offering a high quality standard of backpackers accommodation and facilities. We also offer superior guest service from our Reception, taking care of anything you need, from booking adventures and onward travels, to where to find the best local music, entertainment and food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your African Heart Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
African Heart Backpackers Observatory, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage African Heart Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.