We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palm House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palm House to your Saves list
Palm House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Wynberg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Visby, Sverige
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This place was a true paradise. Enjoy the food and the excellent service while you are there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    19
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
11
2
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights over Dec 11 and Jan 12. Rooms were large and well equiped. Service from all the staff was great - special mention to Sean and Gilbert. The breakfasts were filling and good food. The pool is excellent and great after a hot day of sightseeing. Excellent views from my room overlooking the mountains. A little out of the city but they do provide a driver and sometimes at short notice! Bathrooms were clean and mine was huge.

Room Tip: Take the executive rooms - I had the Phoenix Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Having stayed before at the Palm House in 2009 we did not look for another location in Cape Town when we came back this year. Excellent location and superb service from the staff who looked after all our needs from breakfast to the limousine service to go site seeing in the city.
A safe friendly and relaxing location.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I had a great stay. Charming bedroom, good food during breakfast, friendly staff and lovely environment.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

A charming and comfortable suite with spectacular views. Helpful staff who were quick to cater to our needs. A substantial breakfast every morning which sent us off well fed. I can highly recommend this quiet and secure B and B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Excellent place to stay in Cape Town. Has been there five times for business trip and service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Absolutely excellent and friendly service with breath-taking views of Table Mountain! Has a lovely, authentic colonial feel!

Will definitely be back soon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wynberg
1.5 mi away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#1 of 3 in Newlands
4.5 of 5 stars 778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highlands Country House
Highlands Country House
#1 of 1 in Kenilworth
5.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
1.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
The Alphen Boutique Hotel
#4 of 6 in Constantia
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Southern Sun Newlands
Southern Sun Newlands
#2 of 3 in Newlands
4.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Andros Boutique Hotel
The Andros Boutique Hotel
#1 of 1 in Claremont
5.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm House

Address: 10 Oxford Street | Upper Wynberg, Wynberg 7800, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Wynberg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wynberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palm House 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by majestic palms this tranquil retreat overlooks the magnificent Constantiaberg Mountains, taking in the rear view of the "Twelve Apostles" and "Table Mountain" Palm House was designed by a protégé of renowned architect Sir Herbert Baker in the early 1920’s and has been lovingly restored to its full grandeur. The entrance hall with its original oak floors and magnificent staircase greet you after entering the elegant arched entrance. Wood paneling, open fireplaces and rich, relaxing and elegant décor will make you feel as though you are a special guest in a private home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Palm House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm House Wynberg, Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.