We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet guest house near the university” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Scotia Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Little Scotia Guest House to your Saves list
Little Scotia Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Rustenburg Ave, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Rondebosch B&B and Inns
oslo
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A nice quiet guest house near the university”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

This is a nice quiet guest house near the University in Cape Town. It has comfortable rooms and is a relaxed place to stay. I was there in the summer time (December) and enjoyed eating a nice breakfast in the near the small pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    25
    3
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
6
5
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
East Coast
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at Little Scotia while visiting Cape Town for work. It's location adjacent to Univ of Cape Town is very convenient and it is also a lovely leafy part of the city.

The guesthouse has two sweet and friendly dogs. Getting to pet them totally made my day.

I'm a runner so I found the location very convenient for that. I chose a level run along Main Rd. but hill-lovers could get a great workout by heading up into UCT campus.

Great breakfast and great price also!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was a lovely and very pleasant environment to be in. Right in the shadow of Table Mountain, it is comfortable, clean, well-organized, well-run and very cozy. It is actually a bit spread out inside (though you wouldn't know from the street) and the rooms have everything you need. Breakfast was very nice, the service was excellent, and the staff was very helpful and accommodating on every request I had. Two small notes; the bathroom in my room was a bit small, and the room was a bit cold. But other than that, perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

this is a nice small boutique hotel, good place to chill out with your family. Well located near Cape town university, which is walking distance, but also has many restaurants and shopping places near by. Does not cost too much to go down to the water front for an evening.
There is only breakfast, all other meals have to be had. Great place for parents to stay when visiting their children at the university.
The rooms are nice, quaint, but a little musty sometimes. Ofcourse I went in the raining season. The staff are excellent to assist you with any of your needs.
They have some small snacks and wine by the glass and bottle reasonably priced.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed at The Little Scotia for about 2 weeks while visiting my friends that were abroad. This hotel was the perfect location if you are visiting anybody at Cape Town university. It a block off of the main drag where all the students come to eat, drink, and hang out.

If you want to be in the heart of Cape town closer to the beach, waterfront, and more tourist attractions this is probably not the place for you. The cab ride into town cost 190 rand and takes 15 min.

The rooms were clean and had an authentic feel to them. The complimentary breakfast was very convenient, but at times there were a lot of flies sitting on the fruit and meat, but there was great granola and various cereals.

The staff is friendly and were very helpful setting up accommodation from and to the airport. Great great price very affordable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABUJA, LAGOS
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was at this B& B last week (June 2nd 2013 to Yesterday (June 8, 2013) for a training at UCT. The atmosphere is cozy and has home feeling. I have no complaints as my wi fi worked in my room. I did not pay transport to UCT Middle campus. I will like to visit with my Family for vacation. Their morning breakfast helped us to avoid looking for food in then morning.

Mark is a very nice and smiling Guy who helped us settle in despite the heavy rain/snow of that night. I became friends with Mark and he was great allowing me to use his phone to call my family back in Nigeria. Michelle is wonderful too.
I recommend this place

Room Tip: Choose the rooms within the main building for a stronger wi fi signal. minus this , basically same...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is a charming guest house, more like a bed and breakfast with a relaxing, homey feel. It's conveniently located to UCT and is a nice alternative to the standard chain hotels. The grounds have a tropical feel with a small pool and a jacuzzi. Breakfast is served every morning from 7-10am. It's very casual, and you have your daily selection of fruits, meats, cheeses, cereals, breads and juice. Waitresses will come by to take your egg order. The front desk staff is friendly and I really enjoyed Stanley!! He was so funny and very helpful.

The location is right off the main street, down a small small alley like street, but the place seemed secure. Both the main entry, as well as the main house, is locked but you will have key access for after hours. The establishment is surrounded by a brick wall with electric wire on top. Kinda prison-like, but once you step through the main door, it doesn't feel like a prison at all. There are restaurants right around the corner as well as a grocery store, pharmacy and small mall, all within 5 min walk. It's also easy to catch a taxi, but the hotel will call one for you. The train station is about a 15 min walk and I'd recommend it if you're planning to go to the beach. It's inexpensive and gives you a scenic view. Make sure to pay a few Rand more for the metro plus ticket.

A few things of which to be aware:
There is one guest room in the "main house" (where you check in and where breakfast is served). Should you get this room know that it's right across from the dining room and though there's a partition separating the two, you will hear the ladies setting up around 6:30am as well as the breakfast diners from 7-10am. If you plan to leave right after breakfast, this won't be a problem, however if you plan on sleeping in, the noise will be bothersome. Also, the guest house closes around 10pm and no one can get into the main house after this time (snacks and beverages are located in the main house). Only the guest in the room in the main house will have a key to the main house. The advantage of the "main house guest room" is that wifi is better. You also have access to the snacks if you get the late night munchies. The bathroom also has a large tub and separate shower; I think the other rooms only have a shower but I'm not sure.

Also, some reviewers mentioned two large dogs roaming the area. This is true, and though I didn't see them around during breakfast, I did notice their smell in some of the lobby furniture. I love dogs, however I don't think it's sanitary to have them roaming around the main house, especially where people eat. Plus, they could use a bath :)

All in all, I would recommend this guest house and would stay there again. The price was right, the grounds were relaxing and the staff nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't choose the one room in the main house if you plan on sleeping in because it's next to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Little Scotia Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Scotia Guest House

Address: 5 Rustenburg Ave, Rondebosch 7700, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Rondebosch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Rondebosch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Little Scotia Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Little Scotia is a relaxed and homely guest house in the heart of historic Rondebosch. The homestead, though steeped in history, has been tastefully modernized. Breakfast is a decadent affair, served under the watchful eye of your hosts, Kevin & Mariehette. # All credit cards accepted. # ADSL Internet facilities / Wi-Fi hotspot.# Satellite TV in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Little Scotia Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Scotia Guest House Rondebosch, Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Scotia Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.