We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best birthday treat EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piebird Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nipissing
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Piebird Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Piebird Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
113 Chapman's Landing Road | Nipissing Village, Nipissing, Ontario P0H 1W0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Nipissing B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best birthday treat EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband brought our little family here as a surprise for my birthday & our anniversary. Our toddler was with us & was delighted with the space to wander & discover the creatures...esp the goats! We live in town 25 min away & were in the midst of a thick heatwave, yet when we arrived at the Piebird, the air was fresh, breezy & all of our energy came rushing back! Meal was heavenly, btw. Had gorgeous sleep in the little cottage, & a pretty breakfast that Sherri carried over from the main house...she jogged back just as a great thunderstorm showed up & provided a beautiful show for us as we ate even more of PB's delicious food by the picture window. A beautiful way to open our new year of marriage! Had a bit of time to wander the property & explore the main house (full of fresh charm & yummy aromas!) before we had to leave for our next destination. Will be returning again this year.

Room Tip: If you have kids, the cottage is a nice option with a bit more room for them to run around -- the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timmins
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This B&B is like no other. So peaceful, natural and brimming with happiness. The owners Sherry & Yan glow with joy, love and from a life of eating so close to the earth. They are professional and cheery and are generous at sharing their love of life and of healthy living. The food is absolutely pure, beautiful and delicious. The atmosphere radiates with positive energy. My favorite part was talking with these passionate owners who made us feel so welcome. A close second was hanging out with the goats, chicken and cat companions. i would totally recommend this place to anyone who longs to get back to their natural roots and who craves a healthy getaway.

Room Tip: The private rate means you get the whole place to yourself at night! We were pleasantly surprised to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espanola, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I visited the B & B for my 25th birthday with my boyfriend. I could not have asked for a more perfect way to spend my special day. We were lucky enough to enjoy Sherry's cooking for both breakfast and dinner. The food was fresh, tasty, and creative. We loved our mixed green salad with all the greens from the on site organic garden. We spent our day biking down country roades, canoeing along the river and bathing down by the dock at the river and enjoying an afternoon picnic. The atmosphere is indescribable and the hosts could not be any more welcoming; they truly make you feel at home. As a Holistic Nutritionist who is hoping to open a similar experience in Northern Ontario, I found this weekend to be so inspiring. I cannot say enough good things about the B & B. - Lacey and Ryan

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bay, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

If you are looking for an experience like no other, then Piebird is definitely the place to go. You are welcomed with a warm embrace both literally and figuratively. The atmosphere is charming and relaxed. The grounds are beautiful. The silence and peacefulness that surrounds you is something to behold. Sherry and Yan are thrilled to have guests to share their home with and spoil us with fabulous homegrown foods. Nothing about this place is formal, it's truly like being home with family.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

Your heart cannot help but grow when you visit the Piebird! Sherry and Yan will instantly make you feel like dear friends as soon as you set foot on Piebird property. I confess that part of the reason that we keep going back to the Piebird is because we are looking for an excuse to hang out with Sherry & Yan.

Our visit started with a garden tour (Sherry & Yan are both so knowledgeable when it comes to growing your own food and preparing it). We had a delicious dinner for two that consisted of wraps filled with greens, grains, and tofu and a salad that was an explosion of taste. After dinner we headed outside to visit the goats and the chickens and for a tour of the cabin that they are working hard to finish (it is gorgeous and would be a wonderful place to take your family or if you like more privacy than a b&b offers). We caught up with Sherry while drinking tea and eating rhubarb upside-down cake. Sherry really needs to write her own cookbook! We were then off to bed and before we knew it, it was morning. I loved looking out the window to see Yan planting and the chickens flying around. We chose to hang out with Sherry and Yan while Sherry made us pancakes for breakfast. We spent part of the morning brushing the goats and sitting outdoors. Before we knew it, it was time to head back home. We'll definately be looking for another excuse to visit the Piebird soon (the Piebird picnic perhaps). If you love composting toilets, old bathtubs, tea rooms, goats, vegan cooking, open minds and feeling like you are at home this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Every room is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I can't begin to recommend Piebird enough. Everyone I know has heard me gush and gush about how incredible this place is. I've had the pleasure of visiting this charming, rustic, beautiful home probably 5 or 6 times in the last few years and Sherry and Yan never cease to amaze me. They are always so warm, welcoming and happy to share everything - fresh harvests of fruit and veggies, incredible baked goods and home cooked meals, fabulous herbal teas, their canoes, bikes, tours of the garden and grounds, great stories, a hearty laugh and innovative new projects. The rooms are all exceptionally comfortable, clean and decorated with masterful attention to detail, authenticity and a conscientious lifestyle. The huge guest bathroom and claw foot bathtub are suburb and the guest parlor has a cozy fireplace and stacks of books, vintage board games and curiosities. The goats provide hours of entertainment and there are two lovely cats who occasionally find their way to your lap. I could pass days reading on the glorious wrap around porch and the Nipissing area is lovely any time of year. Sherry also offers various healthy cooking/canning, etc. workshops in her fabulous teaching kitchen and farm stay options are available to learn about sustainability and joys of a growing your own food. Sherry and Yan will feel like friends immediately and you'll want to come back again and again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 to celebrate my husband's 75th birthday. Everything was lovely about it!

It is in a quiet, pastoral location on the South River and is wonderfully peaceful

Sherry prepared a wonderful vegan dinner complete with two birthday desserts - which we thoroughly enjoyed along with 4 other people. The sunflower pate was delicious as was the rest of the meal.

It is great fun to see the goats playing; to view the vegetable garden; to see the flowers.

We walked to the river - and heard only sounds of nature.

This was also our first experience in a truly environmentally sensitive b&b- complete with compostable toilet!

We had one bedroom and our daughter and son-in-law had the other double bedroom. There is also a single room which was not occupied the night we were there. We shared the bathroom (which has a delightful long, tin bathtub -- which reminded me of one we had in a Quebec farmhouse years ago!). If large king-sized beds and private bathrooms are your priority, this might not be the B&B for you. BUT - if peace, quiet, serenity and natural beauty are what you are looking for this WILL be a treat for you!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Piebird Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Piebird Bed & Breakfast

Address: 113 Chapman's Landing Road | Nipissing Village, Nipissing, Ontario P0H 1W0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Nipissing
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Nipissing
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serving homegrown vegetarian fare, every meal is a special occasion here at Piebird. As it did 100 years ago, this landmark home sits amidst farmland and forest, just down the South River from Lake Nipissing. With ornately embossed tin walls and ceilings throughout, Piebird exudes a delightful mix of rustic elegance and nostalgic adoration. All the meals grown and prepared with love, Piebird offers an all vegan experience. Piebird is a Happy Place! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Piebird Bed & Breakfast Ontario, Canada - Nipissing

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piebird Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.