We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally overpriced with a poor location” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Eight Hotel Paraggi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Eight Hotel Paraggi to your Saves list
Eight Hotel Paraggi
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Paraggi a Monte, 8, 16038 Paraggi, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paraggi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Totally overpriced with a poor location”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Although this hotel is close to Portofino in Paraggi, it is still too far to comfortably walk so really not worth the price. It would have made more sense to stay in Santa Margharita if you have to drive to Portofino anyway. There are a lot more reasonably priced options there. The room was a shoebox.

We were paying 440 EUR per night to stay. There was a parking lot across the street which was charging 25 EUR per day. When we got there, the lot told us the Eight hotel had their own spots. When checking out, Eight hotel charged us 30 EUR per day for the same spot. I just found it insulting and mis-leading. For 440 per night, throw in the parking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    21
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
17
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
arrowatty
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

This is an ideal place for those who want to be in easy striking distance between Portofino and Santa Margherita. The hotel reminded us of an upscale version of the "W" hotel chain in the U. S. - high tech/fashionable. Spectacular location with beach access that is private from others on the same beach. I agree that the rooms are small, but how long do you spend in your room with a location like this?! The staff couldn't be nicer and Alessandra Palermo should get Hotel Manager of the Year Award, hands down!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincolnshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were a family of 5, we stayed for 7 nights, the location was absolutely stunning, both our rooms overlooked the bay, with one exception the staff were fantastic and could'nt do enough for us, the decor throughout was lovely and the breakfasts were great. Our only real gripes was the size of the de-luxe room, we were warned on tripadvisor but it was even smaller than we expected, at these absolutely top end prices we felt shortchanged, the other problem was the suite, the air conditioning did'nt have any effect at all in the upstairs bedroom making it very uncomfortable at night. Apart from breakfast we did'nt use the restaurant, my daughter is a vegetarian and her 10 year old daughter is quite difficult to please as the choice looked limited and very expensive.
Beware of taxis, they are a complete rip off, we found it convenient and fun to use the bus service into Santa Margherita and either the courtesy coach or take the beautiful footpath into Portofino. We had the holiday of a lifetime but it does come at a cost.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This chic little hotel had the perfect location. We were within walking distance of Portofino and also a cool little restaurant at the waterfront called Cape Nord, American Bar.

The decor was lovely and room service breakfasts were delicious. Alessandra from the front desk was warm and welcoming. She also helped us with train schedules and reservations for the next leg of our trip.

Will definitely return, sooner rather than later, I hope!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Manager at Eight Hotel Paraggi, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
thank you for your beautiful review.
it will be our pleasure to welcome you again in the "Eight World".
Best regards,

Serafina Leozappa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

After travelling around Italy for two weeks it was wonderful to stay for three nights at Hotel 8 Paraggi. We were warmly greeted by Daniele at concierge who was very helpful and accommodating. Drinks from Luca were always with a smile and a laugh and we received wonderful service from the restaurant and enjoyed an ever changing menu. We stayed in one of the rooms with our own private deck and Jacuzzi overlooking the beach.

While I did read some negative reviews, I did not experience anything undesirable to report. A previous reviewer said that their bathroom flooded and when I read that I was concerned—but in our room it was more a design fault with the shower and I also experienced the same thing at another similarly priced hotel in Italy. The only worry that we had was with an over-charge on our bill and that was quickly rectified by Daniele with an apology and a smile.

Given my experience, I would happily stay at Hotel 8 Paraggi again and recommend it to my friends.

Grazie mille!

Room Tip: Overlooking the beach - wonderful views morning and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Paraggi, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your positive feedback. We are also pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and sincerely hope to Welcome you again in the near future.

Serafina Leozappa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The room we stayed in was very small but as we were there for a wedding in August we didn't plan on spending much time in the room anyway. But for EUR400/night it was tiny. We had friends staying at a variety of the other hotels in Santa Margherita and everyone of them regretted not staying at the Eight Hotel since it had a beach AND it's right in between Portofino and SM.

The Beach itself is small but the lifeguard is very friendly/nice and helps you get situated with towels etc. The food on the beach is good but not great. If you want a delicious meal, hit Tripoli in Portofino for dinner. Best Pesto i've ever tasted. Staff were very friendly but wouldn't categorize them as overly helpful.

If you can't swing the 1k a night at the Spendido then Hotel 8 is the next best option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Paraggi, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. Some of the bedrooms may be slightly smaller than other due t the fact that the building is not only ancient, but it also used to be a private residence. Each room has been designed to maintain its classic charm, while adding the most luxurious and modern amenities.
We send you our best regards from Paraggi Bay!

Serafina Leozappa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We stayed at Hotel Eight Paraggi for 3 nights September 2011. We were excited about staying in luxury in well known Portofino and while we read the poor reviews on the hotel we still decided to go. The hotel itself is lovely. Beautifully situated on the beach not far from Portofino Bay. The shuttle bus to and from Portofino is very handy and efficient. The hotel’s decor (including the rooms) are modern, chic and looks great. Unfortunately the functionality of the rooms and the customer service in responding to these issues was appalling. Small things, however frustrating, includes the electrical plugs didn’t work in the room when the lights were not on, the bathroom flooded (we were told this is normal and they know about it and will mop it up, not what you wanted to hear), we had a night without hot water, lights flickered during the last night.. All these things were explained to the hotel and each time we were made to feel we were lying and causing trouble. Responses like “no one else has told us about this issue” or when I said I need the ipad charged for work, the manager’s response was “why are you working on holiday?”. Basically there was an answer for everything. We had an issue with the taxi cost to the airport. We were quoted 3 different prices over 2 days, clearly they take a cut but they need to have a standard price! Shame, as it is a lovely hotel. The management needs to go on a crash course on hospitality. They agreed to small discount however it was not without the sweat.. The beach and the lifeguard is great and thoroughly enjoyed days on the beach!

Room Tip: The rooms are beautiful but small. The bed is comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sleozappa, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Eight Hotel Paraggi, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Guest,
thank you for your review. We take our customers' remarks to heart and can assure you that our maintenance department has duly taken note of your remarks and has resolved the issues. Once again we do apologize for these minor techicnal inconveniences. As for the taxi prices, we have a price list with all the taxi rides available to browse. Dispite these small issues, we are glad that you enjoyed our relaxing beach in the Paraggi Bay.
Best regards from Paraggi!

Serafina Leozappa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eight Hotel Paraggi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eight Hotel Paraggi

Address: Via Paraggi a Monte, 8, 16038 Paraggi, Santa Margherita Ligure, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Santa Margherita Ligure > Paraggi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Paraggi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eight Hotel Paraggi 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, magnificently located in the most exclusive bay of the riviera, is a xix century villa. The hotel offer its guests a fresh, modern and elegant environment with 13 different rooms in terms of size and typologies, all equipped with every comfort. The restaurant overlooking the beach offers delicious and tasty liguria and italian specialties, a perfect spot for a romantic candle-light dinner or to host events. The exclusive private beach offers all services and facilities to spend an enchanting day outdoors ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Eight Hotel Paraggi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
8 Hotel Paraggi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eight Hotel Paraggi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.