We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable but lacking attention to detail.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Auckland Ellerslie

Save Saved
You added Novotel Auckland Ellerslie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   72-112 Greenlane East, Greenlane 1543, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 20% Off
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Greenlane
Orange, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable but lacking attention to detail.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Stayed here for a week for a work trip. Very friendly staff and smooth check-in. Room was large, clean and comfortable with a pleasant enough outlook.

Positives:
* good shower with a bath (always a welcome addition) and a clothes line.
* very comfy king-sized bed with a pillow menu,
* very quiet despite hotel being full of footballers
* 'Grab and Go menu' a good option for in-room dining
* lovely walking options in nearby Cornwall Park or around the Ellerslie racetrack
* convenient to public transport (trains and buses)
* morning papers delivered
* recycling bin in room (big tick)
* pleasant happy hour in bar with an excellent jazz crooner one evening

But some shortcomings revealed over time:
* no shelves or drawers so I was unable to unpack my suitcase, which I hate!
* light over desk not working - was replaced immediately when I asked.
* internal door lock extremely difficult to lock and would have been impossible for someone older or weaker than me. This was not addressed despite being mentioned.
* small gym facility with good modern equipment but too small for number of footballers staying while I was there
* noisy air conditioning fan - had to be turned off at night.
* quite a walk to nearest alternative dining options and hotel restaurant was quite expensive for average food. My fault for not choosing a hotel with a kitchenette but when I did buy myself some food items including a bowl and plate and disposable cutlery, the cleaning staff disposed of my cutlery and I was reduced to eating my food with a teaspoon or facing another rainy, dark walk to the supermarket!
* expensive in room wi-fi, but did offer 30 mins of free wi-fi per day in lobby.

Overall, complaints are minor and I would consider it again now I have the lay of the land. Probably a better option for business traveller with a car staying only a couple of nights with an expense account.

Room Tip: Best views higher up at the back overlooking the race course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato G, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Hello and thank yo so much for such an informative review.

We are very glad to hear that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our hotel convenient and of a great service.

And just an fyi we have just recently reviewed our wifi offering (still in trial mode for now) and not only our prices have conveniently reduced but we are also offering at least 24 hours of free internet anywhere in the hotel.

We do hope to see you again!

All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    200
    285
    75
    13
    9
See reviews for
130
197
58
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

this Hotel shares sites with Accors lesser cousin the IBIS but nevertheless the standard is high. Not a 4.5 star as some of the areas are worn out and not pristine. A 4.5 star should look like new!
Service is excellent with bright and cheerful staff at the front desk. The concierge didn't offer to help with my bags and there is no valet parking to greet at the main entrance. The room was good with everything working well. Quiet until morning when slamming doors down the corridor started as people left their rooms. This is to be expected with the heavy fire doors. Missed the bathrobe and slippers but it is not 5 star. Bed comfortable but on the hard side. Bedding nice and clean and extra blanket was provided if needed. (staff can provide extra if asked also)
A good all rounder and especially convenient to motorway and free parking that surrounds the hotel.
Would stay here again even if it was for the superb buffet dinner served on Fridays and Tuesdays!

Room Tip: Rooms facing into courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato G, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Hi there and thank you very much for your positive comments.

I have surely shared them with the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed here for work due to the hotel's location in relation to the office.

Starting with the positive, the staff on the front desk were excellent. They were all positive and energetic and provided excellent service.

It's really the quality of the facility itself which was the big disappointment.
- Rooms were extremely bland and lacked character
- No minibar
- Parking was full each evening I returned to the hotel
- Poor bathroom amenities. Only soap/gel/shampoo.
- You need to drive to eat anywhere other than the hotel

I'm now in Auckland for a second trip and staying in the city. It's a slightly longer commute, but Auckland is not a huge city, so it's not that much difference and I'm enjoying my stay more due to all of the options the city presents.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renato G, Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments.

We are sorry to hear that our room standards we were not suitable for your stay.

I will discuss different amenity options with the team to see what we can do to improve in that area.

As for the minibar, we are currently trialling a new Grab'n Go concept since a nunber of our guests would prefer to choose what items to have based on to their specific needs. However at any time you would like, we can certainly re-stock the minibar back in the rooms if the guest requires.

We truly apologise for not meeting your expectations and we hope to see you again for a second experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vellore, Tamil Nadu, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a very nice, clean and decent hotel in the Ellerslie area. Can easily catch a train to Britomart(Near city center of Auckland) from the Greenlane station which is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel. Staff is very courteous and helpful. Morning continental breakfast has a lot of good selections including gluten free options. This hotel is about 20 minutes taxi ride from Auckland international airport.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eloi F, Front Office Manager at Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts and highlighting our Location, Breakfast Product and Staff Friendliness. The team was really happy to hear about your stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Auckland Ellerslie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Auckland Ellerslie

Address: 72-112 Greenlane East, Greenlane 1543, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Greenlane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Greenlane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Novotel Auckland Ellerslie 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie is a premium 4.5 star hotel and conference venue in Auckland. Ideal for business trips, the hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the Ellerslie Events Centre, with easy motorway access, just 25 minutes from Auckland airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, ACCOR, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Novotel Auckland Ellerslie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Hotel Greenlane
Accor Auckland Ellerslie
Auckland Novotel
Novotel Auckland Ellerslie Greenlane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Auckland Ellerslie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.