We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great & Walleye-ful experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chaudiere Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monetville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chaudiere Lodge
Save
You added Chaudiere Lodge to your Saves list
Box 72, Dokis Bay, Monetville, French River, Ontario, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Milton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great & Walleye-ful experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Thank you very much to the owner Steve and his staff for a wonderful weekend at Chaudiere Lodge. It was my wife and my 2nd time ever to the French River area and we loved it. We booked without having any prior knowledge of Chaudiere Lodge and we’re so glad we did. Steve was a fabulous host! Everything was top notch from the cabins to the food to the fun after-dinner entertainment (winning the big Poker game). Even during a power-outage on our last day, the cooks came up big and satisfied our hunger. Our only regret was that we couldn’t catch any Muskie, but the Walleye were sure biting and were very tasty! We’re looking forward to coming again!
P.S. Hope your adjustments got you all tuned up to haul in any Monster Muskies.
Jim & Nikky

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
6
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
viginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

The week spent at Chaudiere Lodge exceeded all expectations. It was due to many factors but the most important was the owner(STEVE) and his outstanding staff and family. You are made to feel at home the minute the lodge boat picks you up at the marina. The interface with the saff and owner is always friendly. The food preparation is of high quality and a great variety although we could have eaten fish every meal. The facilitiy is maintained at very high standards as Steve is shooting for excellence. We hit a good week for the weather and fishing however,I could have been satisfied with just the relaxing atmosphere if the weather and fishing had not cooperated. I plan to return again and try to become a regular.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Craig, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

Chaudiere Lodge is a place to go if you choose to GET AWAY and DO NOTHING -or- fish all the time while enjoying the personal service, experience the gourmet foods cooked fresh every meal, watch the world go in the beautiful French River Area.

Our intent was to do nothing except be with each other and relax We celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary getting away from phones, daily business and other demands we tolerate. The weather in early September is warm to mild, the best to sit by the water then enjoy a great night's quiet sleep in our private cabin.

Steve is great host - caring and attentive - approachable and smilling - always with a good word - keeps a clean and well appointed lodge.

We will go back - the next time we will know we will be greeted as friends. THANK YOU.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

I spent a week at the Chaudiere Lodge with an old friend. We had a great time. The lodge is well maintained with attentive staff members who aim to make your stay a good one. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed - almost as though you are returning to a family members cottage. The fishing is great with walleye, bass and pike being caught on a regular basis. The area is beautiful. Talking to other guests often gets you a reply like: "I have been returning here for the last 17 years". This is a secret getaway for many people from around the US and Canada and highly recommended

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

From the time the water taxi picked us up until the day we went home we had a blast!!! The scenery was breath taking and the hospitality was second to none!! Steve was an excellent host and is a terrific guy!! (Even though he is a leaf fan) lol!! Everyone including the other guests were very friendly. Steve gave us a detailed map of the river and showed us the good spots to fish. They have a package where you can get a guide to take you fishing and cook a shore lunch, we did not take advantage of this but we will next time for sure!!

We stayed at the lodge for one week, we met Steve as the Lodge host and we left he was a friend.Whether you are going to the lodge to fish, take beautiful landscape and wildlife photographs or just relax you will not be disappointed.

We will return!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at Chaudiere Lodge and it was amazing! Cottages were always kept clean and tidy. Staff was so helpful and kind. The landscape was beautiful. Food was GREAT! Such a great trip for families, couples and of course fisherman. Would 100% go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Chaudiere Lodge is what a vacation should be....relaxing. breath-taking scenery, gourmet dining, and exceptional customer service. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, they were helpful and very patient with us; as we had little to know experience with fishing or boating. They assisted us every step of the way; from baitng a hook to reeling in a fish, to starting a motor boat. My daughter is pleading to return and I will not disappoint her, as it is my intention to visit next summer. The French River area is beautiful and while there you must stay at Chaudiere Lodge.
A.M, R, and Sophie - Toronto, August 14, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaudiere Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaudiere Lodge

Address: Box 72, Dokis Bay, Monetville, French River, Ontario, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > French River > Monetville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Monetville
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Chaudiere Lodge Canada/Monetville, Ontario

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaudiere Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.